Let’s Taco ‘Bout It! – Review of Joyride Taco House Restaurant

Joyride Taco House

Let’s taco ’bout something – my favorite restaurant of the summer, Joyride Taco House! It really does live up to its name.  Eating there makes me happy!  I love everything about it, the tacos, the salsa, the atmosphere, the decor, and the beautiful patio.

Joyride Taco House

This restaurant is one of several restaurants created by the same owners whose philosophy includes taking old buildings in urban areas and turning them into restaurants.  Each is unique in style and full of character as well as good food.  I reviewed another one of their restaurants, Postinos, last year.  Joyride used to be an old Italian restaurant named Aiello’s and long before that was Humpty Dumpty’s Coffee Shop.  It has been updated with a coral, turquoise, and yellow color palate which contributes to its joyful atmosphere.  The decor has a modern, urban feel to it.

Joyride Taco House

One of my favorite elements is the extremely long, bright turquoise booth where there is plenty of seating to people watch and visit if you have to wait for a table.

Joyride Taco House

If you love to sit outside like I do, Joyride has a great patio which is shaded by umbrellas during the day and the building itself blocks the sun in the late afternoon and evenings.

Joyride Taco House

There is also a mist system that allows you to stay on the patio despite the summer heat! Yay!!

Joyride Taco House

A couple of my favorite things about the patio besides the misters, are the large trees and little white lights,

Joyride Taco House

and the fireplace.

Joyride Taco House

Now, let’s taco ’bout the food!  Chips and salsa are a very important part of Mexican food in Arizona, and the house salsa is incredible (see my recipe for Chipotle Salsa for something similar).  You also have a choice of 4 other salsas if you choose.

Joyride Taco House

There are 11 tacos on the menu, and it is my goal to happily work my way through all of them this summer (so many tacos, so little time)!  They have several different fish tacos, a couple of types of chicken ones, a veggie choice, and several beef tacos.  All of them have interesting sauces and condiments on them with names I can’t always pronounce and often times have no idea what they are, but I haven’t found one I don’t like yet.  I have tried the grilled fish taco,

Joyride Taco House

breaded fish taco,

Joyride Taco House

chicken tinga taco,

Joyride Taco House

the standard chicken taco,

Joyride Taco House

and one of the beef tacos so far.  All of them were unique and delicious!  It’s hard to pick a favorite.  Tortilla soup is another option which is so flavorful and full of all kinds of yummy ingredients.  (You can see in the background we inhaled the salsa and pretty much licked the bowl clean.)

Joyride Taco House

If tacos and tortilla soup are not your cup of tea or should I say, your bowl of salsa, a variety of burritos, tortas, enchiladas, and tamales are on the menu.  There are also some great sides –  fresh salads (one of the dressing options is prickly pear vinaigrette which was wonderful),

Joyride Taco House

and Mexican Street Corn,

Joyride Taco House

just to name a couple we enjoyed.  The servers have all been very attentive and friendly as well, and we have had a great time every time we’ve eaten at Joyride.

Jeff Kelley, Vicki and Don Poor

Joyride Taco House

After looking through all these pictures, it sure makes me want to go back again.  By the way, what are you doing for lunch?:)

Joyride Taco House

Joyride Taco House

5202 N. Central Avenue

Phoenix, AZ   85012

602-274-8226

or

302 N. Gilbert Road

Gilbert, AZ   85233

480-632-8226

Hours:

M-Th 11-11

F,S 11-12

Sun. 11-10

Menu:  Joyridetacohouse.com

 

Joyride Taco House

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews, Things to Do in Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Let’s Taco ‘Bout It! – Review of Joyride Taco House Restaurant

  1. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, my husband and I ate at the Federated pizza and Joyride was next to it on central. When we get back to AZ this will be one of the first places we try, thanks!

    • Shari says:

      I have eaten at Federal Pizza, too. I want to go back and get their roasted veggie board again. Did you try that? It was so good. Windsor is across the street, but we haven’t tried that one yet. It’s on my list of things to do. I hope you like Joyride as much as we do!

  2. What a fantastic place! Love those little taco holders and the tortilla soups looks fabulous.

    • Shari says:

      It really is. I like those taco holders, too, and could use some at my house. Thanks so much for your comment. I hope your summer is going well!

  3. Marlene Christner says:

    Shari, this looks like a fun place and the food looks delicious. I would love to go there and try it the next time I visit!!

    • Shari says:

      I would love to take you there, Marlene! That would be so much fun. Next time you visit we have to do it. I hope you are having a good summer. Did you plant a garden this year? Thanks so much for your comment!

  4. Liz says:

    I’ve never seen a restaurant with bright yellow chairs. It looks so summery and colourful. I love big trees and white lights too. I’ve never had a fish taco. That breaded one looks delicious and the chicken tinga, whatever that means, looks very delicious too! I wish I could go through the journey of tasting the tacos with you. Thanks for sharing all these beautiful photos.

    • Shari says:

      If you are ever in Arizona in the Phoenix area please let me know, Liz. I know that is very far away from where you live, though. I have really started to like fish tacos. They are delicious at most of the Mexican food restaurants here. The fish has to be very fresh for me to like it. Chicken tinga has a vinegary taste and was so flavorful. Thanks for your kindness of reading a post and commenting about a restaurant that is not even near you!:)I appreciate it.

  5. What lovely pix! Maybe we should visit it!!! Haha! Now we are a lot closer to Arizona than before. I love the happy colors in the restaurant. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Kloe! If you are ever in Arizona, please let me know. I was kind of in your neighborhood last week. We drove to Iowa to see my in-laws. We were at least closer than when we are in Arizona!:) I hope the transition to your new place is going well for all of you.

  6. rozpaige says:

    Oh my, I want to get on a plane right now to Phoenix and eat every taco on that menu too! Fish tacos especially! Love that long turquoise booth too. I take it that this is somewhere downtown Phoenix? You have such far more outstanding Mexican eateries out in Phoenix and I miss it so much!
    Hugs,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      I love fish tacos, too, Roz! Isn’t that turquoise booth great? I’ve never seen one quite like it. This is in downtown Phoenix, on Central and Camelback. I love going downtown to eat. There are so many interesting restaurants there. I am thankful for our Mexican restaurants because real Mexican food is so hard to figure out how to make. I wish I could send you some, but I don’t think it would taste too good by the time it got there!:) Thanks so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

