Melt in Your Mouth Blueberry Muffins with Streusel Topping

Blueberry Muffins With Streusel Topping

These muffins remind me of my childhood.  Somewhere along the way, our family bought a blueberry muffin mix that had streusel topping you added to it.  Being a family that loves sweets, these muffins quickly became one of our favorites.  I hadn’t thought about them in a long time, when I ran across this recipe.  The streusel topping reminded me of the muffins from when I was young,  so I have been wanting to try them out.

I have made them twice now, and they are one of the most moist muffins (try to say that 3 times fast) I have made.  They truly do melt in your mouth.  The texture is light and fluffy, and after I doubled the streusel topping the second time around, they were even better.  I think one of the rules for baking must be you can never have too much streusel!

It has been fun reliving the past through blueberry muffins.  The only negative memory I have of food from when I was very young was having to eat liver and onions.  I think that might be considered child abuse these days.  That is not a memory I want to relive any time soon.  Although, if I had to, maybe it would be easier to choke down if it had a streusel topping.  If only my mom had thought of that.  Do you have any strong food memories from your childhood?

BLUEBERRY MUFFINS WITH STREUSEL TOPPING

  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/4 c butter, softened
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 1/3 c all purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 c whole milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c fresh or frozen blueberries

Streusel:

  • 1 c sugar
  • 2/3 c all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 c butter
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a mixing bowl, cream sugar and butter.
  3. Add egg; mix well.
  4. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Add flour mixture to the creamed mixture alternately with milk.
  6. Stir in vanilla.
  7. Fold in blueberries.
  8. Fill 12 paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full.
  9. In a small bowl, combine sugar, flour, and cinnamon for the streusel.
  10. Cut in butter until crumbly.  Sprinkle over muffins.  Be sure to wipe excess off of tin so it doesn’t spill onto your oven while baking.
  11. Bake for 23-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into muffins comes out clean.  For moist muffins, don’t over bake.

Recipe slightly adapted from February/March 1995 edition of Taste of Home Magazine, submitted by Mary Anne McWhirter of Pearland, Texas, page 32.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Melt in Your Mouth Blueberry Muffins with Streusel Topping

  1. thehungrymum says:

    Ok, these must be made by me soon! They look so moist & delish.

  2. Yummy…and I like the generous use of blueberries, something that is always missing in store bought ones!

  3. I agree with the previous commenter. Why are people so chintzy sometimes with the blueberries. This is a recipe I respect – 1.5 cups of blueberries?! Where has this recipe been all my life!

Leave a Reply

