My New Friend and An Amazing Salad Recipe

Brussel Sprouts & Beet Salad

I made a new friend recently.  It is someone whom I have been in the same room with many times, but never bothered to get to know.  I had assumed she was one way, when in fact, once I got acquainted with her, I found out she was completely different.  Others had misled me into thinking she wasn’t worth getting to know.  They were wrong.  Once I had a long conversation with her, I realized how sweet she was .  My new friend is the beet!:)

Thanks to a grandmother who never met a fruit or vegetable she couldn’t pickle, I had never had anything but pickled beets.  It would be like only eating a store brand chocolate chip cookie, never having tasted a homemade cookie, and thinking you didn’t like cookies because they were all bland like the store-bought one.  I am now starting to re-evaluate  all my food choices.

We grew beets in our garden last year, mostly because I wanted to try something different from the usual carrots, radishes, tomatoes, and zucchini we have planted in the past.  I got online and found many types of recipes for beets, but really wanted to experience the true taste so decided to simply roast them with olive oil and salt and pepper.  I am so glad I did because they just melted in your mouth and were slightly sweet like a very fresh red potato can be sometimes.  Anyway, it was a great surprise.  And I think my new friend and I will be spending a lot of time together in the future.

The following recipe contains beets, and is one I concocted in order to imitate one of my favorite salads at Babbo’s Restaurant.  It tastes very similar, and we loved it.  The dressing is wonderful, and is supposed to be a copycat recipe of Nordstrom’s Champagne Vinaigrette.  It would  go well on any salad where you want the ingredients of the salad to be the star, and not the dressing.  It is basically just a very tasty vinaigrette.  Brussels sprouts and beets may seem like an odd combination, but they go together amazingly well.  I actually crave it.  Now I don’t have to go to Babbo’s to get my fix.  I hope you will try it, and make a new friend today, or just get reaquainted with an old one.  You will be so glad you did!

ROASTED BRUSSELS SPROUTS AND BEET SALAD WITH CHAMPAGNE VINAIGRETTE

  • 1 1/2 pounds fresh brussels sprouts, roasted (see recipe below)
  • 4 beets, roasted (see recipe below)
  • 1 large purple onion, thinly sliced, and then sliced in quarters
  • 1/2 c golden raisins
  • 1 (6 oz.) container of feta or blue cheese
  • 1/2 c sliced almonds, toasted (place in skillet for a few minutes on medium heat until browned-be sure to watch carefully so they don’t burn)
  • 1 (10) oz. bag of baby greens lettuce mixture
  • 1 (10) oz. bag of baby romaine lettuce
  • 1 recipe of Champagne Vinaigrette Salad Dressing (see recipe below)
  1. Place both packages of salad in a large bowl.
  2. Place rest of ingredients except for dressing in bowl on top of lettuces, saving a little of each ingredient aside for garnishing top of salad
  3. Toss with enough dressing to coat all of the above, just before serving.
  4. Top salad with remaining ingredients to garnish.
  5. Serve immediately.  Feeds approximately 8 people.

CHAMPAGNE VINAIGRETTE

  • 1 Tbsp. shallot
  • 1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c champagne wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  1. In a blender or food processor, add all ingredients.  Blend until smooth and combined.
  2. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Recipe slightly adapted from Whats 4 Dinner Tonight

ROASTED BRUSSELS SPROUTS

  • 1/2 pound brussels sprouts
  • 3/4 tsp. kosher salt (table salt works too)
  • coarse ground pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut off ends of brussels sprouts and pull off any yellow outer leaves.
  3. Cut each brussels sprout in half.
  4. Place in bowl.  Pour olive oil over sprouts.  Toss with hands, making sure oil coats all surfaces of brussels sprouts.  Use additional oil if not completely coated.
  5. Spread brussels sprouts on sheet pan single file.
  6. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, turning once during cooking, until crisp and brown on the outside, and tender on the inside.  Set aside to cool.

Recipe slightly adapted from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

ROASTED BEETS

  • 4 large, fresh beets, peeled
  • 1/4 to 1/3 c olive oil
  • salt
  • coarse ground pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut peeled beets into thick wedges.
  3. Place in bowl, and toss to completely coat with olive oil.
  4. Place on sheet pan, spreading out into a single layer.
  5. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  6. Bake 45 minutes or until tender, and golden brown.
  7. Set aside to cool.

Recipe courtesy of Wolfgang Puck

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Fall Recipes, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My New Friend and An Amazing Salad Recipe

  1. Ginny says:

    I love beets too. And I’ve never roasted them the way you describe. Can’t wait to give it a try Shari!

  2. Mmmm! I love beets – I have a real weakness for pickled beets, and I bet your grandmother’s were fantastic. I’ve never tried roasting them, and you’ve inspired me to give it a try.

    • cookazido says:

      We tease about my grandma pickling everything, but she actually was quite a gourmet cook. We just didn’t realize it. All her dishes seemed so strange to us then. She was just ahead of her time (or maybe we were behind)!:) I hope you enjoy the roasted beets if you try them.

  3. Chef Doru says:

    Love this salad and definitely I’ll give it a shot. I tried a roasted beets salad and was amazing. See my recipe and maybe you’ll like it.

  4. Valerie M says:

    I just stumbled upon your salad recipe while looking for nutritional info for this salad. I order this every time I dine at Babbo’s! Now I can make it at home.

    • Shari says:

      Hi Valerie, I’m so glad you stumbled on this salad recipe. I always order that same salad every time we go to Babbos, too. They have so much other yummy food there, but I can’t seem to order anything else because it’s so good. By the way, did you know Trader Joe’s has already cooked brussel sprouts and already cooked beets in packages in their cold fresh fruit and vegetable section? It is such an easy and quick way to make this salad. I hope you get a chance to try it sometime. I really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

