Make Your Guests Comfortable With Pesto Hummus Dip

Pesto Hummus

I just love appetizers.  Especially any kind of appetizer that involves dip for vegetables, crackers, or chips.  Not only do I love eating them, but I enjoy serving them at a party or when we have friends over for dinner because they give your guests something to do when they come in and help dissipate that awkward feeling people may have when they first arrive.  It can also be a conversation starter when they don’t know some of the other people at the party.  And, lastly because I seem to have trouble getting meals on the table in a timely manner, if guests come really hungry, they won’t faint before  I serve dinner.  All of that to say, I am always on the lookout for a really good appetizer, and this last weekend I found one so wanted to share it with you.

This appetizer falls under the category of “why didn’t I think of that?”  Hummus is so delicious, and so is pesto.  I don’t know why I never thought to put them together, but thankfully Theresa at Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen did!  If you love pesto and/or hummus I think you will really like this dip.  It goes especially well on vegetables, but I loved it on pita chips, too.  Another great thing about hummus is that there are quite a few nutritional benefits to eating it.  It is high in protein, vitamin B6, vitamin C, and fiber.  When eaten with bread or rice, it serves as a complete protein.  But that isn’t why I ate it, even though I do want to be healthy.  I ate it because it has pesto in it!  I can’t resist anything with pesto.

There are a couple of ingredients in this dip that weren’t that familiar to me.  Maybe I have led a sheltered life because tahini and tamari were ingredients that are new to me.  I found them on an aisle in the grocery store where there were organic type ingredients.  But, I think every store may be different.  You could try the Asian food area (tamari is a type of stronger soy sauce) or just ask.  Tahini is a paste of ground sesame seeds so who knows where they might place it.  But I’m sure if you don’t see it, the store employees could look it up for you.  And once you have the ingredients, it is really quick to make. You just grind everything up in a food processor or blender. It is worth the search for these ingredients to make this dip.   Because, like I said earlier, it has pesto in it. There’s nothing else you really need to know.

Pesto Hummus

Pesto Hummus Dip

  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 can (15 ounces) garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 Tbsp. tahini (sesame paste)
  • 1/4 c water
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 tsp. tamari
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c basil pesto
  1.  Put garlic, tahini, water, lemon juice, tamari, olive oil, salt, and pesto in blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Add garbanzo beans, and pulse until thoroughly mixed and ground up.  Taste and add salt if needed.
  3. Serve with assorted vegetables, pita chips, or pita bread.  Makes about 2 cups.

Recipe slightly adapted from Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Company, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Make Your Guests Comfortable With Pesto Hummus Dip

  1. Love this idea! I am a huge hummus fan so it is always nice to have new ways to serve it!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you! I’m glad I could pass it along to you. If you like hummus, you should check out Theresa’s blog (see link in post). She has so many hummus recipes that look wonderful. I appreciate you stopping by!

  2. Pesto would be great in hummus. I never thought of it before and I really like your homemade hummus recipe too. So easy to buy it pre-made, especially @ Trader Joe’s and yet homemade is so much better.

    • cookazido says:

      I love Trader Joe’s hummus, too! I had never made it before until I made the Pesto Hummus. I would like to try making regular hummus from scratch, also. So many recipes, so little time!:) Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  3. mmm that looks great. I wonder if pine nuts would enhance or detract from the recipe.

    • cookazido says:

      Hi Andy! So fun to see you here. That’s funny you mentioned pine nuts because after I wrote this post, I kind of wished I had sprinkled the whole thing with pine nuts. Also, did you know pesto is made with pine nuts? I love pine nuts. In my opinion, you can never have too many!:)Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Teresa says:

    Hey, thanks for the link. I like the idea of pine nuts too! What a fabulous idea. Glad you enjoyed the recipe.

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for the recipe, Teresa! I really enjoy your blog. I just told a friend of mine about it today. You have so many great recipes on there. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment.

  5. Two of my favorites coming together in one amazing dip!! Brilliant idea and great recipe:)

  6. LFFL says:

    I love how you set it all up on the plate. It looks so decorative and pretty.

  7. Well, I have to confess I’m not really a pesto or a hummus fan but my dear husband is, and out of my love for him I will give this a go. See what a nice wife I am?

    • cookazido says:

      You are a very good wife! Actually at our house my husband was the nice one. He isn’t wild about hummus either, but he ate it anyway. Thank goodness for unselfish husbands and wives. I made it up to him today, and gave him a mint chocolate chip cupcake, his favorite!:)

Leave a Reply

