Carmelized Onion, Bacon, and Mozzarella Pizza

Carmelized Onion and Bacon Pizza

There is something about the weekend and pizza.  They just go together.  This is the pizza I want every weekend.  I’ve made this so many times and every time it is wonderful.  How could it not be with caramelized onions, bacon, and cheese together.  I crave it, and can only go so long before I have to make it again.

Fortunately, this pizza comes together very quickly.  Especially if you use a store-bought pizza dough, which I do, because I have a fear of yeast.  Not a fear of eating it.  But a fear of making things that contain it.  It might be because  every single time I’ve ever made anything with yeast in it, it hasn’t turned out.  One day I am going to conquer that fear.  But in the meantime, I use Trader Joe’s pizza dough.  It tastes like homemade.

Then, to make the pizza, all you have to do is caramelize the onions, fry up the bacon, and layer the ingredients on the pizza dough.  Really, not a bad project for the weekend.  Way better than painting or working in the yard.  Or, if you work it out right, maybe you could get your significant other  to work in the yard if you promise them pizza with bacon on it for dinner.  Another good reason to make this next weekend!

Carmelized Onion and Bacon Pizza

Caramelized Onion, Bacon, and Mozzarella Pizza

  • 1 whole pizza crust
  • olive oil, for drizzling
  • 1 large red onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1/8 c brown sugar
  • kosher salt to taste
  • parmesan cheese, grated
  • 10 oz. mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
  • 8 slices bacon, cooked
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Heat 2 Tbsp. olive oil in a large skillet on medium low heat.
  3. Add onions and brown sugar and stir.  Continue to heat and stir once in a while until browned, but not burned.  Set aside.
  4. Cook bacon until done in skillet on medium low heat.  Drain and set aside.
  5. Roll out pizza dough into desired shape and thickness and place on cookie sheet.  I actually roll mine out on the cookie sheet without using cooking spray so it will stick to the pan.  It makes it easier to roll out.
  6. Drizzle a thin coat of olive oil on the top of the dough and spread to 1 inch of the edges of the dough.
  7. Sprinkle a little salt on the olive oil.
  8. Next, sprinkle on a thin layer of grated parmesan cheese.
  9. Lay slices of mozzarella evenly over the parmesan.
  10. Arrange caramelized onions on top of the mozzarella.
  11. Randomly lay slices of prosciutto over the onions.
  12. Cut out a round of foil to lay over the top of the middle of the pizza so the bacon doesn’t burn.  Place pizza in oven.  Cook for 15 minutes.
  13. Remove foil and cook for 10 more minutes.  Time is approximate depending on how thick you rolled out your dough.  Keep checking it every so often to make sure it doesn’t burn.  My dough was about an inch thick, and it took 25 minutes altogether.
  14. Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Italian, Main Dish, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Carmelized Onion, Bacon, and Mozzarella Pizza

  1. I have a fear of yeast too! It’s because our house is cool and I have to resort to creative methods to get the yeast to rise, which never turn out…blah blah.

    This pizza, though, looks mah-velous. And so easy to make!

    • cookazido says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one with a fear of yeast, Ruth! I can see why you would be, too. Our house is never too cool, though, so it must be some other problem. I’m sure it couldn’t be me!:) Actually, I was going to try to conquer my fear this year, but it hasn’t happened yet. Only a few months to go before the end of the year…I better get busy. So many recipes, so little time!

  2. priya7011 says:

    OMG, I want a slice of that Pizza!! Looks Yum 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    That bacon pizza looks so delicious and easy to make too. I love it that you add caramelized onions in it. When it’s too cool i heat up the oven just a little and turn it off and use it to prove yeast mixtures. But you must always ensure that the yeast has not expired or has been sitting around too long. I once tried to use the same tin of yeast four times, and the dough never rose but in the end I discovered the yeast had expired so was never gonna rise no matter what. Why do you have fear of yeast? maybe I might learn something from you. Enjoy the rest of your week!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Liz! The caramelized onions is my favorite part. My fear of yeast isn’t really a fear. Just whenever I see a recipe where you have to add yeast, I immediately dismiss it, and won’t try it. It is because in my attempts in the past, the dough never rises. I really do want to learn how to make bread, so sometime soon, I will work at it. I think I just need practice. Thank you for the tip on the expiration date. In the meantime, I get distracted from all the other recipes I want to try! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week, too!

  4. Geraldine says:

    Wow, this looks amazing! And my kids love bacon on their pizza– I need to try it!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you so much for reblogging my post. That means a lot to me. I hope you get a chance to make this pizza. I think you will love it. I appreciate you stopping by.

  5. cookiecuckoo says:

    That pizza looks AMAZING!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you so much! I don’t think the pictures do justice to how good it really is. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. I will be sure to check out your blog.

Leave a Reply

