Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

Oh my!  This salad!  I can’t stop thinking about it.  It is one of the best salads I’ve ever had.  I think I could drink the dressing, it is so good.  There is just nothing like homemade vinaigrette.  The dressing is just as important to me as the salad as that is pretty much why I eat the salad.  And if the salad doesn’t have enough dressing on it, I am not a happy camper.  I always order extra dressing at restaurants, and in this day and age where most women dip their fork into the dressing and then into a piece of lettuce so they don’t get too much, the server usually looks at me like I’ve lost my mind. (If that’s true, just put me in a padded cell with this salad and plenty of dressing, and I’ll be happy)! Really, though, you have to choose which food is important to splurge on, and for me salad dressing is one of them, along with ice cream, and chocolate chip cookies! (If I start to put chocolate chip cookies or ice cream on my salad, then you may need to start worrying!):)

Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic  Vinaigrette

Not only is this dressing amazing, though, the ingredients in the salad are just about as good as it gets!  With  apples, bacon, feta, candied pecans, and Craisins, you have that whole salty/sweet thing going on and every bite is bursting with flavor. The slight tang of the balsamic vinaigrette compliments the flavors perfectly. The colors are so pretty too, it is like having fall in a bowl and makes a beautiful presentation.

Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

I found this recipe on Cooking Classy‘s blog. She added chicken to this salad to make it more of a main dish, but we were having chicken for dinner, so I left it out and made it as a side.  I’m sure I will be making it again both ways in the future.  She has so many delicious recipes on her site, she is usually the first one I check out when I am looking for a particular food or need an idea for dinner.  Every one of hers that I’ve tried has been so flavorful as well as using easily accessible ingredients.  I’m so glad to have found this recipe for such a beautiful and scrumptious fall salad.   I hope you try it.  I know you’ll go crazy for it as well!:)

Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Salad:

  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and diced
  • 2 medium apples, sliced
  • 1/3 to 1/2 c chopped, candied pecans or walnuts
  • 5 oz. spring mix and spinach lettuce blend
  • 6 oz. crumbled feta or blue cheese
  • 1/3 to 1/2 c Craisins (dried, sweetened cranberries)

For the Balsamic Vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 c canola oil
  • 3 1/2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. honey
  • 2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tbsp. finely chopped shallot
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  1. In a mason jar or blender, add oil, balsamic vinegar, honey, Dijon mustard, finely diced shallot, salt, and pepper.  Either shake with lid on in the jar or blend in the blender until well emulsified and thickened slightly.
  2. Layer all salad ingredients into individual salad bowls or 1 large bowl.
  3. Serve drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette.
  4. Store any leftover dressing in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Recipe slightly adapted by Cook AZ I Do,  originally from Cooking Classy

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Apple Recipes, Company, Fall Recipes, Lunch, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

  1. nancyc says:

    Yum! I love all the flavors in this!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Nancy! It was just one of those recipes where all the ingredients click together. So glad I could pass the recipe along. I appreciate you dropping by!

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, what a pretty salad, love all the ingredients and the dressing. This is a real keeper!

  3. kcinaz says:

    This one sounds like a winner. Thanks for sharing.

    • Shari says:

      You’re very welcome, Karen! It makes quite a bit of dressing so I have been enjoying the leftovers. Glad I could pass along the recipe. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Nancy says:

    Fantastic looking salad…love all of the ingredients! The vinaigrette sounds fabulous!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Nancy, Thanks so much! It really is good. I love a lot of different ingredients in salad, and these all seem to go together so well. I appreciate you stopping by!

  5. rozpaige says:

    Oh Shari, this is my kind of salad! I love all of the ingredients, especially now that it is apple season! And the vinaigrette sounds like I’d drink it straight! I’m like you, I order extra dressing. Those gals who dip their forks in the dressing don’t know what they’re missing. I’ve got to try this salad very soon! Thanks for sharing! Hope you’re doing well and safe from all of the rain damage in Phoenix that we’ve been watching on the news!
    xo
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Roz! We are doing great, but it has been incredible how much rain we’ve had. I have never ever seen schools and businesses closed due to weather related issues here, and that happened a week ago. Some parts of the freeways just completely filled up with water and became a river. It was amazing! Our family didn’t have any problems, thankfully! I think the monsoons are pretty much on their way out now. I hope you get a chance to try this salad. I’m so glad I could pass the recipe along. I know I will be making it again and again. It is so fun when you find a recipe that you know is going to become a favorite. Take care and thanks so much for stopping by!

  6. CakePants says:

    This looks fantastic! I’m right there with you about homemade vinaigrettes…so good!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! Once you try homemade vinaigrette it kind of spoils you, doesn’t it?! I just loved this one. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  7. OOH! I love that you posted this. Yesterday, some friends and I stopped at a store that sold only olive oil and vinegar. It sounds like a limited inventory; however, these came in many different flavours. I bought a fig-infused balsamic vinaigrette which would be PERFECT with this salad. Can’t wait to try it. Thanks!

    • Shari says:

      Oh my gosh, Ruth, that vinaigrette would be perfect for this salad! I hope you get a chance to try it. Let me know how it is if you have time. That sounds like such a great store. I would love it. Thanks for your comment!

  8. Pingback: Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette | homethoughtsfromabroad626

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for recommending this on your blog, Martha! I really appreciate all of your support this year. I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

