Bunny Butt Cookies

Bunny Butt Cookies

I’m a “little behind” in my Easter preparations this year!:) Actually, the truth is, I am making little bunny behinds for Easter.   I usually have Easter at my house and love it because we get to see part of the family that we don’t get to see too often.  Since we always do the same traditional meal of ham and potato salad, I like to do something a little bit different  with the desserts to make the celebration special.  And what says Easter more than bunny butts!:)  Just kidding.  I just could not resist making these.  They make me laugh every time I look at them.

Bunny Butt Cookies

These are very simple to make.  You could even use store-bought cookie dough and slice it into rounds for the bunny body.  That is what the original recipe calls for.  But I have a great recipe for sugar cookie dough, so I just used that recipe and a circle cookie cutter.  Also the original recipe calls for store-bought frosting.  I used my buttercream recipe, but do whatever you have time for and whichever frosting you prefer.  The fun part is decorating them.  Just be sure not to overbake the cookies, and make them on the thicker side so they can hold up the bunny feet.

What are you doing for Easter this year?  We usually go to church, come home and have family dinner, then do an Easter egg hunt with all the kids.  After that, we have dessert, and sometimes the kids go to the park down the street.  If you need a special dessert for Easter, consider making these cookies.  If nothing else, they will hopefully make your guests laugh, not a bad thing for a family get together!

Bunny Butt Cookies

Bunny Butt Sugar Cookies

  • Servings: 24
  • Difficulty: moderate due to time and steps involved
  • Print

  • Sugar Cookie Dough Recipe (found here)
  • 1 batch Buttercream Frosting (found here)
  • red food coloring
  •  miniature marshmallows
  • white flower candy sprinkles (optional)
  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Make 1 batch of sugar cookie dough.
  3. Roll out dough into a layer 1/4 inch thick.  Cut out circles using a 4 inch round cookie cutter.  Repeat until dough is used up.
  4. Depending on how many circles you end up with, cut enough circles into 4 equal wedges so that you have 2 wedges for each circle in addition to the circles for the bunny bodies.  Shape each wedge into ovals for bunny feet.  I just used a knife.  Place cookie dough slices and bunny feet on a greased cookie sheet.
  5. Bake 7 to 8 minutes.  Cool.
  6. While cookies are cooling, make Buttercream Frosting recipe.
  7. Divide frosting in half.  Leave half of it white.  For the other half, add 4 drops red food coloring. Stir to mix.
  8. To make bunny butt, frost 1 whole cookie slice and 2 bunny feet with frosting, using opposite colors, for the feet and body, if desired.  On the feet, either use a piping bag with a round tip or a knife, and frost little round circles of frosting for the pads of the feet, 3 smaller circles at the wider end of the foot, and a larger circle for the narrower end of the foot.  Attach feet to the body.  Place a marshmallow at the center of the body, and glue a small white flower sprinkle to the marshmallow with frosting.
  9. Repeat with remaining cookie slices and bunny feet.
  10. If desired, place cookies on Easter grass on a plate for presentation.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally found at Pillsbury

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Cookies, Desserts, Easter, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Bunny Butt Cookies

  1. kcinaz says:

    I love these little bunny butts. Too cute.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Karen! I loved them too. As soon as I saw a picture of them, I knew I wanted to make them. They took a little longer to frost, but it was worth it. I hope you had a nice Easter!

  2. Ngan R. says:

    Hi Shari, these cookies are adorable! I love how the little cotton tails and padded feet stick out. Bunny butts — I will have to make these someday. Thank you for sharing and have a very Happy Easter!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Ngan! I hope you get a chance to make them sometime. They were definitely a conversation piece at our Easter dinner. I hope you had a great Easter also!

  3. Ayesha says:

    look so cutee!! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ayesha! Aren’t they adorable? I wish I’d thought of the idea, but glad I could pass it along to you. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by!

  4. Nancy says:

    Absolutely precious, Shari!

  5. Aw, so lovely!!! What creative little cookies – I am in love and very inspired! 😉 Have a great Easter weekend!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Sylvia! I think everyone enjoyed them. I wish I could say I thought of it. Pillsbury comes up with some great ideas. I hope you had a good Easter, too!

  6. Liz says:

    The bunny butts look tasty and innovative. What a great dessert to serve. Thanks for sharing a fresh idea!

    • Shari says:

      You’re welcome, Liz! I was happy to pass it along. They are a little time-consuming to frost, but you don’t have to make as many since they are such large cookies. I hope you had a great Easter. Thanks for your comment!

  7. cheri says:

    These are so adorable, so cute! we are in Phoenix, so nice to find blogs that I enjoy where I live. Nice blog.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! I was just looking at your blog. You have so many great recipes. I am going to have to go back and see what all you have on there. I feel the same way about finding other Arizona blogs. I am very glad to get connected with you and can’t wait to see your future posts. I really appreciate you stopping by so we could meet!

  8. These are adorable! And now they have me thinking that a person could do all kinds of animal behinds. They’d be so much fun for a kids’ party!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! That is such a great idea. It was kind of funny on Easter. These cookies are like that whole visual challenge where you try to see if you find a face or a vase in the picture. Do you know what I’m talking about? Anyway, some people saw upside down bunnies and some saw aliens. Once they knew what it was supposed to be they could see it was the back of a bunny. It was a good conversation starter! I can imagine all the things people would be seeing if you did other kinds of animals. It might be really funny. My mind is racing right now thinking about what all I could use for tails!:)

  9. dpums says:

    Adorable! I saw a friend of mine try to make these. Epic fail. lol But these came out perfect! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Danielle! I know, when I first started out I was wondering if they were going to turn out. I kind of adjusted as I went along. Later I saw a blog that used large marshmallows for the tail, and I thought that looked even better. But I saw it too late to go to the store and get more marshmallows. Still, my husband and daughter didn’t know what they were at first. It helped to put them in the Easter grass I think. I appreciate your nice comment!

Leave a Reply

