Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake

Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake

During the holidays we usually have a lot of company so I am always on the lookout for a good breakfast recipe that is a little more special than just eggs and toast.  I  found a great one this week on That’s Some Good Cookin’.  It is a pumpkin spice version of her Cinnamon Roll Cake  that I had already tried and loved. I actually combined the two recipes so the cake has more cinnamon and less maple flavors.  If you like Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls and the flavors of pumpkin spice you will go crazy over this recipe.

This coffee cake is very sweet, and for some reason, it ends up with little holes all over the top where  the topping puddles, so every bite has an ooey gooey layer of cinnamony goodness. The flavor of pumpkin spice is light and doesn’t over power the cake.  On top of all that you have a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze that just takes it over the top. (You might want to serve it with a side of Insulin!:)  It isn’t a dish I would eat every day because of all the calories and sugar, but for something special for the holidays, it is perfect.  And it will make your house smell wonderful with all the scents of fall. I love the color of this cake as well as the taste.  Your guests, will, too.  In fact, be prepared, they may never leave, at least not until the coffee cake is gone!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Coffee Cake

Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake

For the Cake:

For the Topping:

  • 1 c (2 sticks) real butter, softened
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 c chopped pecans, optional (always measure the nuts first, then chop them)

For the Glaze:

  • 2 c powdered sugar
  • 5 Tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Butter a 9×13 glass baking dish.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer or a large bowl if using a hand mixer, stir together the flour, salt, sugar, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice.  Set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs.  Add milk, pumpkin, and vanilla and whisk together.  Stir in the 1/2 c melted butter.  Mix until smooth.  Set aside.
  5. For the cinnamon topping, in a large bowl, mix together the butter, brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Stir in the pecans, if desired.  (I didn’t use any nuts, and it was still yummy).  Set aside.
  6. Add the egg mixture to the original flour mixture in the mixing bowl.  Mix just until ingredients are well combined.  The batter is rather stiff.  Pour batter into the prepared baking dish.  Spread evenly.
  7. Drop the prepared cinnamon topping evenly over cake batter by tablespoonfuls.  Using a knife, marble/swirl the topping through the cake.  Simply move the blade of the knife back and forth through the cake batter and topping, across the pan, and then up and down the pan.  (I did this very little as I didn’t want it to be too mixed together.)
  8. Bake at 325 degrees for approximately 30 minutes.  Use a toothpick to check doneness and be sure you don’t overcook.  You don’t want it to be undercooked either, though.  It will be gooey enough!
  9. Remove cake from oven and set aside to cool for a few minutes while you assemble the glaze.
  10. Place powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Whisk until smooth.  Drizzle over the warm cake.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Recipe a combination of Cinnamon Roll Cake and Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Cake found on That’s Some Good Cookin’

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Christmas, Company, Fall Recipes, Pumpkin, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake

  1. Me says:

    Boy, this recipe looks amazing! Great for a special breakfast!

    • cookazido says:

      It really is perfect for company. Even though I would like to have it every day, I wouldn’t like the results on my body! I hope you get to try it sometime. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Wow! What a good idea ! It looks so delicious 🙂

  3. Pingback: Easy Pumpkin Gratin | Whip A Dish

    • cookazido says:

      Maureen, Thanks so much for mentioning my Pumpkin Latte Recipe on your blog! That was very sweet of you. It looks like you have some yummy pumpkin recipes on yours. I can’t wait to try some of them. It’s such a fun time of year for cooking!

    • cookazido says:

      I feel so honored that you mentioned my blog and post on your blog, Maureen. Thank you so much! You have so many good recipes and such beautiful photos on yours! I love that you have a lot of savory pumpkin recipes posted. Once again, your support is very much appreciated.

  4. whipadish says:

    This pumpkin cake looks so delicious! I can’t wait to try my hand at it. 😀

  5. Shobelyn says:

    Oh my golly. This looks very delicious… Nice pictures too.

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Shobee! It really was good, so moist, and full of yummy spices. I appreciate you saying that about the pictures. Always a struggle, but one I enjoy. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Am going to give this a try — I’m up to my elbows in cooked pumpkin and am desperate for things to use it in! However, this recipe would make me run out and buy a pumpkin just to try it. 🙂

    Made my first pumpkin pie today, from pumpkin instead of a can. The results are a little dubious, but I think it’ll do for now.

    • cookazido says:

      I am so impressed, Ruth! I have never made a pumpkin pie with a real pumpkin. Was it very difficult to cut up and get all the pulpy stuff out? I figure it probably is similar to cutting up a butternut squash only more of it. I bet your pie tasted great. Do you make your own pie crust, too? Thanks for sharing about your pumpkin adventure!:)

  7. Teresa says:

    Oh, my goodness, does this ever look like a winner! I’ve pinned it!

  8. Love pumpkin and coffee cake! I used to eat too much of it. Great recipe!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Liuba! Glad I could pass it along. It was the first pumpkin and coffee cake recipe I had ever tried. You just can’t go wrong with that combination, though. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  9. kcinaz says:

    Hi there. This looks great. Can’t wait to try it. Gotta go see if I’ve all the ingredients!

  10. Just had to send you a quick note… I just made this! We are enjoying it now, for brunch, and it is FA-BU-LOUS!

Leave a Reply

