Raspberry Lemon Muffins

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

I have really been enjoying all the summer fruit, especially the berries that are sweet and ripe and less expensive right now. Most of the time I just eat them by the handful, but these raspberry lemon muffins are another way to take advantage of the season.  There is something about the combination of lemon and raspberries – they just go perfectly together.  The nice thing about these muffins is they call for lemon extract and since lemons aren’t in season, it works out nicely and still gives the muffins a great lemony flavor.  Not to mention, the texture is so moist – they just melt in your mouth!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

This recipe is super simple, and pretty much amounts to dumping the ingredients into a bowl, mixing briefly, and baking.  If you don’t have access to ripe raspberries, frozen works great as well.  When you don’t have fresh, frozen is nice as the color doesn’t bleed into the muffins.  One small tip, I throw the raspberries and the flour in at the same time, and this seems to keep the raspberries from sinking to the bottom.  Just be careful to fold them in gently, but this works out well as you don’t really want to overmix the flour either.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

After the muffins have completely cooled, if you don’t need them right away, or if you have some left, place them in a Ziploc-type baggy, and throw them in the freezer.  They keep very well for at least a month and you can enjoy them again later.  This recipe is one of my favorites to serve to company alongside an egg dish.  That way half of your work is done ahead of time, and since I’m not a morning person, that is very good news!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

I also like to give these to my kids for a quick breakfast.  They can be thawed in the microwave in seconds.  My kids are grown now, but it is always fun to give them something to take home when they stop by unexpectedly. If I keep doing this, maybe they will keep coming back every once in a while! I can just pretend they came by to see my husband and me!:)

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

  • Servings: 18-20
  • Time: 30-45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 c half & half or light cream
  • 1/2 c canola or vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. lemon extract
  • 1 1/2 c fresh or frozen raspberries plus more for garnishing.
  1. Combine the sugar, baking powder, and salt in a mixing bowl.
  2. In another small bowl, combine the eggs, half & half or light cream, oil, and lemon extract, and stir until mixed.
  3. Pour egg mixture over sugar mixture and mix well.
  4. Add flour and raspberries, and stir gently until just mixed.
  5. Spoon into 18 greased or paper-lined muffin cups about 2/3 full.  Add a few more raspberries to the top of each one.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes.  Watch carefully after 15 minutes to make sure you don’t overbake.  Test with toothpick to see if done.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Breakfast, Company, Recipes, Summer Recipes, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Raspberry Lemon Muffins

  1. Well, well, well. Here’s me with all kinds of freshly-picked raspberries in the freezer, and here’s this fabulous recipe. I might try this out on the weekend. So glad you posted this, Shari. I suspect these will be my new fave!

    • I made these a few days ago and they are truly DEE-LISH. Honestly, I think they’re the best muffins! I didn’t have lemon extract, so I used lemon rind/zest instead. Mmmm!

      • Shari says:

        I’m so happy you got to try these, Ruth! I love it when I can pass along a good recipe. Actually I had thought of adding lemon zest to the batter when I made them, but just decided to go with the original recipe. I bet that added even more flavor. I will have to try that next time. How wonderful that you have access to fresh raspberries. Thank you so much for letting me know how they turned out!

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Sherri, lovely recipe, love that you use half n half in this. Have a wonderful 3-day holiday week-end!!!!

  3. Teresa says:

    Can’t wait to try these!

  4. Ema Jones says:

    Yummy muffins, I’m topping it up with maple syrup…
    Happy Baking…

  5. dunjabounds says:

    I am sure your kids are not only showing up for the delicious food 😉

  6. rozpaige says:

    Hi Shari,
    Thank you so much for your visit to my blog today! I have been away for numerous reasons and so glad to get back into the swing of things again after a month long absence! I apologize for not coming by to read your posts; it’s been the same with any of my food blogger friends and I’m trying to catch up. I couldn’t agree with you more about the flavor combination of raspberries and lemons . . . one of my all time faves (and I’m not just saying that either!). I love muffins and gladly pack them in my lunch to take to work. Hope you’re doing well in AZ, saw the dust storm on the news the other day. So far the weather here is just plain hot and humid! I hate to see the end of summer, but a little cooler temps will certainly be welcome so I can get outside and walk without profusely sweating all over the place!
    Hugs,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by today, Roz, but please do not worry at all about not coming by. I was actually feeling the same way about visiting other blogs due to a couple different vacations and moving our daughter into the dorm at college. Summer can be busier than the rest of the year put together it seems sometimes! I was just so sorry to hear about your surgery. If that isn’t a good reason to take some time off of blogging, I don’t know what is! I’m sure that is a long recovery process, but I hope you are feeling better every day. It is still hot here, but not as bad as it can be sometimes, and we have had a lot of rain this summer which was so great. I would really have trouble with the humidity where you live. I guess no place is perfect! Thanks again for taking the time to stop by and say hi. I really appreciate it!

  7. Beth says:

    I’ve made lemon muffins, and raspberry muffins, but never the two together. This recipe sounds like one I’d adore!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Beth, There is something about lemons and raspberries together that is so wonderful. I hope you get a chance to try them. Thanks so much for stopping by. I look forward to checking out your blog!

  8. trishlee75 says:

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

