Rich and Decadent York Peppermint Patty Brownies

York Peppermint Patty Brownies

I have mentioned before that our oldest son (age 25) is very hard to buy presents for.  So this last Christmas we asked him if there was anything special he would like for Christmas.  He thought for a long time, and finally said he would like to do a family game night while he was in town, and have me make him something special for dinner.  As a mother, you can imagine how happy I was, that he wanted to spend time as a family and wanted me to cook for him, as well as all five of us being together which doesn’t happen very often any more.  It took a while to figure out a time and date that we all had free, but we squeaked it in last night.  I made Chicken with Walnuts for dinner as he really likes Chinese food and stir fry.  And for dessert, I finally decided on these luscious, minty brownies.

As in most families, we all have different tastes and favorites.  But when thinking about what to fix for dessert, the one thing we all have in common is a love for chocolate and mint.  As soon as I saw a picture of these brownies, I knew this was what I wanted to make for our family game night.  I also didn’t have a lot of time to make something elaborate, and wanted all of us to be able to snack on them while playing a board game.  These brownies were perfect.  The mint cream and chocolate of the peppermint patties turn a plain brownie into a decadent dessert.  They are very rich and very satisfying.  If your family likes chocolate and mint together or enjoys peppermint patties, they would love these.

For our game night we played a card game that our kids introduced us to called Dominion.  My husband and I enjoyed it a lot.  There is a lot of strategy involved, but it didn’t take a long time to learn.  I was able to hold my own against some very smart family members so I was happy about that.  Not that I am competitive or anything.  I didn’t even have to hide the brownies and black mail them in order to let me win.  Although if I needed to, I’m sure these brownies would have done the trick.  I’ll have to remember that for the next time we have a family game night.  Do you have a favorite game that your family likes to play?  I’d love to hear about it if you do.  The next time you play it, consider making these brownies.  They will make you a winner with your family, one way or another!:)

York Peppermint Patty Brownies

  • 8 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 8 ounces unsalted butter
  • 5 eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. instant coffee or espresso (you won’t taste this, just makes it taste more chocolaty)
  • 3 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 2/3 c all-purpose flour
  • 16 regular size York Peppermint Patties (other brands may not work as well)
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Spray a 9×13-inch pan with cooking spray.  Line it with parchment paper, and spray the top with cooking spray as well.  Chop the chocolate and cut the butter into cubes, then warm them together in a medium bowl set over a pan of barely simmering water, stirring occasionally.  (Be sure you don’t get any water into bowl with chocolate).  Remove from heat as soon as both are melted and smooth.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whip the eggs, vanilla, salt, instant coffee, and sugar on high-speed for about ten minutes until foamy and stiff. (Make sure your eggs are at room temperature).
  4. By hand, stir in the chocolate mixture, then the flour.
  5. Smooth half of the batter into the pan.
  6. Place a layer of peppermint patties over the chocolate, breaking them into pieces to fill in any large gaps.
  7. Pour the rest of the batter over the patties and smooth the top.
  8. Bake the brownies for 30-35 minutes, rotating the brownies midway during baking.  When the brownies are done, they will have a firm crust on top but a toothpick inserted into the center should come out wet.  Do not over bake the brownies.
  9. Let them cool completely, then lift them out of the pan and slice into rectangles.  The brownies will keep at room temperature for up to three days.  They can be frozen, well-wrapped, for up to two months.

Recipe from  the Brown Eyed Baker

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Bars, Candy, Desserts, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Rich and Decadent York Peppermint Patty Brownies

  1. CakePants says:

    Wow, it sounds like you’ve raised a very thoughtful son who has his priorities in order! My family likes to play Apples to Apples together. Those brownies look delicious!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for your kind comments! We love to play Apples to Apples, too. We used to play a lot of board games with the kids when they were little. I’m not sure if that is why they still love to play games, but it sure was great being with them as adults, and just having fun together. I appreciate you stopping by!

  2. betsyduzanpaintings says:

    I can’t wait to try this!!!! Maybe for my co-workers for Valentines Day! Love, Betsy PS I fixed a recipe tonight from you from WAY back “Honey Curried Chicken”. I think that one belongs on your blog:)

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for your comment, Betsy! If you make these, make sure you have the latest version of the recipe. I just fixed a mistake I made in the directions. Let me know how you like it, if you do. I love that Honey Curried Chicken recipe, too. I still make it quite often. It is so simple, but flavorful. I’ll have to put it on here. Thanks for the suggestion. I hope you have a great day!

  3. jschmidt2013 says:

    Cool that you got some all-together time 🙂 Looks delicious! However, you accidentally left out the step about melting the chocolate.
    We like to play Apples to Apples, but we just got a new game that’s fun called Suspend. It’s one that my disabled hubby can play too!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you so much for pointing out that mistake, Jan! I really appreciate it. At one point I accidentally deleted part of the recipe, and evidently when I tried to fix it, I left that part out. I’m amazed that you noticed that, but very grateful! I’ll have to check out Suspend. I have never heard of that one. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. There are a few people in my life who do not like chocolate + mint, and this has always befuddled me. What’s not to love, for pete sake?

    These brownies look ABSOLUTELY fabulous. Thank you for posting another wonderful dessert. 🙂

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Ruth. I’m always happy to help out in the dessert category!:) I like mint as long as it has a lot of chocolate with it, which this one does. I appreciate you dropping by!

  5. Shari, how can you possibly have a 25 year old? I never would have guessed and thought a child in elementary school at the most. Funny how as we get older, we want the simpler things in life for birthdays, at least I do. I just ask Mom to cook since nothing beats her cooking. I’m so glad your son enjoyed his birthday and those brownies look decadent!

    • cookazido says:

      Danny, thank you for your kind comments. I read your post today about what a good cook your mom was. It is so nice she instilled in you a love of cooking, and your dad of photography. I come from a long line of great cooks, and I am very thankful to them for the influence they had on me in this area. I appreciate you stopping by!

  6. rozpaige says:

    I think that it’s so great that you have a family game night….I need to bring that up with my kids the next time they come home to visit. The brownies just look over-the-top moist the way that I love them. Great post!!!!

  7. What a lovely Christmas present – for you all!
    Those brownies look totally amazing… think he’ll be hoping for them next year, too!
    Emma 🙂

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Emma! It was a great Christmas present for me especially, and I think everyone enjoyed it. It was nice to know he likes to spend time as a family. I wouldn’t mind if it became a tradition, along with the brownies! I appreciate you taking the time to stop by.

      • …I think it sounds as though it’s likely to become a ‘Christmas tradition’ – from my experience, grown up children treasure those sort of ‘traditions’ as much as their parents!
        Looking forward to the next family get together – probably at Easter – that’s become quite a tradition too!
        Emma 🙂

Leave a Reply

