Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Bread or Baseball?

Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Bread

We have been having so much fun lately picking vegetables from our garden.  There are certain recipes I only make during this time.  I love cooking seasonally.  It makes you appreciate what you are eating, and we look forward to this time all year. A lot of the dishes I make contain ripe tomatoes just harvested that morning or fresh, almost sweet red potatoes roasted with garlic and rosemary that have also just recently been picked.  One of the other vegetables I have been using a lot lately is zucchini in every form – from appetizers to main dishes and everything in between.  But one of our favorite ways to eat it is in Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Bread.

I have been making loaves and loaves of this lately.  What I like about it is that it is full of cinnamon and nuts and is very moist. You don’t taste the zucchini.  It just helps keep it moist, kind of like carrot cake.  It can be easily frozen and brought out when you have company or need a quick breakfast.  It is also a very simple recipe where you pretty much just throw everything together in a bowl, mix it up, and throw it in the oven.

For someone who often times gets busy, waits too long in between picking vegetables from the garden, and whose zucchini is the size of a small baseball bat, zucchini bread is a great remedy! Not that I would ever do that.  Actually we grow multi-purpose zucchini.  You can either play baseball with it or eat it, or if you prefer, play baseball with the zucchini, and then make bread with the pieces afterwards.  Either way works!:) One of our zucchinis got so big while we were out-of-town, I put it on a scale to see how much it weighed.  It rang in at a healthy 4 1/2 pounds!  So you can see why I’ve been making a lot of zucchini bread lately.  It’s a good thing I found a great recipe.  But garden or no garden, this bread is delicious and totally worth buying zucchini at the store if you have to.  Not quite as much fun as playing veggie baseball, but delicious, none the less!

Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Bread

  • Time: 1hr15mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 c oil
  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. cinnamon (this is not a typo – it really is 2 Tablespoons)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 c grated zucchini
  • 1 c chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  3. Grate zucchini with a cheese grater, and set aside.
  4. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs, sugar, oil, and vanilla until just blended.
  5. In a separate medium size bowl, whisk flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  6. Pour dry ingredients, zucchini, and nuts into sugar/egg/oil mixture and mix on low-speed until just blended.  Don’t over-mix.
  7. Pour into loaf pan filling 3/4 of the way full.
  8. Bake for approximately 50 minutes, depending on the size of your loaf pan.  Don’t over-bake.  In fact, take it out when a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out a tiny bit moist, just about 2 minutes from being completely cooked through.  Otherwise, the bread will be too dry.
  9. I usually have a little batter left and fill a few cupcake papers in a cupcake pan with the leftover batter for zucchini muffins.  Those I fill 3/4 full, and bake for approximately 18 minutes.
  10. Let cool and serve.
  11. Freeze or refrigerate any leftovers.

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Breakfast, Food Gifts, Recipes, Summer Recipes, Zucchini Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Bread or Baseball?

  1. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, your zucchini bread looks wonderful, love all the walnuts you have in there. When I get back to town would love to get some tips on growing tomatoes and zucchini from you, I certainly have not done well. Great post!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Cheri, I would love to pass along what we have learned so far. It certainly is tricky to grow things in Arizona. It seems like every year we learn something new to incorporate the next year. The soil here has to be amended with phosphorous and nitrogen, called bone meal and blood meal at the nurseries. The bag tells you how much to add depending on the size of your garden. Also, having a strict watering schedule is crucial. Weirdly, you can’t just water it in a haphazard way. I would be happy to share in more detail when you are ready. Do you have a garden in Oregon?

  2. dunjabounds says:

    Shari, this bread looks sooo good! I won’t have zucchinis until July or August and then I will for sure turn some into chocolate zucchini bread. Not that I couldn’t buy any in the store but its so much more fun to use your own grown veggies. I have a ton of strawberries right now, so that’s what I am currently cooking/baking with. You are on a roll these days, posting so many amazing dishes I can’t keep up with making them!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments, Dunja! I agree, it is so much more fun to use your own veggies. I am jealous of your strawberries. I know they grow here, but we haven’t been too successful with them yet. Chocolate zucchini bread sounds wonderful! I really appreciate you stopping by!

  3. apsara says:

    The bread looks really awesome, Shari. I have a couple of zucchini plants growing in my garden, no flowers yet, I can’t wait to have enough to try out your recipe!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Apsara! That is so great you have zucchini to look forward to. Even with just a couple plants we ended up with a lot of zucchini. I hope you enjoy the bread if you try it!

  4. CakePants says:

    Oh, this looks absolutely wonderful!! I have the opposite situation (a dearth of zucchini), but will be acquiring some ASAP to make this. YUM. And zucchini baseball sounds fun (though messy!), haha

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I haven’t actually tried zucchini baseball yet, but maybe we should!:)Sorry you don’t have any zucchini. I know the zucchini is ready in most places much later in the summer. It is too hot here now, and all the plants are starting to look kind of pathetic, but it was fun while it lasted. I appreciate you stopping by!

  5. Jess says:

    This bread looks divine Shari, I’d love a huge piece warm with butter and coffee in the morning. Great job 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Jess. Butter and coffee sound perfect to go with the bread! I wish we could all just sit down and share some together. I appreciate your nice comments!

  6. Post a picture of the zucchini soon!

    • Shari says:

      That’s a good idea, Jessica! I should have done that in my post. I showed them on Instagram, but it was hard to tell how big they really were. Next time. Thanks for your comment!

  7. Whenever we visit my parents, I always bring a loaf of some sort. This sounds like one to bring the next time I visit. After all, is there such a thing as too much cinnamon? I think not.

    • Shari says:

      I hope you enjoy it if you try it, Ruth. I see you saw how much cinnamon was in the recipe. Pretty amazing, huh? The surprising thing is that it doesn’t taste too cinnamony, so I think you are right – there is no such thing as too much cinnamon!:) What other kinds of loaves do you bake?

      • I make a mean Blueberry Cornbread Loaf. Mmmm! Also, sometimes you have to have a good lemon loaf on hand, wouldn’t you agree?

      • Shari says:

        Yum, both of those sound so good! I am feeling more and more sad that you don’t have a cooking blog. Can you post recipes on your movie blog? Please?:)

  8. rozpaige says:

    I knew there are many reasons why I like you so much Shari! Growing your own vegetables and eating seasonally are just two reasons alone! I couldn’t agree with you more! We’re picking lots of zucchini too these days and LOVE to make zucchini bread. I’m going to try your recipe FOR SURE! Thank you!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      You are so welcome, Roz! Our zucchini plants have all dried up with the heat, now, but I am thinking about buying more just to make more zucchini bread. I always feel a little sad when the growing season is over. I’m glad you are getting to enjoy your garden now. I hope you like the zucchini bread recipe. I love the cinnamon in it. I tend to under-cook it so it is a little soft in the middle. It makes it so moist that way. Thank you very much for your sweet comments!

Leave a Reply

