Homemade Nacho Cheese Sauce

IMG_3403

I was going through my recipes this week, when I stumbled across a recipe for homemade nacho cheese sauce.  I had never noticed it at the bottom of the page of a different recipe.  I was so happy to find it.  I have always hesitated to use the store-bought cheese sauce, even though it tastes delicious, because it doesn’t seem like real cheese, and I wasn’t sure what was in it.  I have often kidded that it is probably made out of melted plastic grocery sacks with cheese flavoring.  That’s kind of what the texture is.

So finding this cheese sauce recipe was like a light bulb went off in my head.  Why had I never thought of making my own?  We had some chips leftover from New Years that were still good, so I thought I’d take advantage of that and make a fun Saturday night dinner.  This sauce is heavenly.  It tastes a lot like the cubed cheese in a box  you buy at the store, only 10 times better.  It is creamier, and more flavorful.  It was so easy to make, and I already had all the ingredients in my cupboard, except the scallions.  I’m sure onions would work just as well.  I didn’t add any cayenne, but if you wanted a spicier version, it would be easy to add some.  This sauce would also be great on cooked broccoli.

Today I used it for making nachos, and they were wonderful with this sauce.  I just poured the sauce over the chips, then added guacamole, sour cream, canned jalapenos, tomatoes, and green onions.  I think next time I’ll add some shredded beef or beans or both.  I would love to hear what you put on your nachos.  Next time you make them, try this sauce.  It will make you feel better than using melted grocery bags, I mean store-bought sauce. Enjoy!

NACHO CHEESE SAUCE

  • 3 T butter
  • 1 tsp. garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. scallions, minced
  • 3 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 c milk
  • 2 c cheddar cheese, grated
  1. Melt the butter in a sauce pan.
  2. Add the garlic and scallions and saute on very low temperature for 5 minutes.  Make sure your heat is low enough so your butter doesn’t burn.
  3. Stir in flour and salt; cook, stirring, 2 minutes, on very low heat.
  4. Add the milk and whisk over medium heat until thick, and just starting to boil.
  5. Add the grated cheese, and stir until smooth.
  6. Pour right away over chips or broccoli and serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from Food Network Magazine, April 2012.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main Dish, Mexican, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Nacho Cheese Sauce

  1. Pingback: Celebrate Cinco de Mayo With a Taco Party! | Cook AZ I Do

  2. Cheryl Hamilton says:

    We love it! Easy recipe and I like it better than Nacho sauce with American cheese .

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Cheryl! I’m glad you got to try it, and liked the recipe. I have been wanting to make that again, lately. I appreciate you leaving a comment about it!

Leave a Reply

