Homemade Vanilla Almond Granola

Vanilla Almond Granola

Recently a friend of ours gave us a quart of honey that he got from his first attempt at raising honey bees.  It is thick and sweet and delicious, and we were excited that he gave us some.  A quart of honey is a lot, though, so I started pondering what I could use it for.  My first thought was granola as learning how to make my own granola has been a goal of mine for a long time.  In a lot of granola recipes, honey is used as the sweetener so this was perfect.

Arizona Honey

Granola is really easy to make.  If I had known that, I would have made it a long time ago.  Basically, for this recipe, you mix the whole oats and sliced almonds together.  Then you heat up the honey and oil until the honey melts, add in the vanilla, pour it over the oat mixture and stir.   After that you spread the mixture out on parchment paper on a cookie sheet, and bake it.  In minutes you have a wholesome, delicious, and quick breakfast or snack with no additives or preservatives.  It also travels well so would be perfect to take on vacation or camping.

Vanilla Almond Granola

I doubled the vanilla in this recipe so it has a lot of vanilla flavor.  My daughter thought I was making cookies when she smelled it in the oven.  This granola is a great combination of crunchy and sticky which makes for a lot of those yummy clumps of grains which are so satisfying.

Vanilla Almond Granola

I have tried a couple different recipes, and this one is my favorite so far.  The fun thing about granola is that it is so customizable to what your family likes.  Once you have the basic recipe down, you can add in whatever extras you enjoy.  Mostly I like it just plain, but a lot of my family likes Craisins, so for this batch, I added those.  (I just pick out the Craisins, and then there is a bigger Craisin to granola ratio for everyone else – I am very selfish thoughtful that way).  You could add dried blueberries, or cherries, or mini-chocolate chips just to name a few.  If I used chocolate chips, I wouldn’t be picking those out, though.  In fact, I think the chocolate chip to granola ratio would go down considerably if I got a hold of it first.  I cannot be trusted around chocolate or ice cream or sweets of any kind.  It is one of my worst traits.  By the way, have you heard of the New Lucky Charms cereal box that has all marshmallows?  Can you still call it cereal if all there is are marshmallows? And, do you think it would be wrong if I added Lucky Charms marshmallows to my granola?  All I know is, I want a box of that “cereal”.

Vanilla Almond Granola

I can’t believe I am talking about Lucky Charms in my healthy granola post.  But that is so me in a nutshell.  Mostly eating healthy, but my desire for sweet treats getting in the way at times.  My favorite way to eat granola is on top of yogurt or  just grab a handful for a quick breakfast when I am in a hurry in the morning.  I am thinking it is better for you than a bowl full of marshmallows.  Good thing I haven’t figured out where to get that cereal yet!:)

Vanilla Almond Granola

  • Servings: 4 cups
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 2 c rolled oats (not the quick oats)
  • 1 c sliced almonds
  • 1/4 c canola oil
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • dash of salt
  • add-ins such as Craisins, chocolate chips, dried blueberries, etc. (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Line an 11×15 jelly roll pan or cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, stir together oats and almonds.
  4. In a medium saucepan add oil, honey, and a dash of salt.  Heat on medium low until honey is melted, and little bubbles are around the edges, stirring constantly.  When melted and bubbling around edges, take pan off of the heat and stir in vanilla.
  5. Pour liquid mixture over oat mixture and stir until well coated.
  6. Spread evenly onto parchment lined pan.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes, and stir.  Then bake another 5 minutes or until granola is lightly browned.  Watch carefully as it browns quickly.
  8. Let cool until crisp.
  9. Stir in your add-ins (optional).
  10. Store in a sealed container at room temperature.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cabin Recipes, Company, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Homemade Vanilla Almond Granola

  1. Lori says:

    So fun to have that honey from your friend! This sounds delicious!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Lori! It was so nice of them to give us honey from their first batch, and so much of it. I can make a whole bunch more granola with it, which I am happy about. Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. This sounds really good – and, like you said, simple. Why have I never made this? My sister-in-law is coming for a visit this week and I promised I’d take her on a wee hike. I think I’ll whip up some granola for our trail snack (and look like a hero besides). Thanks!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Ruth! I hope you and your sister-in-law enjoy it. I think it will definitely elevate you to hero status!:) Have a great time this week!

  3. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, what a lovely post, so nice your friend gifted you some honey, and you taking this wonderful gift and made this incredible granola!!!! Love everything about this!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments, Cheri! I really did have fun making the granola, and appreciate our friend for giving us the honey. I have been enjoying your summer posts from Oregon! So far summer hasn’t been too bad here, but it is supposed to be 115 degrees this week! Yikes!

  4. theres nothing better than home made granola is there! looks delicious.. love it!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Thalia, Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I just looked at your granola recipe – such yummy flavors! I guess we both had granola on the brain lately. The photography on your site is beautiful as well. I look forward to seeing more of your posts!

  5. rozpaige says:

    Granola is so great! Homemade must be even more delicious, and I love how you used the fresh honey, which to me, there is no comparison to a fresh jar of local honey. Your friend is a very generous soul, Shari! Love the photos in this post too!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Roz! Our friends were so generous. I can’t believe they gave us a whole quart. I am finding all kinds of ways to use it. I just made another batch of granola today also. I love having it to give to people that stop by or when we go to someone’s house. I appreciate your comment about the photos. That means a lot to me!

      • rozpaige says:

        And I so appreciate your friendship too Shari! Sorry that I’m so M.I.A. on my blog lately…..just so slammed at work and hoping to get back into the swing of cooking and blogging soon, if and when things slow down.
        xoxo
        Roz

      • Shari says:

        No need to apologize, Roz! I completely understand being behind on blogging. I don’t know how you teach and have a blog! Both are so time-consuming (but totally worth it). Your friendship means a lot to me, too. I hope someday we can meet in person! Have a great week!

  6. Ngan R. says:

    I just bought a bag of homemade granola, lol, when clearly I should have tried to make it myself. Thank you for the clear instructions! I like my granola only barely sweetened, so I will probably cut the honey even further and avoid the add-ons. I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Shari says:

      It really is so easy to make. There are so many different variations I want to try now. Cooking Classy has a great granola without any oil that is less sweet on her blog just in case you wanted to check it out. We all really liked it too. Good luck with your version. I would love to hear about it if you try it. Thanks for stopping by, Ngan!

  7. Liz says:

    What happens if i use quick oats? I have some oats in the cupboard, let me check now….I’ve quick rolled oats. Will that do? I have been procrastinating forever about making granola. It’s high time…will give a feedback!

    • Shari says:

      I think you could use those oats, Liz. I haven’t tried it, but if I had to guess I would just think they might cook faster so watch it carefully so as not to burn the batch. I would be curious to know how it turns out! It is so much fun to make – I hope it turns out well for you!

  8. nancyc says:

    I love homemade granola–this sounds wonderful! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! It has a lot of vanilla flavor which I love and has been a big hit with my family as well. I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  9. Pingback: Going Nuts for Granola | ngan made it

Leave a Reply

