Broccoli Cheese Soup

Cream of Broccoli Soup

The nights are getting cool here now, and the first thing I want to do is make soup.  There is something about throwing a whole bunch of ingredients into a big pot, heating it up, watching it steam, and the flavors meld together that is so comforting. I think it reminds me of when I was little, and made mud pies in the back yard.  We would throw in some rocks, leaves, dirt, and water, and stir to our hearts content.  I guess I have had the bug for cooking since I was young (maybe because there were bugs in the mud soup, too).  The good thing about broccoli cheese soup is that you can actually eat it, and it is so good!

If you like broccoli, you will love this soup.  Even though it has a lot of cheese in it, it is definitely the taste of the broccoli that comes through.  It is a very easy soup to make, perfect for a weeknight dinner.  You can either use fresh broccoli that you cut up yourself, or to save time, Trader Joe’s has bags of fresh broccoli already cut up.  With its pretty green color, it would be great to serve company around Christmas time, but is perfect for any cold winter night or cool fall evening.

Cream of Broccoli Soup

This recipe makes quite a bit so you can take leftovers to work the next day or save it in the refrigerator for unexpected company.  My son stopped by  the other day on his lunch hour, and I was so happy that I had some soup on hand to make for him. I offered him some mud soup at first, but he declined.  You just never know about kids.  He ate so much dirt when he was little.  I guess his tastes have changed.  My little boy is growing up.

Wesley Kelley 1994

Broccoli Cheese Soup

  • 1 whole onion, diced
  • 1 stick (1/2 c) real butter
  • 1/3 c flour
  • 4 c whole milk
  • 2 c half-and-half
  • 4 heads broccoli cut into florets
  • 4 – 5 c grated cheddar cheese (we like it cheesy so I used 5 cups)
  • 1 – 1/2 tsp. of salt (I used 1 1/2 tsp.)
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. coarse grind black pepper (I used 1 tsp.)
  • green onions for garnish (optional)
  1. Melt butter in a pot over medium heat, then add the onions for 3 to 4 minutes.
  2. Sprinkle the flour over the top of the onions.  Stir to combine and cook for 1 minute or so.
  3. Pour in milk and half-and-half and stir.
  4. Add broccoli, and a small dash of salt, and plenty of black pepper  and stir to combine.
  5. Cover and reduce heat to low.  Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the broccoli is tender.
  6. Stir in cheese and allow to melt.
  7. Taste seasonings and adjust if needed.
  8. Then either serve as is, or transfer to a blender in two batches and puree completely  (the broccoli broke up smaller due to stirring so didn’t need to blend).
  9. If using a blender, return to the pot and allow it to heat back up.
  10. Serve with a little more cheese and green onions for garnish.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Fall Recipes, Main Dish, Recipes, Soups, Weeknight Meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. Looks great – I agree that brocolli and cheese is a winning combination in the winter 🙂

    • cookazido says:

      Broccoli cheese is such a comforting soup! I think soup is just comforting in general, maybe because of its warmth. Is it very cold where you live yet? I hope you get to try it sometime. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  2. Kay says:

    This looks so delicious Shari. One of my favorite soups. I will definitely try this .

  3. Don’t laugh – but I have never before made a cheese-type soup without first starting with a can of cheddar cheese soup. Well, this changes today with your fab recipe. I can just about taste this, and it would be perfect with some garlic toast on the side. Mmmm! I wonder if it’s too late in the evening to have second dinner…?

    • cookazido says:

      Garlic toast sounds perfect for this soup, actually any soup! I wouldn’t laugh at you – actually I haven’t made very many cheesy type soups either. This was a great one to start with. The only problem was my husband. We are starting to think he may be a little lactose intolerant. Next time I’m going to try to lighten it up using milk instead, and see if that is any better for him. Thanks for your comment, Ruth!

  4. I love broccoli soup! Especiall when there is cheese involved. Sounds delicious.

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks, Sarah! Cheese makes anything taste good, doesn’t it! In fact, I added an extra cup to the original recipe for that very reason. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment!

  5. Hi, I have awarded you with the Bouquet of Three Award at http://wp.me/p2WqlF-OR.
    Cheers!
    Divya

    • cookazido says:

      Hi Divya, I left you a comment on your blog, but just wanted to say thank you again for awarding me the Bouquet of Three Award. It means a lot to me that you would consider my blog eligible for this. I love blogging because I am able to meet people like you that I would never have known otherwise. I appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to connect in this way!

      • You have a great blog, and you really deserve this award. The blogosphere is indeed a great platform to connect with like-minded people or with those who share a common passion or interest. Keep blogging, keep inspiring! Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

