Old Fashioned, Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Macaroni and Cheese

This is a recipe that I started making about 20 years ago.  The kids were little and money was tight.  I also was concerned about feeding them processed foods with preservatives and food dye in them.  So I started making as many meals as I could from scratch.  I was so happy to find this recipe as it was simple to prepare, and most of the ingredients are items you would already have in your kitchen.  Plus, we all love macaroni and cheese!

One of the reasons I like this dish is because it is so creamy.  When you first pour the sauce over the macaroni, it appears to be too much.  But it isn’t.  While it bakes the macaroni absorbs some of the sauce, and it comes out just the right consistency.  It isn’t too runny, and the macaroni is not too dry.  It had to be perfect, because actually all of us like boxed macaroni and cheese.  If I am going to go to all the trouble of making it from scratch, it had better be good.  And it is!

Macaroni and Cheese

I love all the recipes I see on other blogs for gourmet macaroni and cheese.  I’ve seen bacon macaroni and cheese, pulled pork macaroni and cheese, and even a macaroni and cheese bar with all kinds of ingredients to put on your cheesy pasta.  Those all sound delicious, and I may try them sometime, but it is also nice to have a basic macaroni and cheese recipe for those occasions when you just want something that is old-fashioned, creamy and comforting (and easy).  I think I’ll go make some right now, and eat it while I watch Andy Griffith reruns.  Sounds like a great pairing if you ask me.

Macaroni and Cheese

Old Fashioned Macaroni and Cheese

  • 2 c macaroni, cooked according to package directions and drained (I used elbow)
  • 2 1/2 c milk
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 c butter
  • 1/4 c grated onion
  • 1/2 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. white pepper
  • 1 1/2 c grated cheddar cheese, plus more for the top
  • regular or smoked paprika for garnish (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place cooked, drained macaroni in a 2 quart casserole dish.  Set aside.
  3. In medium saucepan, blend milk into cornstarch.  Add 1/4 c butter, onion, dry mustard, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Reduce heat to low.
  4. Stir in 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese.  Stir until cheese melts.
  5. Spoon sauce over macaroni and stir to coat evenly.
  6. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Take off foil, sprinkle desired amount of grated cheddar cheese over top, and place in oven until cheese is melted, and macaroni is bubbly. Sprinkle with paprika or smoked paprika for garnish.   Makes 6 servings.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Casseroles, Lunch, Main Dish, Pasta, Recipes, Side Dishes, Weeknight Meals, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Old Fashioned, Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

  1. THIS IS SO WEIRD! At this very moment, I have homebaked mac and cheese in the oven!!

    It is the ultimate comfort food…aside from chocolate cake, if you ask me.

    And, paired with Andy Griffith, sounds like a perfect way to spend an evening.

    • cookazido says:

      That is really weird, Ruth! How funny! Speaking of chocolate cake, have you seen the recipe for chocolate cake on Cooking Classy‘s blog that she posted a few days ago? It looks perfect. I want to try it sometime. I love her blog. She has great recipes and photos on there. I hope you enjoy your mac and cheese. Sounds perfect for a cold winter’s day!

  2. CakePants says:

    Looks delicious! I didn’t realize that the sauce bakes down that much – one of the recipes I use always seems to have way too much, so I reserve some for later use. I’ll have to try actually including the full amount! You’re so right, that there’s something incredibly comforting about a bowl of basic macaroni and cheese…even as an adult!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you! I know what you mean about the sauce looking like it is way too much. I’m always tempted to not use all of it, but am always glad I did in the end. It gives you that creaminess you want in mac and cheese. Thanks so much for stopping by and your comment!

  3. This is wonderful! I’ve never made mac n cheese by scratch because we like the box stuff too! I would much rather have it from scratch though. I’m going to make it tonight because just last night my son asked for mac n cheese and I turned him down. 😦 Wish we could see some Andy Griffith reruns too!

  4. I adore traditional mac and cheese! And this
    is awesome x

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Dimple! There is just something about cheese and cream, isn’t there?:) It’s so simple, but comforting. I appreciate you dropping by!

  5. tworedbowls says:

    I am so craving a big bowl of this right now, Shari! I love the extra touches from the Worcestershire, paprika, and mustard — mmmmm. It looks SO good.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Cynthia! I know what you mean, I crave anything with cream or cheese in it. It’s so comforting. I think the Worcestershire, paprika, and mustard really add a lot of flavor to this recipe. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

