Shrimp Enchiladas With Poblano Chile Sauce

Shrimp Enchiladas

I have been wanting to post this recipe for so long.  I’ve made it many times, but every time we would eat it so quickly, I couldn’t get a picture of it.  These enchiladas are so delicious.  I am not a huge fan of shrimp (I think it is a texture thing), but I love this dish.  It has so many flavors going on inside and outside the corn tortilla shell.  My favorite part is the poblano chile sauce.  I think anything covered in this sauce would be good.  Stay tuned for my next recipe – vanilla bean ice cream with poblano chile sauce.  Just kidding!:)

This recipe calls for roasting poblano chilies.  Don’t let that scare you.  It is a super simple process that anyone can do.  All that means is to set your oven at a high temperature, put the chilies in the oven, and keep turning them every so often so that they look black on the outside.  They will look awful when you do it, but don’t worry, you take the black part off after letting the chilies sit for about 15 minutes, covered.  The black part almost falls off by itself, and what you have left is a beautiful, delicious, roasted chile.  Be careful to buy the right kind of chile.  Poblanos are also called pasillas in some stores.  Poblanos are not very spicy.  If you use another kind of chile, you may end up with some really hot sauce.  I think poblanos give it just the perfect amount of heat.

There is one thing you need to know before making these enchiladas.  It definitely is a weekend dish.  By that I mean it takes time, and I mean a lot of time, to make it. Completely worth it, though!  My best advice would be to do all your prepping the day before, or the morning before you want to serve it.  Roast your chilies, chop the onions, mince the garlic, dice the chipotles, grate the carrots, shred the cheese, and make the poblano sauce ahead of time.  Then when it is time to make the enchiladas, all you will have to do is prepare the shrimp and sauté the vegetables.  Each time I’ve made this, I didn’t allow enough time, and we ended up eating about 9 o’clock at night.  I guess I am a slow learner.  Learn from my mistakes, and start early.  But whether you start early or eat late, make these enchiladas.  It will be worth your effort, and they taste amazing whatever time you eat them.

Shrimp Enchiladas With Poblano Chile Sauce

  • Servings: 10-12 enchiladas
  • Difficulty: moderate due to time involved
  • Print

For the Sauce:

  • 2 poblano peppers
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 4 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 1/2 c chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 c sour cream
  • 1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro

For the Filling:

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. oregano
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 c green cabbage, shredded
  • 2 carrots, peeled and shredded
  • 3 c baby spinach
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, seeded and finely minced
  • 1 lb. shrimp, thawed, peeled and deveined

Other Ingredients:

  • 10-12 corn tortillas
  • 2 c shredded Monterey jack cheese
  1. To roast the poblano peppers, preheat the oven to 475 degrees.  Place the peppers in a medium baking dish.  Bake, turning every 6-8 minutes or so, until the skin is blistered and blackened over most of the surface, about 20-25 minutes total.  Transfer to a medium bowl, cover with a plate, and let sit 15 minutes.  When cool enough to handle, peel away the blackened skin and discard.  Remove the stem, seeds, and ribs.  Coarsely chop the peppers and set aside.
  2. To make the sauce, melt the butter in a medium saucepan.  Stir in the chopped poblanos.  Sprinkle in the flour and stir, cooking briefly just until golden, about 1-2 minutes.  Whisk in the broth and garlic powder.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Let cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the mixture bubbles and thickens.  Remove from the heat and stir in the sour cream and cilantro.
  3. Reduce the oven temperature to 400 degrees.  Meanwhile, to make the filling, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add in the onion, garlic, and oregano.  Cook until the onion is tender, about 5 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Stir in the cabbage, carrots, and spinach.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until the spinach is fully wilted, about 3-4 minutes.  Stir in the chipotle peppers and cook just until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Coarsely chop the shrimp and stir them into the filling.  (The shrimp do not need to be fully cooked at this point, they will cook in the oven.)  Remove from the heat.
  4. To assemble, lightly grease a 9 x 13-inch baking dish. Before filling each one, place each tortilla in the microwave for approximately 8-10 seconds.  Tortilla will be hot. Place about 1/3  cup of the filling mixture in a line down the center of the tortilla.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Roll up tightly and place in the prepared pan, seam-side down.  Repeat with the remaining filling and tortillas.  Once the pan has been filled, pour the poblano sauce over the top of the enchiladas.  Bake until bubbling and slightly golden, about 20-25 minutes.  Sprinkle with additional cilantro.  Serve immediately.  Refrigerate leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, very slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats, and Annie originally adapted from Damn Delicious.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Fish Recipes, Main Dish, Mexican, Recipes, Summer Recipes, Weekend Meals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shrimp Enchiladas With Poblano Chile Sauce

  1. rozpaige says:

    I could just eat the poblano sauce alone and be happy Shari! Can I substitute beef, pork, or chicken since I am allergic to shrimp and shellfish now (it happened while I was pregnant with my son!). Big bummer! I also wanted to let you know that I tried to answer your question on my blog about the dry sun-dried tomatoes. They come in a bag such as those that raisins and dried cranberries come in. I found them in Wal-Mart in the produce section.

    thanks for another great recipe!
    Roz

    • cookazido says:

      I’m with you about eating the poblano sauce alone and being happy, Roz! There are also so many dishes I can think of that would be good with that sauce on it. I’m sorry you’re allergic to shellfish and shrimp, but I think finely diced cooked chicken would be good in it too. It’s interesting because the inside of the enchiladas remind me of the inside of egg rolls, but they don’t taste like egg rolls. But I guess that is why I think chicken would taste good in them. Or just use the poblano sauce over your favorite chicken enchilada recipe. Thank you for letting me know about the sun-dried tomatoes in bags. I happened to run across them by accident at the grocery store just this last week. I had never seen them before. I appreciate you stopping by. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

