Blue Cheese Coleslaw

Blue Cheese Coleslaw

My mom and I ate lunch at a local grocery store that serves delicious sandwiches in their deli (Sprouts is the name of the store) the other day.  When I went up to pay for the sandwiches, I grabbed a side of coleslaw to go with it.  It ended up to be blue cheese coleslaw with Craisins in it.  I know that sounds like a weird combination of ingredients, and definitely not your typical coleslaw, but it was amazing.  Ever since then, I have been craving it.  I searched until I found a recipe similar to what we had tasted.  And, was I ever happy with the results.  It tasted almost exactly like the salad from the store.

If you are not a blue cheese lover, you probably wouldn’t care for this, but even without the blue cheese, this was a very good coleslaw dressing.  You can customize it using whatever ingredients you like and leaving out the ones you don’t.  It would also be easy to double the dressing, and just make one batch with blue cheese, and one batch without for the people in your family who don’t care for it.

Don’t be like me and just think the non-blue cheese lovers in your family won’t notice the tiny chunks of moldy goodness tucked away amongst the cabbage.  If you serve it to them, they will think you don’t love them anymore.  They will think you were trying to poison them.  They will think you were trying to trick them.  They will think…never mind. Just learn from my mistakes.  Make 2 different batches, and everyone will be happy.  Especially the blue cheese lovers!

BLUE CHEESE COLESLAW WITH CRAISINS

  • 1 (16 oz.) pkg. pre-cut coleslaw mix with purple cabbage and carrots
  • 1/3 c mayonnaise
  • 3 Tbsp. milk
  • 1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 3/4 c crumbled blue cheese
  • 1/2 c. Craisins
  1. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, milk, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, sugar, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.
  2. Place coleslaw mix into a large bowl.
  3. Sprinkle Craisins over the coleslaw.
  4. Pour mayonnaise mixture over the coleslaw and Craisins, and stir to coat.
  5. Fold in crumbled blue cheese.
  6. Refrigerate coleslaw for 30 minutes.
  7. Stir again before serving.

Recipe adapted from Cooking Classy

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blue Cheese Coleslaw

  1. Betsy Duzan says:

    Your posts are the first thing I open when I go to my email — they always make me smile…and then I want to rush to the grocery store to buy ingredients to try the latest recipe. Since we have about a foot of snow on the ground right now, I’ll have to wait. I already had Randy take me on an emergency trip to buy art supplies!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for your encouraging comment about the blog, Betsy! You made me smile. So happy you are enjoying it! We had snow on a lot of mountains around the valley this week. It was so pretty.

  2. Pingback: Blue Cheese Coleslaw | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

