Raspberry, Almond, and Feta Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

It seems with the hot weather, all I want to eat are salads and ice cream.  Since it probably wouldn’t be the best thing for me to have ice cream every night for dinner, I am trying to focus on the salads. (Trying being the key word here).  Recently I found a wonderful new dressing recipe on Jamie Cooks It Up! for Raspberry Vinaigrette.  Jaime has so many fantastic recipes on her blog.  I just love it.  This dressing has become one of our favorites.  It is as beautiful in color as it is in taste.

This recipe has a little bit of sweetness to it, but it isn’t overly sweet.  My husband even liked it, and he usually doesn’t like sweet salad dressings (unlike me who recently tried a chocolate vinaigrette at a local restaurant – more on that in a later post).  This raspberry vinaigrette dressing is perfect on a salad of raspberries, slivered almonds, feta, and purple onion.  The combination of ingredients is like having summer on a plate.

Summer Berries

This recipe reminds me of my friend, Kay, who lives in Washington State.  When I went to visit her a couple summers ago, there were berry stands on every corner, it seemed.  They weren’t the shriveled up, sometimes moldy, and tart berries you get in grocery stores here, but big, beautiful, plump, sweet berries that had just been picked.  Being an Arizona girl, this was just amazing to me.  I know Kay really likes raspberries and raspberry dressing, so this recipe is for you, Kay – a slightly sweet raspberry vinaigrette for a very sweet friend.

Raspberry, Almond, and Feta Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette

For the Salad:

  • 1/2 of a 5 oz. bag of baby romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 of a 5 oz. bag of mixed baby lettuces
  • 1/2 c of toasted or raw slivered almonds (Trader Joe’s sells these)
  • 1 c fresh raspberries
  • 1/4 to 1/2 c feta
  • 1/3 to 1/2 of a purple onion, very thinly sliced
  • Raspberry Vinaigrette Salad Dressing (see recipe below)
  1. In a large bowl, toss 2 kinds of lettuces together.  Place desired amount of lettuce combination on individual salad plates, one for each person who will be eating.
  2. Layer rest of ingredients on top of each plate of lettuce except for dressing.  At this point, salad can be refrigerated until ready to eat.
  3. Just before serving, pour desired amount of dressing on each salad plate.  Do not toss.  (Because of the color and delicacy of the berries, this salad looks terrible after tossing it.  It is one of the few salads that is better not tossed.)
  4. Refrigerate any leftover dressing.

For the Dressing:

  • 1 red onion (you will only need part of it)
  • 3 T raspberry jam
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/2 c plus 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 T honey mustard (you can find this in with all the other mustards)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 1 T poppy seeds
  1. Dice the onion. Place 3 T into a blender.
  2. Add 3 T raspberry jam, 1/4 c sugar, 1/2 c plus 2 T of red wine vinegar, 1 T honey mustard, and 1/2 tsp. of salt on top of the onion.  Blend until well combined.
  3. Add 1/2 c oil to the blending jar, just a little bit at a time, blending after each portion is added.  If you add all of the oil at once, the dressing will be really thin and runny.  Just add about 2 T and blend after each addition.
  4. Add 1 T poppy seeds to the dressing, and stir it in with a spoon.  Don’t blend the poppy seeds in, just give them a nice stir.  Serve over a salad of your choice and enjoy.  Store in refrigerator.

Recipe courtesy of Jamie Cooks It Up!

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Raspberry, Almond, and Feta Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette

  1. Teresa says:

    This looks wonderful. I can’t wait to try it.

  2. I wouldn’t have thought of raspberry vinaigrette and feta together, but I bet it would be delicious.

    I make a lot of salads, too, in the summer, even though our temperatures probably don’t climb as high as yours. This would be a nifty one to try.

    • cookazido says:

      I’ve gotten to where I want feta on all my salads – feta or blue cheese, but I think feta is more of a lower fat choice. It really does pair well with this dressing because of its saltiness contrasted with the sweetness in the dressing. I hope your summer is going well so far. The monsoons have started here so every day we hope for some rain.

  3. Kay says:

    I do love raspberry anything! You know me so well. I saw your post last night and had to try it for family dinner tonight. I bought a flat of raspberries today at the local grower’s stand and came home to make this recipe and a raspberry crumble for dessert. The season will only last a couple more weeks so we like to make the most of it.

    I didn’t have enough room in the fridge to make it ahead on each plate (dinner for 8) as you suggest, so I set it up to “build your own” salad on the buffet table. That worked great for another reason, too, because some like a lot of feta and some don’t, some like more onions and some of my family prefers no onion. Everyone likes raspberries though! The dressing turned out perfect and stayed mixed. Thanks for the tip to add the oil gradually.

    I served this salad with bbq hamburgers. I had hamburgers left over and I wondered why. Matt said he usually eats two hamburgers, but he couldn’t resist the salad! Our family gives it definite thumbs up!

    Thanks, Shari. Waiting for the chocolate vinaigrette post!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for your comment, Kay! I am so glad you were able to try the dressing and that your whole family liked it. I really was thinking of you the whole time I was making it. What a great idea to do it buffet style with that many people. It makes me so happy you all get to be together this summer!

  4. This salad looks incredibly refreshing – I think I’ll try it as I have some feta to use up…

    • cookazido says:

      I hope you enjoy the salad. The people that I know that have tried it have all given it a thumbs up. It is a very tasty way to use up feta. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

