Butterfly Wonderland

Butterfly Wonderland

My friend came to visit recently, and I was checking out things we could do while she was here in Arizona.  I found out about a place across town called Butterfly Wonderland so we decided to check it out.  I am so glad we did because it was absolutely amazing!

When you first walk in you get to view several different kinds of butterfly cocoons that actually have live caterpillars in them.

Butterfly Wonderland

I didn’t know that the cocoons look different depending on what kind of butterfly is in them.  Some of them were even emerging from their cocoons as we watched.

Butterfly Wonderland

Below is the cocoon of a gigantic moth that is about to enter into the world.

Butterfly Wonderland

And this is what he looks like when he does.

Butterfly Wonderland

The monitor at the door pointed out the fact that the wing tips on this moth resemble snake heads.  How appropriate for Arizona!  I hope I never meet this guy in a dark alley!  Just what you want is a gigantic snake head moth attacking you at night. I’m not afraid of moths, but I could do without this one! It was amazing to see, though, behind glass windows.   After you pass by the cocoons, the doorman lets you in where the butterflies are.

Butterfly Wonderland

It was like a tropical paradise with many plants and flowers everywhere and a small pond in the middle.  It was extremely humid as that is the best environment for the butterflies.  Classical music plays softly in the background.  And, the best part of all, butterflies are flitting around everywhere.   It is a huge place with so many different colors of butterflies that I never knew existed. I don’t know what they are called so I will describe a couple to you.  There was a ladybug butterfly that was very shy and kept hiding its head behind the leaves,

Butterfly Wonderland

a butterfly with kickstands,

Butterfly Wonderland

the ninja,

Butterfly Wonderland

and the cow with a jean jacket butterfly.

Butterfly Wonderland

But my very favorites were the blue butterflies.  They were flitting around the whole time, and were hard to get a picture of, but my friend finally got one.

Butterfly Wonderland

There were so many more varieties, but I just wanted to give you a little sneak peek of what you might get to see if you go.  There is also a 3D movie that tells about the miraculous flight of the Monarch.  It was worth watching.  It is such an incredible story and only lasts about 20 minutes.

The cost of Butterfly wonderland is $18.95 plus tax for adults, and $9.95 for children 3-11.  Kids 2 and under are free.  Check the website for other discounts.  We were there about 3 hours so I felt like we got our money’s worth.  If you live in Arizona or are planning a visit, I highly recommend a stop at Butterfly Wonderland.  It truly was like a fairyland in the middle of the desert.

Butterfly Wonderland

Butterfly Wonderland

9500 E. Via de Ventura

Scottsdale, AZ 85256

480-800-3000

Open 7 Days a Week

9:00 A.M. – 5:00 P.M.

Special thanks to my friend, Kay Roller, for letting me use some of her pictures!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Things to Do in Arizona, Wondering in the Desert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Butterfly Wonderland

  1. kcinaz says:

    Thanks for sharing Shari. I’ve wondered if it is worth the visit and apparently it is. Great pictures. 😀

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Karen! I thought it was worth it. It is much bigger than the butterfly exhibit at the Botanical Gardens plus more kinds of butterflies. It is a photographer’s dream. I hope you enjoy it if you go.

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, I was there with my sister and mom about a month ago and we loved it, looks like a few of the butterflys were posing for you!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Cheri, I’m glad to get a 2nd opinion on whether it is worth it to go. I love flowers, plants, and butterflies so am a little prejudiced!:) Some of them posed, but most of them kept moving so it was a challenge to get their pictures. Part of the fun, though! Thanks for your comment.

  3. rozpaige says:

    Shari, The Butterfly place must be something new since I lived in Scottsdale in the 80’s! I would have loved to go there! The blue butterfly is my favorite! How amazing to see all of the phases of the cocoon and birth process!

    I don’t know if you received my reply back to you about your question about a panini maker, so I’ll just copy and paste it here:

    Hey Shari, As Scarlett O’Hara said “I’m just pea-green with envy” that you picked your first tomato and zucchini yesterday . . . yay for Arizona!!! Weird that I just dreamt about Tucson and Scottsdale last night! Seriously! To answer your question, Shari, if you make a lot of grilled ‘anything’, I’d recommend getting a panini maker. Ours is the second to last model of Cuisinart in which the griddle opens up flat and you can grill anything on it, The griddle removes as well and then you have a flat surface if you want to make pancakes. A panini maker is something that I always wanted so my kids gave it to me for Christmas one year and now each of them have one too. If you get one, let me know what you think!

    PS: My turn to ask a question now: What kind of camera and lens are you using to get such great and clear close up shots such as these of the butterflies?

    • Shari says:

      Hi Roz! Yes, Butterfly Wonderland opened fairly recently here. I would say in the last year, but it might have been there awhile before I knew about it. There were so many different kinds of blue butterflies there! All different designs. The interesting thing about that blue one in the post is when its wings are closed, it is completely brown on the other side. You would never know it was a blue one.
      To answer your question about my camera, it is a Canon Rebel XS. I just love it. I took a photo class recently that really helped me understand my camera much better. I still have so much to learn, though, about my camera and photography in general. The only thing I wish was different on my camera is that it had a better zoom. Your photos are always so beautiful. That is one of the things that drew me to your blog. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

