Watermelon Mango Salsa

Watermelon Mango Salsa

We just got back from vacation, and I noticed the date (time seems to stop when you’re traveling).  I was just amazed that it is already the last part of August!  How did that happen?  Then, because I like to cook seasonally, I realized there is not that much more summer left for all the summery recipes I want to try.  So many recipes, so little time.  I realize this is a self-imposed deadline because in reality, we can cook anything whenever we want.  But there is something so satisfying about looking forward to a season, especially here in Arizona where what you are cooking is sometimes the only way to tell what season it is.  Thoughts of dishes with apples, caramel, and pumpkin have started creeping into my mind, and I am looking forward to fall.  But, until then, I am going to enjoy a few more summer recipes I have been wanting to try.  Hence, this fruity watermelon mango salsa!

Watermelon Mango Salsa

I have never made or eaten a fruit salsa before and wondered how it would taste.  It is such an interesting combination of ingredients.  The beautiful colors of this salsa are what attracted me to it in the first place.  I figured something so pretty just had to be good.  And I was right!  It is very fresh tasting and a yummy combination of sweet and a tiny bit spicy.  There is a lime dressing you pour over the fruit that is more like a vinaigrette (minus the oil) that gives it additional, yet subtle flavor.  I don’t know how jalapeno, lime, mango, cucumber, watermelon, and onions end up tasting so good together, but they do.  Just be sure to drain the watermelon and mangoes for a little while before adding them to the salsa or your dressing will become diluted.  Also, don’t be afraid to add all the ingredients called for.  I was tempted to leave out the pepper and garlic salt because that just sounded strange to me, but it really does work. And, if you want to try something different, serve this salsa with cinnamon and sugar pita chips.  I loved the combination.

Watermelon Mango Salsa

I would never want to replace my traditional salsa with fruit salsa, but I think it would make a good addition to a summer bar-b-que, along with all the others.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m thinking this would be very good on fish as well.  If you like salsa and you like fruit, give this salsa a try.  But you better hurry, summer is almost over.  I wonder how pumpkin salsa would taste?:)

Watermelon Mango Salsa

Watermelon Mango Salsa

  • Servings: 5-10
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 1/2 tsp. lime zest
  • 1/4 c fresh lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. coarsely ground pepper
  • 3 c seeded and diced watermelon
  • 1 or 2 mangos, peeled and diced or 1 1/2 to 2 c frozen mango chunks, diced and thawed
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 1 or 2 fresh jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped
  • 8 fresh basil leaves, finely chopped plus more for garnish, if desired
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic salt
  • tortilla chips or pita chips, for serving
  1.  Stir together the lime zest, lime juice, sugar, and 3/4 tsp pepper in a bowl.  Set aside.
  2. After dicing the watermelon and mango, place the pieces in a colander to drain while dicing everything else.
  3. When the rest of the ingredients are diced, place all ingredients including the dressing in a large bowl, and gently toss to coat.
  4. Cover and chill the salsa until ready to serve.  Add the garlic salt just before serving and stir.
  5. Serve with tortilla chips or cinnamon and sugar pita chips.
  6. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally found in Food Network Magazine, June 2013

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cinco de Mayo, Company, Low Fat, Mexican, Party Recipes, Recipes, Salsas, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Watermelon Mango Salsa

  1. Vicki says:

    Looks beautiful! I would love to try it.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! I will have to make more soon, and bring you some. It is very different from normal salsa, more like a pico de gallo with fruit. I appreciate your comment!

  2. cheri says:

    What a great salsa Sherry, never seen one like this before. Glad your back!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Cheri! It was not your typical salsa, but I liked it (as long as I don’t have to give up regular salsa)!:) Nice to be back. Still trying to catch up on everything. Hope you are doing well!

  3. What a nice refreshing salad. So colorful and I really love your plate too!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! It is a very fresh tasting salsa. I appreciate your comment on the plate. I received a bunch of those plates for my birthday from a good friend of mine, and I just love them. Dishes are my weakness (along with food of course). I guess they go together!:) I appreciate you stopping by!

  4. Teresa says:

    wow, Shari, this looks so wonderful!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Teresa! I enjoyed making it (and eating it), I think because of all the colors involved. It is similar to pico de gallo with fruit instead of tomatoes. I appreciate your comment and hope your summer has been good!

  5. foodessen says:

    What a great twist on mango salsa! I will have to try this. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Connie! I had never made mango salsa before, but am starting to like dishes with fruit in them more than ever. I hope you enjoy it if you try it. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  6. Lori says:

    This salsa sounds great! Hope you had a wonderful vacation!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Lori! We had a wonderful time with my husband’s mom and her husband in Iowa, and then Mount Rushmore on the way home, as well as a quick visit with friends. It is always nice to get home, though. I hope you are enjoying your summer!

  7. Mmm! I’ve been making a nectarine-tomato-basil salsa this summer, but yours looks divine! Next time I buy watermelon, I will give this a go.

    Also, I’ve been seeing recipes for a watermelon-feta salad. Have you ever tried such a thing?

    • Shari says:

      Your nectarine-tomato-basil salsa sounds wonderful, Ruth! I would love to have the recipe if you give them out. I have been seeing the watermelon-feta salad recipes and almost tried that instead of the salsa. It sounds so different, but I love that salty/sweet combination so I think I would like it. I hope you like this salsa if you try it. It is very fresh tasting. I appreciate your comment!

  8. Tracy says:

    Wow! This is simply mouthwatering! Those colors! Those flavors! I’m making this ASAP!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Tracy! I just love the colors in the salsa, too. I hope you enjoy it if you try it. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment!

  9. Those colors are amazing! They look super fresh and super delicious!
    It’s too bad summer is almost over, I would’ve made this many times!

    oliviacooksinholland.blogspot.com

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Olivia! Maybe next summer. Sometimes it is hard to find a sweet red watermelon, but this one just happened to be perfect when I cut into it. I hope to make it again next summer, too. I appreciate you stopping by!

  10. So beautiful and full of natural color! Just feel like picking up that chip with salsa in your pic…Great end of summer recipe.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Peri! I really lucked out when I picked that watermelon. It was just perfect inside. One of the few times that has happened. I appreciate you stopping by!

  11. rozpaige says:

    I love fruit salsas and usually use mango, so this recipe will really expand my salsa recipes with the addition of watermelon. I love the lime in this recipe too, Shari. This is a new keeper. Pinned!
    Happy Sunday,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for the pin, Roz! I really appreciate it. I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to try it. I look forward to making it again next summer. The flavors are not over powering, just really fresh. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you have a great week!

  12. Pingback: Watermelon Mango Salsa | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

