My Most Favorite Recipe of All Time

Chocolate Chip Cookies

If there was ever a fire in my house, assuming my family was already safe, first I’d grab all of our pictures, and then I would grab my recipes.  And, if I only had time to take 1 recipe, this would be the one I would take.  There is a reason I like this recipe so much.  I have loved making chocolate chip cookies for most of my life, starting in my teenage years.  On my wedding day, while everyone was setting up chairs in the 103 degree heat, I was home making chocolate chip cookies for our honeymoon. (I apologize to all of you who set up chairs for us that day, for being no help at all.  I still feel guilty about that.) There is one thing that frustrated me for years, though, about making chocolate chip cookies.  They always came out flat as a pancake. They would taste good, but always looked terrible. I wanted them to look and taste like Paradise Bakery Cookies. For 35 years I tried everything under the sun to alter the recipe to come out looking and tasting perfect.  Nothing worked.

That is why this recipe is so special.  These cookies come out perfect every time – the way a chocolate chip cookie should be – soft, and melty, yet holding its shape in the oven. You can make cookies that will hold their shape if you use shortening, but shortening is supposed to be very bad for you, so I try not to use it.  With this recipe, you don’t have to.  I will forever be grateful to Tidy Mom who put it on her blog (one of my favorites) last year.  It had already circulated the blogs a couple of years earlier, but I didn’t know about blogs back then.  She put the recipe on her blog in case somebody hadn’t seen it before, and it forever changed the way I made chocolate chip cookies.

The secret to this recipe is 2 different kinds of flours, making it 24 to 36 hours ahead of time, and refrigerating the dough.  The only difficult part about it is trying not to eat the dough while it is in the refrigerator for 24 to 36 hours. That is a long time to resist temptation.  But if you can, the results are worth it.  So I am putting this recipe on my blog, in case someone has not seen it before.  These cookies would make a perfect Valentine’s Day gift or dessert for  friend or loved one.  Be sure to follow the instructions exactly.  I hope it makes you as happy as it did me.

PERFECT CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

  • 2 c minus 2 tablespoons cake flour
  • 1 2/3 c bread flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 c) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 c light brown sugar
  • 1 c plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. natural vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 pounds bittersweet chocolate (I think semisweet actually tastes better in this recipe)
  • sea salt
  1. Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a bowl.  Set aside.
  2. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  4. Stir in vanilla.
  5. Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients, and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds.
  6. Pour in chocolate chips and stir gently.
  7. Press plastic wrap against dough and refrigerate for 24 to 36 hours.
  8. Dough may be used in batches, and can be refrigerated up to 72 hours.
  9. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  10. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a nonstick baking mat.
  11. Scoop 6 (3 1/2-ounce) mounds of dough (the size of generous golf balls) onto baking sheet.
  12. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt (I didn’t do this the first time, and they still turned out great).
  13.  Bake until golden brown but still soft, 18 to 20 minutes.
  14. Transfer sheet to a wire rack for 10 minutes, then slip cookies onto another rack to cool a bit more.
  15. Repeat with remaining dough, or reserve dough, refrigerated, for baking remaining batches the next day.

Recipe originally from Jacque Torres and The New York Times

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cast Iron Skillet Recipes, Christmas, Cookies, Desserts, Recipes, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Most Favorite Recipe of All Time

  1. putneyfarm says:

    Nice tip, we never tried 2 types of flour. But we play with cookie recipes all the time and wil give this a try! Thx.

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks! I wish I could take credit for it, but am just so happy I found it and could pass the recipe along. I think the 2 flours and refrigerating them are the keys to this recipe. Let me know what you think if you try them.

  2. Shari says:

    Wow! My cookie recipe is very similar except i dont refrigerate the dough. I will need to try that!!!

Leave a Reply

