Creamy and Comforting Potato Soup

Potato Soup

I love to make a big pot of  soup for dinner on a cold winter’s night.  It is so comforting.  And, it is extremely cold across our country right now. I just cannot imagine living in a place where the temperatures are below zero.  My heart goes out to you if you are enduring these frigid temperatures. If you are, this recipe is for you.  Warm potatoes, bacon, cream, and cheese have a way of making you feel better, at least on the inside.

I had been making the same potato soup for years, and really liked it.  Then I tasted this soup at my friend Debbie’s house. Hers was over the top delicious.  I don’t think I will ever go back to my old one.  I am so thankful to her for giving me this recipe. It is a copycat recipe of Black Angus’s potato soup.  For those of you who don’t live close, Black Angus is a  steakhouse restaurant here in the valley.  I have never had their soup, but everything else I have eaten there is wonderful.

Part of what I like about potato soup are all the things you can sprinkle on top.  I used shredded cheddar cheese, bacon pieces, and green onions.  Our boys stopped by tonight, and had a bowl of this soup. It got a big thumbs up from both of them.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did and that it warms you up a little bit wherever you are!

Potato Soup

Potato Soup

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 4 large baking potatoes
  • 2/3 c butter
  • 2/3 c all-purpose flour
  • 6 c whole milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 4 green onions – chopped and divided
  • 12 slices bacon – cooked and crumbled
  • 1 1/4 c cheddar cheese – shredded and divided
  • 8 oz. sour cream
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash potatoes and wrap individually in foil.  Bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, depending on the size of your potatoes, until soft.  Let cool.
  3. When cool enough to handle, cut potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out pulp. You should end up with about 4 to 5 cups of pulp.  Set pulp aside.  Use skins for something else, such as stuffed potato skins.
  4. Melt butter in heavy saucepan over low heat; add flour, stirring until smooth.  Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  5. Gradually add milk, and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture is thickened and bubbly.
  6. Add potato pulp, salt, pepper, 2 Tbsp. green onion pieces, half of the bacon, and 1 cup of the shredded cheese. Stir with a whisk to break up the potatoes, and cook until thoroughly heated.
  7. Add sour cream and stir.
  8. Serve with remaining green onions, bacon, and cheese.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, obtained from my good friend Debbie Maltby, originally created by Copykat.com 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Main Dish, Recipes, Soups, Weeknight Meals, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creamy and Comforting Potato Soup

  1. rozpaige says:

    This soup looks super-loaded with goodness and comfort! Thumbs up from two boys says A LOT! Like you, I feel for everyone who is living in this horrible cold weather! It was very cold here, but not like the Midwest and North. And perfect weather for a bowl of your potato soup! PINNING to save!
    Happy 2014 too!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you so much for your pin and comment, Roz! I’m glad you haven’t had to deal with such extremes in temperature as some in our country have. I hope you and your family are all staying healthy and enjoying the new year so far. I appreciate you stopping by!

      • rozpaige says:

        I love stopping by your delicious blog….I hope that the temps have returned to normal in AZ now; they say another cold front is coming and all I can think about is spring!!!!!!!!

      • cookazido says:

        Hi Roz, It has been absolutely beautiful here this last week. Sunny and warm in the afternoons, and cold at night. I heard it is supposed to cool off again. I know what you mean about spring – one cold week and I’m ready to move on to warmer temperatures! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Cream of potato soup is one of my all-time faves – even if it’s straight out of a can. I’ve never made potato soup from scratch before, so I’m bookmarking this page. I know my husband will love this, but he might have to arm wrestle me for it. (Seriously – I love cream of potato soup that much!)

    • cookazido says:

      I hope you enjoy the recipe as much as we did, Ruth! I love potato soup (actually potato anything), too. I think I could eat potatoes at every meal. Fortunately for your husband, this recipe makes quite a bit!:) Is it terribly cold where you are right now? I think if I lived where it was very cold, I would have to have soup for every meal in the winter!

  3. This soup looks so very comforting!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Dimple! It really is. For some reason, I associate cream with comfort. Plus, when it is cold, soup always feels good going down. I appreciate you stopping by. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

