Molasses Crinkles or Trick or Treat?

Molasses Crinkles

Our oldest son’s birthday is coming up next week.  He will be 25 and lives in New York.  It is always hard to decide what to get him.  With him being so far away, I’m not around him on a daily basis to know what he might need.  And he is the kind of person who never really thinks he needs anything anyway.  It is a quality I truly admire in him, but it makes it hard on Christmas and birthdays to know what to get him for a present.  One thing I know he does appreciate, though, are baked goods.  Molasses Crinkles are one of his favorite cookies,  so I made some today to send to him.

Of course, I had to try one,  just to make sure they were okay to send!:) I had forgotten how good these cookies are.  The flavor is like that of a gingersnap, only I think of those as crunchy and these are very, very soft.  They just melt in your mouth.  It was kind of cloudy and cool today (a real treat for us Arizonans), and with the aroma from these cookies in the oven, it really felt like fall. Just for fun, on the top of each cookie I sprinkled a little turbinado sugar.  It gave the cookies just the tiniest bit of crunch and sweetness, but is not necessary at all.  In the past I have also dipped the cookie dough in regular sugar before baking instead.  They would be just as delicious without the addition of any sugar as well.  The important thing is to not over bake these cookies.  I rolled the dough into balls about the size of a Ping-Pong ball and baked them at 375 degrees for 7 minutes.  Even if they don’t look done, take them out of the oven anyway.  The cookies will set up as they cool.

Molasses Crinkles

Last Christmas we had such a difficult time knowing what to get Andy for Christmas.  We tried so hard to get him something he would like.  I got him a pair of jeans when I was out shopping one day, and then asked my husband to get him something because I figured he would be better at knowing what he would like, being a guy and all.  He ended up getting him a pair of shoes that were 2 sizes too big and were the style a 60-year-old would wear. I didn’t know it, but had gotten the jeans at a skate boarder store, and they fit like they were painted on.  It was a very comical combination. When our son tried them on he looked more like he was ready to go trick or treating than celebrate Christmas. The confused smile on his face as he looked at his new outfit was just priceless. He is a very sweet kid, though.  He didn’t even complain.   Needless to say, I think I better just stick to making him cookies or pumpkin bread or other edible treats.  I don’t think he will mind that at all, unless he needs a costume for Halloween.

Andy Kelley 2012

Happy birthday, Andy!

Molasses Crinkles

  • 3/4 c real butter, slightly softened
  • 1 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 2 1/4 c flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  1. In bowl of an electric mixer or with hand mixer, beat together butter, brown sugar, egg, and molasses.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and salt.
  3. Mix dry ingredients into butter mixture.
  4. Chill dough for 2 hours or overnight. (Don’t skip this step.  Cookies will be too flat if you do).
  5. Lightly grease pan with spray.  Place parchment paper on top of greased pan (this is important or cookies may slide and not hold their shape).
  6. Roll dough into balls the size of Ping-Pong balls.  Dip tops of balls into sugar or slightly dent balls and sprinkle with turbinado sugar and place them on parchment paper covered pans about 3 inches apart.
  7. Bake approximately 7 minutes at 375 degrees until just set, not hard.  Don’t  over bake.
  8. Sprinkle more turbinado sugar on cookies after taking them out of the oven if you wish.
  9. Let cool about 10 minutes before serving.

Recipe from a friend of mine, Cheryl Addabbo

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Cookies, Desserts, Fall Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Molasses Crinkles or Trick or Treat?

  1. Shari, I wasn’t aware that I wasn’t following you! No wonder I’ve been missing out on all of your wonderful recipes! I’ve corrected my oversight. Now, I’ll get the latest update, thank goodness. The recipe sounds yummy. Haven’t cooked with molasses many times, but I have it in my pantry, so I’ll give this a try. Thanks! -Angie

  2. shobelyn says:

    I thought it was funny that your Christmas present were similar to Halloween costume. I bet you are missing him so much in this special day. I cannot imagine having my children being so far away on Christmas day. I cannot even handle thinking about it right now.

    I am not a cookie eater, but this cookies do look really delicious.

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Shobee! It does make me sad not to be with my son on his birthday, but he will be here for Christmas so am very thankful for that. He has also been able to visit quite a few times so that has made being apart a little easier. How old are your children? I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  3. Yummmmm. Thanks, Shari! I love to read your posts, and this one is no exception. Your molasses crinkles make my mouth water! We first learned about molasses crinkles from the Mennonite cookbook MORE WITH LESS, way back in yesteryear…. p.s. happy birthday to Andy!

  4. Mmmm! These sound GREAT! It’s snowing here today, and they may be a nice, wintery project to tackle this afternoon.

    • cookazido says:

      Wow, I can’t believe it is snowing there already! I bet it is beautiful. Baking while it is snowing sounds like a perfect day! Thanks for stopping by, Ruth.

Leave a Reply

