Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut Squash Soup

This was a very special week!  It was the first time since last May it was cool enough outside in the morning when I woke up to be able to open the door and just have the screen open.  That is a big deal here in Arizona because it means you made it through another summer!  You can almost hear a collective sigh of relief.  And we are all crossing our fingers, wondering if, and hoping that we have seen the last of the 3 digit temperatures.  We attentively watch the weather on the news at night, checking out the 10 day forecast to see if it is going to be close.  So far, so good!  If these are not reasons to start making soup, I don’t know what is!

Butternut Squash Soup

I have always wanted to try making butternut squash soup as I love it roasted.  I have used it in salad, and as a side dish, but never in soup.  I really didn’t know what it would taste like.  I am happy to report it was delicious!  I also had never cooked with fresh sage before so wasn’t sure how that was going to go.  It smelled pretty strong.  I tasted the soup without the sage and with the sage added in, and it made a huge difference in how the soup tasted – in a good way.  It didn’t give it a strong flavor at all, it just gave it a depth of flavor. In other words, it gave the soup a whole new flavor instead of tasting like the ingredients I put in it.  It’s like 1 + 1 = 3.  But that doesn’t make any sense.  Maybe that’s why I enjoy cooking so much.  You don’t have to make sense for things to taste good!:)

butternut squash soup

Butternut Squash Soup would pair beautifully with Apple, Bacon, and Candied Pecan Salad and Autumn Cobb Salad.  Normally I think of salad in the summer, but these are salads that take advantage of some of the autumn colors and flavors and would be perfect with the golden color of the soup.  There are some things I am going to miss about summer, like the powerful monsoon storms that bring rain, and the gorgeous summer sunsets.  But trading those for the cooler air and fall cooking and baking is fine with me right now.  Especially if it includes this soup!

Butternut Squash Soup

  • Servings: 3 quarts
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 6-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 large onions, chopped
  • 3/4 c carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 c celery, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. olive or canola oil
  • 8 c butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/2 inch cubes (that ended up to be 1 very large squash for me)
  • 6 c chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh sage, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • croutons, pepitas (roasted pumpkin seeds), or sour cream and paprika (smoked or regular), optional
  1. After you have all of your vegetables chopped, put oil and butter in a large soup pot.  Turn heat on low to melt butter.
  2. Next place onions, carrots, and celery in pot and sauté on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until almost tender.
  3. When vegetables are almost done, pour in minced garlic and stir.  Watch carefully and stir at 1 minute intervals so garlic doesn’t burn.  When garlic is cooked but not brown (about 3-4 minutes), turn off stove.
  4. Add the squash cubes, chicken broth, and chopped sage.  Turn up heat to medium, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 30 minutes or until squash is tender.
  5. Puree squash mixture in batches in a blender and return to pot.  If soup has cooled too much, heat up again.
  6. Garnish with croutons, pepitas (roasted pumpkin seeds), or sour cream and paprika, if desired. Serve immediately.
  7. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, adapted from Taste of Home Magazine, August/September 2004, page 29,30 from Della Clarke of Vista, California

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Fall Recipes, Low Fat, Lunch, Main Dish, Recipes, Soups, Weeknight Meals, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Lori says:

    Looks so good!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Lori! It was a fun recipe to make and fairly easy. Just took a little time to chop everything. I appreciate you stopping by!

  2. dear Shari- I should write to you every every every time you post a new feature on your blog. Because I enjoy your posts SO MUCH. Thank you for showing me food-ish delights and for making me homesick for the Arizona desert. I am not a cook (though I do clean up the kitchen after Ted!) and I am not even a very good eater, but your posts show me delights of color and texture and taste and help me feel wonderfully connected to these wonderful foods. Besides, your photography is lovely. Thank you, Shari!!!! -love to you and all your loved ones, Kathleen

    • Shari says:

      Hi Kathleen, Your comment is so sweet! I had no idea you read all of my posts. I can’t believe you read them when you don’t enjoy cooking or eating! You are my hero because you are the one that does the dishes – not my favorite part of cooking!:) Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment. It means a lot to me and is very encouraging. Love to you and your family as well!

  3. I love butternut squash soup – it’s so smooth and subtle. Yours looks gorgeous!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I loved how smooth and creamy it was, too. I think next time I might try adding some different spices to it, just for fun. I really appreciate your comment!

  4. And here I was thinking that we had it bad–gosh, Arizona weather! I once got lunch with my friend from Arizona on a hot day and he told me he wanted to sit in the only table that was right under the sun. I blanched, but then he told me that it was “perfect” weather–only 98! I’ll never forget that…so yes, you totally deserve soup, Shari! And this one looks amazinggg.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ala! Your story about Arizona made me laugh. 98 seems so cool after a hot summer, and I would totally eat outside, too, at that temperature!:) I guess it is all relative to what you are used to. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving such a fun comment!

  5. Teresa says:

    Looks wonderful, Shari. You can never have too many Butternut Squash Soup recipes either! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Teresa! Sadly, I found out after I posted this that my husband didn’t like it because of the texture, so I don’t think I will be making it much!:( I really did enjoy it. Any chance of you traveling to Arizona in the future? I was sorry it didn’t work out the last time you were here.

  6. Mmmm! I’ve never made Butternut Squash Soup, but your post has encouraged me to give it a go… like many of your posts do. I think my husband wants to send you a medal!

    I’m glad to hear the weather has cooled down somewhat for you folks. I can’t imagine living in that heat! We here in the Rockies always complain about snow that comes too early and stays too long, but I don’t think I could make it in Arizona, as beautiful as it looks.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you for your comment, Ruth. That you think your husband wants to give me a medal made me smile!:) It is so ironic, because my husband tasted this soup after I had posted it, and he ended up not liking it because of the texture. Whereas I thought it was smooth and velvety, the texture reminded him of baby food. Everybody is different when it comes to food, that’s for sure. He usually puts up with all of my cooking experiments with a good attitude so I can’t complain. Everybody is different about weather, too. I know I couldn’t take the cold where you live, but I would sure enjoy the scenery. Hope you have a great week!

  7. I have just stumbled across your blog and I’m so excited…it’s great! I look forward to seeing more from you. I did wonder how you managed to get the printable recipe box on your posts…I’m struggling to find how to do that on my blog…it would be much appreciated if you could help! Laura =)

    • Shari says:

      Hi Laura! I’m so glad to meet you and happy you stumbled across my blog. I would love to share how to get the print box as Angie at The Novice Gardener did that for me, and I so appreciated it. It is called a shortcode and here is the link that tells you how to do it: http://en.support.wordpress.com/shortcodes/recipes/ Read through that whole page and then follow the example given, except with your recipe. You have to type it exactly with no errors or it won’t work. Even when I think I’ve typed it right, but it didn’t work, when I went back and checked, there were errors I didn’t see. Or when you are in your dashboard, go to the top right of the screen under your name, and click help. Then type in shortcodes in the search bar. I hope this helps. If it doesn’t, feel free to ask another question.

  8. Liz says:

    Our winter lasted longer than usual and spring extended over summer and summer was pushed aside and now it’s rain and cold nights…I’ve eaten soup throughout and baked bread throughout. We had pockets of heat here and there but overall, it was cool. I can’t remember the last time I cooked with sage, I probably have forgotten what it smells like. I’ve used lots of mint, thyme and rosemary, though. I am planning to make some butternut squash soup with pumpkin spice…I hope it will taste nice. Have a great week. Your soup looks outstanding, If only I could taste it!!!

    • Shari says:

      I bet it is so beautiful where you live, but I don’t think I could take such cool weather. Good thing I live here!:) How nice that you can eat soup year round, though. I love your idea of using pumpkin spice in butternut squash soup. I bet that would be so good. I wish I could give you some of the soup I made. It would be fun to trade soups! Thanks for your comment, Liz.

  9. Beautiful pictures, Shari. I love the presentation. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks a lot, Ana! I especially liked how these turned out. You just never know if it is going to turn out the way you want. I’m still learning. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

