AZ Summer Bucket List and a Tropical Fruit Smoothie Recipe

Tropical Smoothie

I was reading the blog Dine and Dish the other day, and it was such a great post.  She had written a summer bucket list of all the things she and her family wanted to accomplish in the next 3 months.  Everything on it sounded so sweet and fun.  There were things like pick blackberries, catch fireflies, go to the farmer’s market, compete in backyard Olympics, play mini golf, play flashlight tag at night, lay in the grass and find shapes in the clouds, etc.  I kind of wished I was one of her kids so I could go do those things with them.  Her bucket list kept popping into my mind during the week as the temperatures start to soar here in Arizona.  I started wondering what our summer bucket list might look like if we had one.  Here is what I came up with:

  1. Try to fry an egg on the sidewalk.
  2. Have backyard Olympics. Go outside and see which member of your family can stand on the hot pavement the longest without getting 3rd degree burns.
  3. Get a black light and go hunting for scorpions at night.
  4. Pick prickly pear cactus fruit and make jelly.
  5. Throw away the egg you tried to fry on the sidewalk as it is too burned to eat.
  6. Go on a hike very early in the morning.  See how far you can get before you hear a rattlesnake and have to turn back.
  7. Get some tweezers to pull out the stickers you got in your hand from picking prickly pear fruit.
  8. Try to make friends with the neighbor who has a pool.

Summer 1997

9.   Lay in the gravel and find shapes in the clouds.

10.  Go to the mall that has the coolest air conditioning.  Stay there until it closes.

11.  Go to the drive in movie.  Take a 5 gallon water container with you so you don’t get dehydrated from sweating.

12.  Find a farmer’s market.  Realize they don’t have any fresh produce because it is Arizona, and buy a tamale instead.

13.  Play miniature golf.  Keep hitting your ball into the pond so you can go in to get it out.

14.  Show up at your neighbor’s house at 6 A.M. and ask if you can go swimming.

15.  Now that your neighbor is mad at you for showing up at their house so early in the morning, encourage your kids to use the slip-n-slide.  After your kids come in with bruises, remember your yard is landscaped with rock.

Wesley Kelley - Summer 1996

16.  Put aloe vera on your kids’ sunburns they got while looking for shapes in the clouds.

17. Realize there is no where else you would rather live, and go crank the air conditioning down.

And this was just the 1st day….Summers can be very long around here.  Actually, I really don’t mind the heat that much.  I would rather be warm than cold, and I hear it beats shoveling snow.  One way we get through the summer is by drinking a lot of smoothies.  Here is one of my favorites:

TROPICAL FRUIT SMOOTHIE

  • 2 c frozen strawberries (plain, unsweetened)
  • 1 c frozen pineapple
  • 1 c frozen mango
  • 1 3/4 – 2 c guava or peach juice (any tropical juice is fine)
  • 1/8 c sugar (optional)
  1. Place all fruit in blender.
  2. Pour juice on top of fruit.
  3. Sprinkle sugar (if desired) over fruit.
  4. Blend until pureed, stirring as needed to loosen fruit.
  5. Pour into a glass, add an umbrella, and a piece of strawberry on the side for garnish.
  6. Serve immediately.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Drinks, Summer Recipes, Things to Do in Arizona, Wondering in the Desert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to AZ Summer Bucket List and a Tropical Fruit Smoothie Recipe

  1. Annette says:

    Love #1! You always here that you can do this in Arizona, though I have never tried. I do think it would work!

  2. Fantastic summer bucket list! I really hope you do try to fry an egg on the sidewalk and blog about it.

  3. Ginny says:

    Grat summer bucket list Shari. Any recipe recommendations for popcicles?

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks, Ginny! I have been wanting to try some interesting popsicles. Have you ever made any? I remember you were making some delicious looking ice cream last summer.

      • Ginny says:

        I don’t want to recreate those Kool-Aid popcicles of my childhood, so I’m looking for something else … I’ll let you know if I try anything noteworthy!

      • cookazido says:

        Me too! I think it would be fun to try something with fruit in it.

  4. Ginny says:

    I meant great.

  5. TreekieJune says:

    Hey Shari…I’m up to doing number 10!…and maybe #1 while in their parking lot :)

  6. Kay says:

    Shari, this is sooo funny and sooo true! Very well thought out. You have many talents!

  7. mchlspil says:

    stumbled across your blog, and this is one of the funniest summer bucklists i’ve seen. love it! your recent blueberry muffin post looks very yummy. gonna have to try it.

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks so much for your kind comment. I had fun coming up with an AZ bucket list. I hope you try the muffin recipe. It is super simple and so delicious. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.

Leave a Reply

