Cozy Inside and Out

2013 01 08 pasta carbonara (9) sk

I think I’m in love.  I put on my first pair of yoga pants recently, and I can’t stop thinking about them.  About how warm they are, and how soft, and how comfortable.  I want to go back to the store where I got them and buy one pair for every day of the week.  I figure if I go out in them, people will just think I stopped at the store on my way home from exercising.  That is what I always think when I see women in sports attire.  From afar, I admire their self-discipline for making it to the gym.  That could be another advantage to wearing them.  Is it possible others will think I just got back from working out and admire my self-discipline?  And, is it just possible, they are wearing yoga pants for comfort and not exercise?  It’s something to ponder.

If I did wear them every day, one problem might be how to get away with wearing them to church.  I’m not sure I could convince anyone I just went to the gym on my way to worship.  Maybe 6 days a week wouldn’t be so bad.  They really are one of the best things I’ve discovered this year.  There is one issue, though.  My husband.  He knows I didn’t just get back from the gym, and I don’t think he appreciates my wanting to live in them and even sleep in them.  I got our daughter some yoga pants for Christmas.  She walked in the family room the other morning with a dreamy look in her eyes.  She said, “Mom, I don’t think I can ever wear jeans again.”  I just looked at her knowingly.

You may be wondering why there is a picture of pasta on a post about yoga pants.  For me, this recipe is the equivalent of yoga pants – a warm and cozy dish that I just love.  It gets its creaminess from eggs and its amazing taste from bacon, butter, and white wine.  Definitely comfort food.  It will comfort you on the inside and if you wear your yoga pants while you eat it, you will be cozy inside and out!  But don’t eat too much of it, or you might actually have to go to the gym.

PASTA CARBONARA

  • 1 pound bacon
  • 1 pound angel hair pasta
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 8 to 12 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 c white wine
  • 1 c chicken stock
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c Parmesan cheese
  • 1 bunch parsley, rough chopped
  • 1/2 stick butter (1/4 cup)
  • pepper to taste
  1. Cook bacon until crisp.  When cooked, take out bacon with tongs, and reserve bacon grease. Drain bacon on a paper towel.  When it is cool, crumble into pieces and set aside.
  2. Throw the chopped onions into the bacon grease.  Cook on low heat until almost soft.
  3. Throw in the minced garlic, and let cook for about 1 to 2 minutes. Watch carefully so it doesn’t burn.
  4. After the onion and garlic have cooked together for a couple of minutes, remove from the pan with a slotted spoon.  Discard the grease.
  5. Place the pan back on high heat until it starts to smoke a little.  As soon as the pan begins to smoke, pour in the white wine.  Whisk until pan is thoroughly deglazed and all of the brown bits have come off of the bottom of the pan.
  6. Add 1 c of chicken stock.
  7. Return bacon (leave a little for garnish), onion, and garlic back to the pan.  Let simmer over medium heat.  Be sure to watch carefully so all the liquid doesn’t boil away.  You want it saucy.
  8. Start water on to boil for the pasta.  When water is boiling, cook pasta according to package directions.
  9. While pasta is boiling, crack 4 eggs into a large bowl.  Add most of the Parmesan cheese, and parsley, adding it into the eggs as well.  Leave a little Parmesan and parsley out for a garnish.  Mix well with a fork.
  10. Drain water from your pasta.  Be sure the pasta is very hot.  Add the pasta to the egg mixture, and then add the bacon/onion mixture. Stir together until combined.
  11. Finally, throw a 1/2 stick of butter in there, and mix all together.
  12. Pepper to taste.
  13. Garnish with bacon, parsley, and Parmesan cheese.  Serve immediately.

Adapted from a recipe on thepioneerwoman.com

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Italian, Main Dish, Pasta, Recipes, Wondering in the Desert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cozy Inside and Out

  1. Kay says:

    Shari, I love your writing! I don’t think anyone has compared pasta to yoga pants! Your recipe sounds yummy.

  2. Betsy Duzan says:

    Just tried this tonight — the family scraped the dish to they could eat every bite!

    • cookazido says:

      Hi Betsy, I am so happy you tried this recipe and liked it. It is probably one of my favorites that I found in the last year. Check out the rest of Thepioneerwoman’s recipes. There are so many of hers that I love.

Leave a Reply

