Old Fashioned Baked Beans for the Holidays

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

When I started to have Easter at my house every year, I wanted to serve baked beans with the traditional ham.  I set out on a mission to find baked beans like I remembered from my childhood.  Beans that are flavored with bacon, thick with brown sugar that has caramelized from long, slow baking, and that have that perfect balance between the sweetness of the sugar and the tanginess of the ketchup and mustard. It took several batches of beans, and a few disappointing recipes until I settled on this one.  It is a little bit sweet, and gooey, and bacony, and thick, and I just love it!  The canned beans just don’t compare to making your own baked beans at home.

It is super simple, too.  The hardest part is frying up the bacon, and chopping the onion, but once that is done, you just throw everything together. Having a good baked beans recipe really comes in handy.  There are so many holidays where they make the perfect side dish, just like the 4th of July coming up. And they are a great accompaniment any time you want to bar-b-q.  You can also make them earlier in the day if you want, and keep them in the refrigerator until time to bake them.

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

The Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays.  I think because even though we live in a big city, on that day, everyone comes out of their houses, finds the nearest fireworks, and sets up their lawn chairs next to each other.  Strangers talk to each other while their children run around and play on the grass nearby.  It feels like we live in a small town just for a little while.  And, even though there will always be disagreements over how our government should do things, during the fireworks, everyone is smiling and happy and seems  focused on being thankful for the freedoms and blessings they enjoy, proud of their country that has provided them,  just for a few minutes.  Seems like a pretty great holiday if it can accomplish all that in such a short amount of time.

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

  • Servings: 10
  • Print

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

  • 3 lbs. canned pork and beans (drain most of the juice)
  • 3 Tbsp. prepared mustard
  • 3/4 c ketchup
  • 1 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 5 ounces cooked, crumbled bacon (plus more for garnish)
  • 2 tsp. liquid smoke
  • 3 Tbsp. onion, diced
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Coat inside of a casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray.
  3. In a large bowl, place pork and beans (drained), chopped onion, and cooked, crumbled bacon.  Stir gently to combine.
  4. In a separate, medium-size bowl, stir together, mustard, ketchup, brown sugar, molasses, and liquid smoke.
  5. Pour ketchup mixture into bean mixture and stir gently to combine.
  6. Pour bean mixture into prepared casserole dish.
  7. Cover with foil, and bake 1 hour 30 minutes.
  8. Serve immediately.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from https://cookazido.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Easter, Father's Day Recipes, Memorial Day Recipes, Recipes, Side Dishes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Old Fashioned Baked Beans for the Holidays

  1. foodessen says:

    These sound great! Hope you have a wonderful 4th of July 🙂

  2. rozpaige says:

    Yes, after reading this recipe and looking at the photos, I agree with you Shari . . . this is the ONE! I have been searching for a good homemade baked beans recipe and have just never found it; even one that my mother in law gave me isn’t any good when I make it. This is PERFECT for this weekend! I’ll let you know!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Roz! I made them a couple days ahead of time, and just reheated them for the 4th of July, and they were still good, maybe even better. I hope you enjoyed them as much as we did! I appreciate your comment!

  3. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, great recipe, my husband loves baked beans. I love the fourth for the same reasons, I enjoy holidays when people come together.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! I hope you get to make them for your husband some time. Men especially seem to love this recipe. I think maybe because they are kind of sweet. I hope you had a great holiday!

  4. Liz says:

    It’s long since I ate some old fashioned baked beans. Thanks for sharing this one. I shall definitely be trying this for breakfast soon. Thanks for sharing!

    • Shari says:

      I hope you enjoy it, Liz! I have never heard of baked beans for breakfast, but why not? They would give you lots of energy to start the day off. Thanks so much for your comment!

  5. These sound dee-vine. I am a real sucker for baked beans and try to have them whenever possible.

    This is another recipe I’m bookmarking, Shari. Yours is the go-to food blog, as far as I’m concerned. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Ruth! I hope you enjoy them if you get a chance to make them. It makes me so happy when I can pass along a good recipe. Your kind comments are much appreciated!

  6. Maya Bria says:

    Just discovered your blog! Love 🙂 Hope you can visit mine 😀
    This recipe looks delicious and easy to follow! Thanks! Looking forward to look more!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Maya! It is very nice to meet you, and I look forward to reading more about you on your blog. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving such a nice comment!

  7. kcinaz says:

    great recipe Shari! Thanks.!

    • Shari says:

      You are very welcome, Karen! I hope you get a chance to try them. If you like baked beans that are on the sweet side I think you would like them. Hope you are having a good summer so far!

  8. Reblogged this on Cooking Up a Storm With Miss Polly and commented:
    My mom used to make some beans like these, God bless her!

    Paulette Motzko

Leave a Reply

