Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

I’ve made these 3 times in the last 2 weeks.  I’ve eaten them 3 times in the last 2 weeks.  I am on a diet.  I found out something very important.  Brownies are not good for a diet.  Just thought I’d share that piece of information in case you were wondering.  If you are on a diet, by all means, do not make these brownies.  They are TOO hard to resist.  They are moist, melty, gooey, chocolaty, and overall wonderful.  One of my favorite brownie recipes ever!

It is weird that I like these brownies.  I really don’t understand it.  You know how everyone likes smores everything right now?  I didn’t jump on that bandwagon because I don’t care for marshmallows.  And these have a layer of marshmallows underneath the chocolate fudge frosting.  But I love them!  Don’t ask me to explain myself.  I don’t understand me either.  All I can think of is that I probably would like anything with chocolate fudge frosting on top of it.  It is the same with my daughter.  She doesn’t like marshmallows either and she likes these brownies.  I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, or the marshmallow doesn’t fall far from the bag or something like that.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

All of this is to say, if you do like marshmallows, and you do like fudge frosting, think how much you will like these brownies!  And if you are like my daughter and me, you will still like these brownies.  The marshmallows get sprinkled over the brownies while they are still warm, and the frosting gets poured over the marshmallows while the frosting is warm, and what you end up with is a wonderful creamy substance that just melts in your mouth, that ruins your diet, and makes you very happy.  Rocky Road Fudge Brownies would be great to take to a 4th of July celebration, camping, or on vacation this summer.  And we all know that calories don’t count when you’re on vacation.  Perfect time to make these!

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

  • Servings: 15-20
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 (9×13 size) brownie mix (I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge) or your favorite brownie recipe
  • ingredients to make brownie mix (eggs, oil, water)
  • 3 c chopped pecans (optional)
  • 3 c miniature marshmallows
  • 2 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1/2 c butter (1 stick)
  • 1 box (16 oz.) powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare brownie mix according to package directions.  Stir in pecans if using.
  3. Spoon batter into a greased 13x9x2-inch baking pan.
  4. Bake for 18 to 21 minutes, depending on the mix you use.  Make sure to check it after 18 minutes with a toothpick, and don’t over-bake.
  5. Remove from oven, and sprinkle miniature marshmallows over hot brownies.  Set aside.
  6. While brownies are cooling, start making frosting by combining chocolate, milk, and butter in a heavy saucepan. Cook over low heat until chocolate and butter melt, stirring often.  Remove from heat.
  7. Pour powdered sugar into a mixing bowl.  Add vanilla and melted chocolate mixture.  Beat at low-speed until smooth.
  8. Spread over brownies, being careful not to dislodge marshmallows.
  9. Cool in pan on a wire rack.
  10. When cool, cover, and put in refrigerator until ready to serve.
  11. Cut brownies in squares.  Store any leftovers covered in the refrigerator.

Recipe from Cookazido

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Bars, Cabin Recipes, Company, Desserts, Party Recipes, Recipes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

  1. Marlene Christner says:

    These look fabulous Shari! I LOVE brownies and I LOVE marshmallows so I might have to make them and just eat them all by myself! 🙂 Don will eat brownies but he doesn’t LOVE them like I do!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Marlene! It always makes my day when I see your comments. If you like brownies and marshmallows I think you will love these. They just might convert Don, too!:) I hope you enjoy them if you get a chance to try the recipe.

  2. Lori says:

    Shari- you had me laughing really hard! These look delicious!

  3. kcinaz says:

    Throw the diet out the door! These look wonderful!

    • Shari says:

      Your comment made me laugh! I think I threw my diet out the door when I started putting these in my mouth, but hope to get back on track today – until the next batch!:) Thanks for stopping by, Karen. Hope you have a great day!

  4. Oh my goodness! those bars look divine!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Margherita! The frosting is what takes them over the top. And they are so easy to make, too. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  5. Ngan R. says:

    After seeing these, I’ve decided to go on a diet too — a brownie diet! These look fabulous! I would eat a ton of these if I made them. I love rocky road ice cream but haven’t had the pleasure of having a rocky road fudge brownie. Great treat for the upcoming Fourth of July weekend I think.

    • Shari says:

      That is my kind of diet, Ngan!:) If you love rocky road ice cream, I think you would really enjoy these. You can make the brownies from scratch or just buy a mix. Thanks for stopping by and making me smile!

  6. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, your brownie diet sounds delicious! Pinned!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! It really has been kind of a brownie diet lately. We have had several potlucks to go to, so I just keep making more and more brownies. Of course I have to taste them to make sure they’re okay!:) I really appreciate the pin. Hope you are having a great summer!

  7. I think you’ve introduced us to the perfect brownie. And I didn’t think brownies could be improved upon! I’ve bookmarked this post for future cravings…

    On another topic, I made that delicious Cinnamon Walnut Zucchini Loaf the other night. I wasn’t able to sample it – it went into the freezer right away for a family get-together this weekend – but the batter was DEE-LISH! I can’t wait to tuck into that loaf. I know my family will regard me as a hero for bringing it. Which I am.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! The only thing that makes brownies better to me is a thick layer of frosting! I am so glad you were able to make the zucchini bread. I hope you and your family enjoyed it. I agree – you are a hero for making it!:) Thanks for letting me know you tried it.

  8. These look amazing – and addictive! Yum!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Emily! They are pretty addictive. It is so hard for me to resist sweets if they are in my house. I have to be careful not to make them too often. I really appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment!

  9. These look and sound absolutely amazing! this is just beautiful!!!
    Manuella

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Manuella! We always enjoy these beans whenever I make them. I appreciate your kind comments and look forward to checking out your blog as well. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. rozpaige says:

    Shari, these brownies look so gooey delicious! They remind me of Mississippi Mud Cake in which the marshmallows contribute that gooey-ness and make all of the difference. These are keepers in my book! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
    Roz
    PS: I saw the dust storm that rolled over Phoenix on the news today. I hope that you weathered through it safely! It was massive from what they showed on the news!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Roz! I love Mississippi Mud Cake, and you are right, they do have a similar taste. I had never realized that. No wonder I like them so much! Unfortunately we were at our cabin and missed that storm. It was the first monsoon of the season, and I was sad I wasn’t there for it. We are just so excited to have any kind of weather in Phoenix. How pathetic is that, that I’m sad I missed a dust storm?!:) It rained at our cabin, though, so that was fun, too. I hope you are enjoying your summer so far!

  11. Liz says:

    These brownies ar ea keeper. I can taste them from here thanks for sharing. I love the photos too!

  12. atkokosplace says:

    I’m like you…not a fan of marshmallows, but this I know I’d love! The only problem I’d see is if I made these I won’t be able to stop making them! 😉

    • Shari says:

      I guess I like them because the marshmallows melt and kind of become like another frosting layer. The more frosting the better in my book. They are so hard to stop eating so maybe you better not make them! 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Koko.

Leave a Reply

