Rustic Apple Galette

ImageJeff and I have a cabin in northern, Arizona, and we frequently have guests stay with us up there.  I have been looking for recipes that seem a little rustic or like something you would have on a camping trip, but tastes delicious, to serve our guests.  I want to have time to visit with friends while we’re there so have been looking for recipes that are relatively easy or that can be done ahead of time as well.  For this reason, rustic apple galettes have been catching my eye lately.  I love the word rustic in a recipe.  It seems like it is just giving you permission to not take a lot of time to make something look real pretty.  Perfect for the cabin!  The galette recipe I made  has all of the good stuff in a pie, but you don’t have to worry about getting the pie crust to look perfect.  One of my cooking goals for the future is to learn to make better pie crusts, but this just isn’t that week, so I bought my crust at Trader Joe’s.  They are so good there, I’m not sure I even need to learn how to make them.  All you do is lay out the pie crust, and pour the apple filling into the center.  Pile the apples about 2 inches high and leave about 1 1/2 to 2 inches free of filling around the edges.

ImageThen, fold the edges of the dough up around the filling just like pleats in a dress.

Image

It was very simple and looked pretty even though it is a rustic recipe.  When dealing with pies, I always worry about not getting the crust too done, and making sure the fruit is soft enough after cooking. I covered the crust loosely with foil about 15 minutes after putting it in the oven to prevent the crust from burning.  It came out beautifully, and the apples were done as well.  I can’t wait to make this at the cabin.  And, from now on, when one of my recipes doesn’t turn out that pretty, I am going to add the word rustic to the title.  I have a feeling I am going to be renaming a lot of my recipes.

Rustic Apple Galette

2 store bought pie crusts

3/4 c sugar

3/4 c brown sugar

3/4 c flour

1 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. cinnamon

dash salt

5 T butter, melted

1 T vanilla

6 Granny Smith apples, peeled and cored

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Thaw out pie crusts if frozen.  Cut 2 pieces of parchment paper to fit 2 different baking sheets. Place each pie crust on top of each parchment paper.  Mix together sugar, brown sugar, flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt.  Pour the butter and vanilla into the sugar mixture, and stir to combine.  Slice the apples into thin slices, about 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick. Place 1/2 of the apples into the center of each of the 2 pie crusts.  Sprinkle with 1/2 of the sugar mixture.  Place the remaining apples on top of the other apples on each of the 2 pie crusts.  Sprinkle the apple slices with the rest of the sugar mixture. Gently fold up one side of the pie dough edge over the filling, but not all the way to the middle.  Lift up the area of dough next to the previous piece and fold in towards the center as before, just like pleats in a dress. Go all the way around until all the edges are folded.  You should end up with a hole in the center of your pie crust where the apples and sugar are showing, about the size of a drinking glass or a little bigger.  Place the galettes into the  oven.  After 15 minutes of cooking, loosely lay a piece of foil over each one to prevent the crust from burning.  Cook an additional 35 minutes.  Let set about 10-15 minutes before cutting.  Makes 2 galettes.  Serves approximately 12 people.  Serve warm with vanilla bean ice cream, if desired.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cabin Recipes, Desserts, Fall Recipes, Pies, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rustic Apple Galette

  1. Vicki says:

    Looks delicious and fallish! Can’t wait to have a bite!

  2. Kay says:

    I would definitely try this.

Leave a Reply

