Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs

Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs

I debated about what to call these meatballs because I wanted to convey just how wonderful they are.  I thought about “the best meatballs in the world” or “Mom’s amazing meatballs” because they are both of those things.  I have been eating and making these for about 40 years now, and I have never found a meatball sauce that I like better. If I had to describe the taste, I would say if you mixed a sweet and sour meatball sauce with a bar-b-q meatball sauce, the end result would be this recipe.  Once you’ve tasted them, no other meatball can measure up.

If I had looked at the ingredients before eating them, I don’t think I would have made them in the first place.  The sauce contains pineapple juice, and I absolutely do not like canned pineapple juice.  The recipe also contains chili sauce, which is okay, but seems like a weird ingredient to put in a meatball sauce. And don’t even get me started on how much I dislike mustard.  So basically this sauce contains mostly ingredients I don’t care for, but it is one of my favorite things in the world to eat.  This sauce is one of those recipes where the sum of the ingredients is a completely different element than what you put in it.  I don’t understand it, but the good thing is I don’t have to.  All I have to do is eat it.  And love it.  And I do!

This recipe gives you the ingredients to make your own meatballs, but if you want to know the truth, most of the time I buy the meatballs at Costco, and just make the sauce to pour over it.  It is the sauce that I really like, and after all the hustle and bustle of Christmas, I am just too tired to make my own meatballs.  The sauce is really simple and can be made in about 10 minutes.  So whether you go ahead and make your own meatballs or just buy them, I hope you try out this sauce.  Your friends and family will love you for it.  A great quality in any recipe!

Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs

Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs

For the Meatballs:

  • 4 slices white bread soaked in warm water
  • 2 lbs. ground beef
  • 1/2 c Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 c minced parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. sweet basil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 3 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 3 eggs
  1. Squeeze water out of bread.
  2. Mix all ingredients together.
  3. Form into 1 inch balls.
  4. Roll in flour, and brown in batches in skillet on medium low heat until cooked through, about 10 minutes.

For the Sauce:

  • 2 c brown sugar
  • 1 c chili sauce
  • 1/2 c pineapple juice
  • 2 tsp. mustard
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 c vinegar
  • 1/2 c oil
  1. Mix all ingredients in a large saucepan until combined.
  2. Heat over medium low heat stirring often until hot.
  3. Pour over cooked meatballs.  I usually place the whole thing in my crock pot and turn on warm so they will stay hot through the evening.
  4. Refrigerate leftovers.  (If you have any left these are good poured over rice for dinner.)

Notes:  I usually double the recipe so there is a lot of sauce.  It depends on how many meatballs you are making.

This recipe is from my wonderful mom, Vicki Poor.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Christmas, Company, New Year's Recipes, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs

  1. My mouth started watering from the first paragraph, I kid you not. And I also laughed out loud when you said that sometimes you just buy the meatballs from Costco. I hear you, sistah!

    This sauce sounds divine. I have a meatball sauce that uses hot sauce and cranberries, but this sounds even better. The next time I’m in a meatball mood, I’m making these.

    • cookazido says:

      Ruth, your meatball sauce with cranberries and hot sauce sound good, too! I’m telling you, you really need to start a food section on your blog. You could call it the Snack Bar section of your movie reviews!:)

  2. Pingback: Brown Sugar Glazed Meatballs | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  3. These meatballs have everything going for them:) just love the combination of sweet basil, garlic and parm cheese! It’s on my must try list…

Leave a Reply

