Wedge Salad with Bacon, Avocado, and Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing

Blue Cheese Dressing

I don’t know why I love blue cheese dressing, but I do. It seems odd to like a cheese that is covered in mold.  I remember growing up our family all loved Bob’s Big Boy Blue Cheese Salad Dressing.  This recipe reminds me of that.  It is very creamy and thick.  You can taste the blue cheese, but it is more of a background flavor and doesn’t overpower the salad.  Also, some blue cheese dressings can be tangy  and this one isn’t at all.   Best of all, it is so simple and quick to do.

Wedge salad is one of my favorite salads to make although I don’t do it very often.  The majority of the time, we try to eat salads that are made with dark green lettuce for added nutrients and a lower calorie vinaigrette, but every once in a while, I splurge and use iceberg lettuce with a creamy dressing because it goes so well together.  You can customize the salad with your favorite ingredients, but for me bacon, avocado, tomato, and green onions are perfect.  It is like having a BLT without the bread.  If you still want the bread, though, croutons would be great on this!

Blue Cheese Dressing

It’s funny what sticks from your childhood and what doesn’t.  I remember having to eat liver and onions when I was very small, and that is not a pleasant memory. Let’s just say liver and onions is not something I want to find a recipe for now. I also should absolutely love ketchup if I inherited the exact same genes from  one member of my family.  That is not the case, however.  But at some point, I guess I just wanted to feel like part of the family and like blue cheese dressing.  Or maybe it was the excitement of eating at Bob’s Big Boy restaurant. (We were  pretty adventurous)!:) Either way, I’m glad I embraced it and am happy I found this recipe so I can make my own.  If you are a fan of blue cheese, please try it.  I know you’ll love it!

Blue Cheese Dressing

Blue Cheese Salad Dressing

For the Dressing:

  • 1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 c mayonnaise
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 6 ounces blue cheese, crumbled (about 1 1/2 cups)

For the Salad:

  • 2 heads iceberg lettuce
  • 8 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 2 large tomatoes, finely diced
  • 2 avocados, finely diced
  • 4 green onions, sliced
  1. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the lemon juice, mayonnaise, buttermilk, sour cream, garlic powder, and onion powder.  Whisk the mixture together until smooth.
  2. Add the blue cheese and mix just until blended.
  3. Chill in an airtight container in the refrigerator at least 2 hours before serving.
  4. For wedge salad, core and quarter each head of lettuce.
  5. Serve a generous dollop of dressing over each lettuce wedge and top with the bacon, tomato, avocado, and green onions.
  6. Refrigerate any leftovers.  Serves 8

Recipe slightly adapted from Food Network Magazine, June 2013, page 142

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wedge Salad with Bacon, Avocado, and Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing

  1. This looks like a mouth-watering salad – and with bacon, too?!! Fabulous.

    We had a Big Boy, too, in the city near where we lived! I was always fascinated by the Big Boy statue outside the restaurant. (What was with that giant curl in his hair?)

    • cookazido says:

      Thanks, Ruth! Bacon makes everything good, doesn’t it? I was fascinated by the statue, too, when I was young. There is only 1 restaurant that I know of now, and that is in California. There are probably more, but I don’t know for sure. It doesn’t have the statue any more, though. Yeah, what was up with his hair??:) I hope you are enjoying your weekend!

  2. Teresa says:

    Looks wonderful. I’d like a bite!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Teresa. I wish I could give you some! I would like to have some of the cobblers you’ve been posting. So many yummy flavors! I appreciate you dropping by. Have a great day!

  3. Yum, what a great recipe! Simple yet to scrumptious! 😉 I saw a cooking show the other day on Food Network where they made a wedge salad and I really love it!! And now seeing your lovely creation – I must give it a try! 😉

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Sylvia! Yes, it is so simple to make, but makes a fun presentation. I especially like to make it when we grill steak. It just seems to pair well with it. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment. I hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

  4. dunjabounds says:

    I have to remember to come back to this recipe in summer. I am not a big salad eater mainly because I don’t know a lot of good recipes, but I love wedge salad in the restaurants and I think this would be a good one to make for a crowd in summer when we have a BBQ and I want something fresh, yummy and nice looking to go with it! I have no idea when I started to like Blue Cheese, I think when I moved to Seattle and start sampling cheese plates with fine paired wine…it takes a while to develop a palate for stinky cheese ;-).

    • Shari says:

      I think wedge salad would be perfect for a bar-b-q, Dunja! Lately, I have started making my own salad dressings, and it makes all the difference in the world in a salad. I don’t even buy store bought dressing any more. It is so easy to make your own, too. I’m glad to know a fellow stinky cheese lover. There are not that many of us out there!:)

  5. Liz says:

    This looks like a mouthwatering salad. I love the ay you make the blue cheese dressing. I have some in my fridge right now. so I am definitely going to try this, sometime this week, when I’m having an early dinner. Thanks for sharing!

    • Shari says:

      You’re welcome, Liz! It sounds like we both love salad. I don’t make this dressing as often, just because my husband doesn’t like blue cheese, but I could eat it every night. I hope you enjoy it if you try it!

Leave a Reply

