Pistachio Feta Couscous Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

Spring Couscous Salad

I saw a funny post on Instagram the other day.  It fits me exactly.  I always knew the fish, Dory, in Finding Nemo was modeled after me (she has no short-term memory).  I thought it was so cute, I just had to share it with you.

Isn’t that great?  Do you ever feel that way?  I want to be healthy, but I get sidetracked by all the delicious food out there.  Well I have a recipe for you today that you don’t have to feel guilty about eating, and you will love it!

I was first attracted to this recipe because of the bright green colors.  It looked so fresh-tasting and bright.  Then I realized it contained feta and pistachios, and I knew I was going to have to make it.  I am so glad I did – it was light, flavorful, and has a wonderful texture because of the couscous, nuts, and a variety of vegetables.

Couscous Salad

Couscous is actually made from granular duram wheat.  If you have never used Israeli Couscous, you have to try it.  It looks like little pearls.  In fact, sometimes it is called Pearl Couscous. I have found it at Sprouts and Trader Joe’s next to the regular Couscous near the rice and pasta.

Couscous Salad

This salad has a tasty, light, lemony dressing, more like a vinaigrette.  And it is such a customizable dish as well.  My husband doesn’t like feta or lemon zest so I divided it in half and left those items out of his.  I love feta and lemon so I actually added even more to mine than the recipe calls for.

Couscous Salad

I think this salad would be perfect as a side dish for a summer bar-b-q or Memorial Day coming up.  I paired it with grilled teriyaki chicken (recipe coming soon), and they were great together.  It makes for a healthy meal yet you feel like you’re eating gourmet with all the bright colors and citrus flavor.  It is such a good recipe, it’s a pleasure to eat healthy for a change….Oh look! Pizza!

Pistachio Feta Couscous Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

  • 3 c water
  • 1 1/2 c dry Israeli Couscous
  • generous pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 c sliced snap peas
  • 1/2 English cucumber, cut into chunks
  • 1/3 c chopped fresh parsley, plus more for garnish
  • 1/2 c sliced green onions, plus more for garnish
  • 2 tsp. lemon zest
  • 1/2 c crumbled feta cheese, plus more for garnish
  • 1/2 c roasted and salted pistachios, plus more for garnish
  • salt to taste
  • coarsely ground black pepper to taste
  • 6 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
  • 4 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice, divided
  1. In a medium saucepan, bring three cups of water to a boil.
  2. Add a generous pinch of salt, followed by Israeli couscous.  Stir and reduce heat to a simmer.  Simmer until couscous is just tender, about 10 to 13 minutes.
  3. Drain into a fine mesh strainer and rinse with cold water.  Set aside.
  4. Trim ends off snap peas and slice each one in half or thirds, diagonally.
  5. Slice green onions, and chop cucumber into chunks without peeling.
  6. Juice your lemons, straining out seeds until you have 4 tablespoons.
  7. Toss couscous with half of the olive oil and half of the lemon juice.
  8. Add in the vegetables and parsley and toss.
  9. Next, gently fold in the feta and nuts.
  10. Salt and pepper to taste.
  11. Refrigerate until ready to serve.
  12. Just before serving toss salad with the rest of the lemon juice and olive oil.
  13. Pour into a large bowl or plate.
  14. Sprinkle salad with additional feta, green onions, parsley, and pistachios to garnish.  Serve immediately.
  15. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe slightly adapted from Joy the Baker

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Memorial Day Recipes, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pistachio Feta Couscous Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

  1. CakePants says:

    Ooh, this sounds awesome! The feta and lemon flavors were already reminding me of Greece, and then the addition of pistachios jogged my memory even more! I remember visiting Aegina (an island near Athens), which was just bursting with pistachios – pistachios wherever you looked – can’t wait to try this and have a culinary trip down memory lane!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! You know, I hadn’t really thought about the fact that these are flavors you would find in a dish from Greece, but you are right. I’m so glad this recipe can bring back good memories for you. I hope you enjoy it. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. alifemoment says:

    This is such an interesting salad! I will try it! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Alice! It is kind of a different salad isn’t it. I loved the different textures in it, and the saltiness of the feta, as well as the bright, lemony taste. I hope you do get a chance to try it. Have a wonderful weekend, and thanks for stopping by!

      • alifemoment says:

        You are welcome, I really liked your salad recipe I found it very intetesting! 🙂
        Hope you have an awesome weekend!
        Best wishes,
        Alice

  3. Tracy says:

    I literally said aloud “yum!” when I read this post title! Love all the flavor combinations!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Tracy. Whenever someone says “yum” when they see a post, I consider that a huge compliment!:) I loved the combination of flavors, too. They went so well together. I appreciate you stopping by. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. cheri says:

    What a gorgeous salad Shari, I can see this being a new summer favorite.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! I think I will be making this often. I hope you have a nice summer. Are you in Oregon now? Thanks so much for your comment! Have a great weekend!

  5. Lori says:

    Wow! Looks so healthy and tasty at the same time! Yum!

  6. I have never cooked with couscous, but maybe this is the salad that gets me hooked. My husband would adore this.

    The Dory meme made me laugh out loud. So true!

    • Shari says:

      It made me laugh so much, too! I feel that way nearly every day. I hope you get a chance to try couscous sometime, Ruth. I like regular couscous, but I especially love the texture of the Israeli couscous. It is similar to pasta in taste and you make it just like pasta so is quick and easy. I have made it before, but had never added anything to it to give it flavor. I like it just plain or fixed this way. Thanks so much for your comment. I hope you are enjoying your weekend!

  7. Liz says:

    I’ve always wanted to make a couscous salad. This one is fully loaded with healthy ingredients. i am certainly bookmarking for my couscous experience. thanks so much for sharing!

    • Shari says:

      I hope you get to try it, Liz. I just love the textures and flavors of this salad. We have eaten it at least 3 times this week, and it tasted great every time. Thanks for your comment!

  8. Janet Tipton says:

    Hi Shari,

    I have made this salad twice and it was a big hit. I made it today for a luncheon at Curves gym and everyone wanted the recipe. It is not only very tasty but healthy too! Thanks for the recipe.

    • Shari says:

      Janet, What a fun surprise to see you here! It makes me so happy that you tried a recipe and it worked out well for you. I went to Curves for about 2 years here in Peoria and really liked it. It’s a great way to exercise. I hope you are doing well. Thanks so much for letting me know you liked the recipe!

Leave a Reply

