Meet Mr. and Mrs. Cupcake

Bride and Groom Cupcake

I had been working on cupcakes for a wedding reception this week, when I ran across an idea for a bride and groom cupcake.  I immediately fell in love with them so when I was done working on the different flavors of cupcakes for the reception and still had a little extra time left, I decided to see if I could make some of my own. It was not as easy as it looked on paper.  But after about 10 tries on 10 different cupcakes and another batch of buttercream frosting, I finally felt like I accomplished what I set out to do.

One of the tricks was to make the frosting very stiff by using less milk so the couple didn’t melt into a puddle while they were being adorned with their veil and top hat.  It is just impossible to have a nice wedding when the bride and groom are puddles.

Bride and Groom Cupcake

Another trick was to mash the veil into the back of the cupcake instead of trying to attach it at the top.

Groom and Bride Cupcake

Then immediately refrigerate the cupcakes until the frosting hardens before you try attaching the bride’s crown and groom’s hat.  That way the cupcakes can handle the added weight and the crown and hat won’t slide down the side of the cupcake.  Don’t ask me how I know that.

Bride Cupcake

And, be sure you don’t drop the chocolate hat and white chocolate crown on the floor as you walk to the table from the refrigerator.  Top hats and crowns do not survive a 6 foot drop onto a tile floor as it turns out.  Aren’t you so glad that I am here to give you all of these helpful tips that I’m sure you never would have figured out on your own?:)

Groom Cupcake

There are many variations of these cupcakes, as you can see if you look on Pinterest.  Some included bow ties and buttons for the groom and a bouquet of flowers for the bride.  I think they would be great for a bridal shower as well as a wedding or anniversary party, especially if you are serving cupcakes instead of a traditional cake.  I loved making these unique cupcakes. I hope these tips help you, if you ever decide to make them. It was a challenge, but not too difficult once I got over the hurdles.  I’m glad I stuck with it, and hope that Mr. and Mrs. Cupcake will enjoy a long and happy life together!

Bride and Groom Cupcake

Bride and Groom Cupcakes

  • 1 white cake mix plus ingredients to make it (the store-bought cake mixes seem to work better for these as the cake is a little firmer)
  • white and black cupcake papers
  • frosting (see recipe below)
  • 1 bag of white chocolate chips
  • 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • white pearl dragees
  • 1 bag of large marshmallows
  • 1 bag of lollipop sticks
  • 1 block of florist’s styrofoam
  • parchment paper
  • approximately 1/4 yard white tulle or lace for veil

For the Frosting:

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened
  • 1 box (16 oz.) powdered sugar (or 3 3/4 cups)
  • approximately 1/8 c milk
  1. Prepare and bake cake batter according to package directions for the cupcakes using both white and black papers.  Cool completely.
  2. While cupcakes are cooling, prepare white chocolate crown.  Pour white chocolate chips in a microwavable bowl.  Microwave 30 seconds. Stir.  Microwave 10 seconds and stir.  Repeat at 10 second intervals until melted.
  3. Line a pan with parchment paper.  Place melted white chocolate in a piping bag with a small round tip.  Pipe several 1-inch circles onto paper and immediately place pearl dragees onto ring of chocolate placing them right next to each other with no space in-between.
  4. Melt semi-sweet chocolate in the same way you did the white chocolate.  Put 1 marshmallow on the end of a lollipop stick without poking it through the end.  Dip in melted chocolate, and tap to get rid of excess chocolate.  Place stick with marshmallow on it in styrofoam to dry.  Repeat several times (so you will have extra in case they break).  Place Styrofoam in refrigerator so chocolate will harden.
  5. Next place leftover melted chocolate in a piping bag with a large round tip.  Pipe a 1 1/2 inch circle for the bottom of the hat.  Make several more just so you will have extras if needed.  Save extra chocolate for attaching the circle and marshmallow later.
  6. Put pan with parchment paper and chocolate on it in refrigerator until chocolate hardens, approximately 10 minutes.
  7. When marshmallow hat is hard, attach to chocolate circle with leftover melted chocolate.  Place back in refrigerator to set.
  8. Make frosting by placing softened butter in mixing bowl.  Add powdered sugar, and mix until most of the lumps are out.  Add milk and mix until smooth.  If frosting still seems too stiff, add a little more milk until frosting is pipable, but not too soft.
  9. Place frosting in piping bag with an extra-large star tip.  Pipe onto 1 black paper and 1 white paper cupcake in a swirl motion. Save rest of frosting for later.
  10. Cut approximately a 6×6-inch square of tulle.  Fold one end of tulle square so it is narrower than the other end.  Attach tulle veil to the back of the bride’s frosting head by pressing it gently into the frosting.  Place both cupcakes into the refrigerator for about an hour to firm up.
  11. When frosting is hardened, place white chocolate crown on bride’s head.
  12. Attach top hat to groom’s head at an angle with a dab of frosting.  Place cupcakes on a plate, and put in freezer until needed.

General idea inspired from Taste of Home

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Anniversary Party Recipes, Cupcakes, Wedding Reception Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Meet Mr. and Mrs. Cupcake

  1. Darlene says:

    Very cute, Sheri! This would be great for a wedding shower.

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you very much, Darlene! I agree with you that it would be great for a wedding shower. You could do all of the cupcakes that way or just the 2 of them for a table decoration. I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  2. So cute, Shari! I just love them! You’re very creative! XOXO

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Angie! When I first saw them on Taste of Home, I just loved them too. It is such a wonderful thing to have access to so many creative ideas through the internet. I’m glad I could pass it along. Thanks so much for your comment!

  3. Ginny says:

    Adorable Shari (and I’ll be delicious too!)

    • cookazido says:

      Hi Ginny, Thanks so much for your comment. Actually, they didn’t taste as good as my normal ones, as I had to use a store bought cake mix, and make the frosting very stiff. But they were more to look at than eat so figured that was okay. Sorry you weren’t able to make breakfast on Sunday. Hope you are doing well!

  4. These are too cute! What a wonderful idea for a wedding shower or reception – note to self.

    Thank you for adding helpful tips from your experiences. 🙂 I think I could have a separate blog based on all my “experiences”!

    • kcinaz says:

      Hi Shari. These are so fun and a great idea. Love what you are doing.

      • cookazido says:

        Thank you, Karen! Even though a little tricky, they were very fun to make. There is something so satisfying about being creative (or at least copying someone who is creative)!:) I appreciate your comment.

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks, Ruth! I know, I could write a book on my failed attempts with recipes! It helps you learn, though, even though it feels like such a waste of time and money. I’m glad I’m not the only one with these “experiences”. I appreciate you helping me feel better about myself!:)

  5. Absolutely adorable! You’ve done such a great job recreating it:) WOW!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you very much, Peri. Good thing I only had to get 1 of each to look right!:) There were a lot of failures before that happened. I appreciate you stopping by!

  6. These look just too cute! 😀

  7. dunjabounds says:

    Great idea, I have never seen these before. You must have spend hours trying to get it right, thank you for making it easy for us to do those!

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks, Dunja! I had never seen them before last week, either. It was one of those recipes that immediately captures your attention, especially for someone who loves cupcakes like me. If anyone ever tries to make them, I hope the tips will help. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by!

  8. rozpaige says:

    What a wonderful idea for a wedding reception! I’ve never seen these anywhere (Pinterest or other sites). I just love the veil idea! And the huge amount of frosting makes these cupcakes deliciously perfect Shari!!!!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Roz! I just fell in love with the idea when I saw it. I actually had to put a lot of frosting on them in order to hold up the decorations, but I am not one to shy away from too much frosting, anyway!:) I appreciate you stopping by!

  9. Liz says:

    You are truly talented. What more can I say? I love Mr and Mrs cupcake, the white chocolate crown, the hat, the cakes, everything. I hope Mr and Mrs cupcake live happily ever after. I love your blog. You have great recipes!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Liz! That means a lot to me. I feel like I’m not the talented one, though. The person who came up with this idea is the truly creative one. I’m always saying “Why didn’t I think of that?” I really appreciate your kind comments. I love your blog, too!

  10. Ngan R. says:

    These are so cute!

  11. So cute ♡I am sharing them on my Facebook page now! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate you sharing them on your Facebook page. That is very sweet of you (no pun intended)!:) I hope you have a great weekend!

  12. Pingback: Top 10 Lovely Cupcakes For Your Wedding

  13. sarithakumbakkara says:

    OMG!!! Sooo adorable! Brilliant idea Shari! Mr &Mrs.Cup cake look sexy and yummy together!

Leave a Reply

