Gooey Dark Chocolate Brownie Sundaes

Dark Chocolate Brownies

There are a few basic recipes that I want to be able to make without having to think about it and search for a recipe every time I make them.  Some of those things are a good pancake recipe, chocolate chip cookie recipe, a recipe for bar-b-q pulled pork, beef tacos, coleslaw, and several others. Some of those are already on this blog, and others I am still looking for and experimenting to find the best one. A great brownie recipe is on that list, too.  But to tell you the truth, I have been very lazy about looking for one as Ghiradelli Brownie boxed mix is so good, and so quick to make.  I really do prefer to make things from scratch, though, and in general think they taste so much better, and you know for sure what is in them. However, I have strict requirements for brownies.  They have to be extremely chocolaty in a dark chocolate kind of way, very moist and fudgy rather than cakelike, and contain chocolate chips as well.  This week after analyzing about a zillion brownie recipes and 1 extreme failure that I wouldn’t even feed my dog, if I had a dog,  I think I found the perfect recipe for my chocolaty brownie cravings!

Dark Chocolate Brownies

Did you know homemade brownies are very easy to make, almost as easy as buying a box mix (almost).  You don’t even need to use a mixer, or let the butter come to room temperature, or sift, or anything. Yay!  It starts with melting butter and chocolate together, and then just adding a few more ingredients and stirring.  I decided to pour my batter into mini-cast iron skillets, and make ice cream sundaes out of them. I under-baked them a little so they were gooey and perfect with ice cream and chocolate sauce on top. Ideally you would serve these warm out of the oven, however, I was taking them to my parents’ house for a family dinner, and the timing didn’t work out for that, but they were just as good at room temperature and still soft inside.  If you prefer, though, you can just as easily use an 8×8 or 9×13-inch pan and slice them into individual bars.

Dark Chocolate Brownies

Out of all the recipes I looked at and tried, the one that met all of my requirements was from The Pioneer Woman.  I shouldn’t be surprised.  I love her recipes.  She is the one that made me want to start blogging.  It was so funny, too, while I was making her brownies, her show came on TV, and it was like we were cooking together.  It was a very bonding experience (on my part).  We are so much closer now (she doesn’t know I exist).  And I look forward to when we can bake together again (in my dreams).  Anyway, I am so thankful to her for so many great recipes over the years and especially this one for rich, chocolaty brownies that I know I will be making over and over again for years to come.

Dark Chocolate Brownie Sundaes

  • Servings: 4 mini-skillets or 9-15 bars
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

  • 1 c salted butter (not margarine)
  • 5 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate (recommended: Ghiradelli  or a good quality brand – I ended up using 4 oz. 60% dark chocolate and 1 oz. semi-sweet chocolate because the store didn’t have what I wanted, and it came out great)
  • 1/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder (recommended: Ghiradelli  or a good quality brand)
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 3 whole large eggs
  • 1 1/4 c flour
  • 3/4 c semi-sweet chocolate chips (recommended:  Ghiradelli or a good quality brand)
  • ice cream
  • store-bought chocolate sauce or chocolate ganache
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter with the unsweetened chocolate over low heat, stirring until smooth and melted.
  3. Sprinkle in cocoa powder and stir to combine.
  4. Remove pan from heat and allow to cool for about 5 minutes.
  5. Place sugar and vanilla in a medium-size bowl.
  6. Pour chocolate mixture over sugar/vanilla mixture.
  7. One at a time, stir in the eggs.
  8. Gently stir in the flour until halfway incorporated.
  9. Add the chocolate chips, and stir just until combined.
  10. If making mini-skillet sundaes, place one cup of batter into 4 different mini-skillets.  If making bars, pour into an 8×8 or 9×13-inch pan (square pan will result in thicker brownies).  Spread to even out the batter, and place in oven.
  11. For skillet brownies, bake about 20 minutes for slightly underdone, gooey brownies, or another 5 minutes for more done brownies, checking with a toothpick to achieve desired doneness.  For 8×8 or 9×13-inch pan brownies, bake for approximately 30-40 minutes, testing with a toothpick after 30 minutes.  For the best brownies, be careful not to overbake.
  12. For pan brownies, allow to cool before slicing.  For skillet brownies, serve warm with your favorite ice cream and chocolate sauce on top.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally created by The Pioneer Woman

Recipe from The Pioneer Woman

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Bars, Cabin Recipes, Cast Iron Skillet Recipes, Company, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Gooey Dark Chocolate Brownie Sundaes

  1. I agree 100% re: Ghiradelli brownie mix. I ALWAYS keep a box in the cupboard for emergencies. (Because who hasn’t experienced a brownie emergency?)

    But! These brownies look just as tasty and, like you said, are not that much more difficult to make. I’m definitely going to give these a go. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Shari says:

      You are welcome, Ruth! I’m finding out there are a lot of us that like Ghiradelli brownie mix. Brownie emergencies are very common around here!:) I hope you like the recipe as much as the box mix!

  2. Jess says:

    Mmmm Shari, these brownies look so decadent and rich- just the way I like them 😉

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Jess! I like them that way, too. In fact, if they are not decadent and rich, they don’t tempt me at all. I appreciate you stopping by!

  3. Yum! These look amazing. I am officially putting them on by bucket list!

  4. Omg! It looks scrumptious!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Margherita! They were very rich and chocolaty. I wish I still had some left, but it is probably better that I don’t!:) I appreciate you stopping by.

  5. HavensBakes says:

    These look absolutely amazing! I love the brownie sundae idea, what’s better than combining brownies and ice cream? Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  6. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, what a great treat, I would have a hard time controlling myself with this!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much! I have a hard time controlling myself with this dessert, too. Especially with chocolate or ice cream involved. I appreciate you stopping by, Cheri!

  7. Ngan R. says:

    You’re killing me with your gorgeous desserts, Shari! 🙂

  8. rozpaige says:

    We’re really picky about brownies too, Shari and happen to love the Ghiradelli boxed versions on lazy days when we just don’t feel like making a big fuss over things (is that wrong to admit that?). I’ve never tried anything from the pioneer woman, but I trust your judgement and your gorgeous photos. My husband will probably move in with you when I tell him where I got the recipe!
    Hugs,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      I think everyone who knows about Ghiradelli brownies loves them, and I don’t think it is wrong to admit that at all! We all have days when we are just too tired or too busy to cook, but we still need our chocolate!:) You’ll have to check out Pioneer Woman’s recipes. They are delicious, and her blog is so funny, too. Thanks for stopping by, Roz!

  9. I’m sure these brownies look amazing in real life,
    but your photos are pretty amazing too, Shari!
    Thanks for sharing what sounds like a great recipe.
    Emma 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Gosh, thank you, Emma! You are so sweet. I was very happy to find such a good brownie recipe, and glad I could pass it along. I appreciate your comment and hope all is well with you!

  10. I have been making the same brownie for years.. I am so happy to have a new recipe to try! I think you have one up on the Pioneer Woman for making them into Sundays in skillets!! Very pretty!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Barbara! I hope you enjoy it if you try it. Adding ice cream always makes everything better, doesn’t it?:) I appreciate your sweet comment.

  11. dunjabounds says:

    Shari, I read your brownie recipe last night and all day today I wanted to make brownies, but with my greenhouse producing like crazy, I decided on chocolate zucchini cake to get my chocolate craving fix you created ;-). That brownie sundae looks delicious and will be on my list of desserts for a girls weekend!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Dunja! Your chocolate zucchini cake sounds like a great way to get your chocolate fix!:) The brownie sundaes would be perfect for a girls’ weekend as you can make a couple of them, and then just hand out spoons and everyone can share (if you are using the skillets). Or individual brownie sundaes for everyone would be great, too, and you could use different flavors of ice cream and make it kind of an ice cream sundae bar. I may need to have a girls’ weekend soon!:) I appreciate you stopping by.

Leave a Reply

