Green Chile Cornbread

Green Chile Cornbread

I made this cornbread last week to go with our Smoky, Spicy Chili, and it was so good, I just had to share it with you. It contains green chiles so was perfect to go with it.  I have been making some type of soup every week, and was wanting to find a cornbread recipe that was a little bit different.  This was the moistest cornbread I have ever eaten.

One of the reasons this cornbread is so moist is that you add a can of creamed corn to it.  You don’t really taste it, but the cornbread practically melts in your mouth.  We didn’t even need to use butter (shocking, I know).  The green chiles give it a little bit of flavor, but it isn’t spicy at all.   You can’t see the green chiles very well in the picture, but they do add some little green specs of color to the cornbread which would be perfect for the holiday season if you are serving soup at one of your get togethers. You can make this ahead and freeze it too. Overall, it was just a great cornbread recipe that I think I will be making a lot from now on.

How are you doing getting ready for the holidays?  I am plugging away at my to do lists, trying to get as much as I can done each day.  Today I hope to get our Christmas tree decorated among other things.  I would love to know if you have any secrets as to how to get everything done in time without feeling that frenzied, panicky feeling the last couple of days. Each year has gotten better as I learn from the last year, but I still have a ways to go.  One of the best sermons I ever heard at Christmas time was about how our Christmas celebration isn’t going to be perfect and that is okay because even the first Christmas wasn’t exactly the ideal kind of circumstances Mary must have wanted for the delivery of her child.  I mean, she had animals in the delivery room.  Yikes!  And it wasn’t a delivery room, it was more of a delivery cave.  So if the first Christmas wasn’t perfect, we really shouldn’t expect ours to be either.  Realizing that just took a lot of pressure off for me so thought I’d pass that along.  Best wishes to you as you get ready for your holiday celebration!

Green Chile Corn Bread

  • 1 c butter (not margarine)
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 (4 oz.) can diced green chiles
  • 1 1/2 c creamed-style corn
  • 1/2 c cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 c flour
  • 1 c yellow cornmeal
  • 2 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Cream butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs slowly, one at a time, mixing well with each addition.
  4. Add chiles, corn, and cheese, mixing well to incorporate.
  5. Sift together dry ingredients, then add and mix until smooth.
  6. Pour into greased 9×9-inch pan.
  7. Bake approximately 1 hour until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Check often the last 10 minutes.  Don’t over bake.
  8. Makes about 9 servings.

Recipe from The Boulder’s Resort, Palo Verde room.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Cabin Recipes, Christmas, Company, Mexican, Recipes, Side Dishes, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Green Chile Cornbread

  1. shobelyn says:

    I think this recipe is so unique since this is the first time I’ve heard about corn bread with creamed corn in it. I am keeping this in my inbox until I make this. Thanks for the share.

  2. What a yummy recipe! I’d use Thai green chili for the ultimate spice kick and like the idea of using creamed corn…And for the Christmas frenzy, try a few deep breathing yoga exercises, perfection is only an illusion, the crumbs and smiles on our kids faces as they enjoy our half baked cookies is reality:)

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Peri! I will have to try Thai green chili. I have never used that before. Do you use it fresh? I appreciate your suggestion for deep breathing yoga exercises. Deep breaths are always a good thing while thinking about what is really important. I totally agree with you about perfection being only an illusion. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and hope you are doing well!

  3. Love the creamed-style corn and diced green chiles in here. YUM!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Anne! I did, too. The corn gave it such a neat texture as well as moisture. And I love green chiles in anything. In fact, next time, I am going to add double the amount and see how that works. I really appreciate you stopping by. Hope all is well with you!

  4. Liz says:

    It does look very moist and therefore must taste very nice as well. Thanks for sharing. I have that last can of cream style corn sitting in my cold room. I know what I’ll do with it now. Thanks for sharing and best wishes!

    • cookazido says:

      You’re very welcome, Liz. I highly recommend using your last can of creamed corn for cornbread!:) I can’t think of a better use for it. Best wishes to you as well, and thanks for stopping by!

  5. My husband loves – LOVES – cornbread and I know he’ll love it with green chilies.

    A can of creamed corn, you say? Sounds perfect to me. Why haven’t we been doing this all along?

    • cookazido says:

      I hope you get a chance to make it for him, Ruth. I agree with you, why haven’t we been doing this all along? Sometimes I’m a little slow to catch on!:) Glad I finally did, though. Did I mention there is cheese in it, too? Again, why? But better late than never! Is your place covered in snow by now? It actually has been pretty cold here this week. It never got up to 70 degrees. For us, that is parka weather! I hope you’re having a good week. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

