Soft and Colorful Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

We hosted a game night at our house this weekend, and I decided we couldn’t have game night without cookies.  They seemed like the perfect dessert to snack on while playing a game.  I thought about making chocolate chip cookies, but my favorite recipe for those calls for the dough to stay in the refrigerator overnight, and I didn’t plan ahead enough to make them.  That set me to looking for a new recipe to try, and I came across this one that I have had in my files for years but never made.  I really didn’t expect them to turn out that great, because I have had some major cookie flops in the past.  For me they have to be soft, and hold their shape, but at the same time melt in your mouth.  I don’t like cookies that come out flat as a pancake or are hard and crunchy. Happily, these exceeded all my expectations!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

These cookies held their shape incredibly well. I thought they were almost too tall at first, but they flattened out just the right amount as they cooled.  They were also thick and soft and gooey in the middle.  The key is not to over-bake them in order to get soft cookies.  You want to take them out of the oven when they are still a little bit underdone.  Then don’t move them off of the cookie sheet for about 10 minutes.  These cookies are also very chocolaty thanks to the addition of chocolate chips and M&Ms.  By the way, did you know they have Caramel Apple M&Ms now?  I’m still kicking myself that I didn’t grab a bag when I saw them.  I love how festive these colorful candies are, and that you can get them in different  colors (and evidently different flavors now) depending on the season.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

These really were some of the best cookies I’ve ever eaten.  It’s a good thing I was making them for game night, as I think I could have eaten the whole batch myself.  Even Jeff who pretty much won’t eat any cookies besides plain chocolate chip, liked them a lot.  I found out he had hidden some away from the night before to eat with his coffee the next morning. I took that as a compliment!  I hope the next time you have game night at your house, or just need some cookies in your life, you will give these a try. Their festive color and chocolaty taste make you feel like you won a prize whether you are playing a game or not!

Colorful Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  • Servings: 21-24
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 1/3 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c quick oats
  • 3/4 c M&Ms
  • 3/4 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1 whole egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 c butter, slightly softened
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1. Mix first 9 ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add last 3 ingredients to bowl.  Mix until combined.
  3. Roll the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls.
  4. Place on a parchment covered baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 7 minutes in a 375 degree oven until just starting to turn brown.  For soft cookies, do not over-bake.
  6. Let cool on cookie sheet for about 7 minutes before moving them to a plate.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do

Recipe slightly adapted from Bakerella’s Cowgirl Cookies

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Soft and Colorful Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. cheri says:

    HI Shari, these look delicious, perfect for a game night or any other night or event.

    • Shari says:

      Hi Cheri, Thanks so much for your comment! I’m sure I will be making them again and again for all kinds of events. Best wishes to you as you enjoy your last few weeks in the beautiful northwest!

  2. nancyc says:

    M&M’s and chocolate chips…these sound like my kind of cookie! 🙂

  3. Nancy says:

    These look fabulous, Shari! Based on your great photos, I think I know why some were hidden away! Delicious 😛

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever met a chocolate chip cookie that I didn’t like. These look ultra fab!

    These would make a great “just because” or “welcome to the neighbourhood” gift.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth. I too have never met a chocolate chip cookie that I didn’t like!:) I like your idea of using them as gifts. Hope all is well with you and your family!

  5. rozpaige says:

    Shari, I am such a sucker for M & M’s and anything chocolate that I know that I’d simply devour these fresh out of the oven before I’d even think of sharing with anyone else! I’ve even had to hide M & M’s from MYSELF! Isn’t that just crazy? That’s how much I love them!
    Thanks for another awesome recipe!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      I love M&Ms and chocolate, too, Roz! I also hide things from myself. I put things in the freezer a lot to get them out of my sight. Have you seen all the new flavors of M&Ms? I saw carrot cake ones this spring, and now there are caramel apple. I always have to try foods at least once to see what they taste like. My curiosity gets the better of me. I haven’t tried those yet, though. I really liked that these cookies were chocolaty and soft, but not flat. I know I will be making them a lot and either giving them away or hiding them for later!:)Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

