Caramel Apple Pie Cups

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

I absolutely love anything with crumble or streusal on top – apple pie, peach tarts, blueberry muffins, soup, chicken….Well, not really so much the savory foods, but you get what I mean. This time of year is so much fun in the blogging world because there are a ton of recipes that include crumble.  My “make soon” file is just overflowing with recipes that include streusal, and I couldn’t be happier.  My only dilemma is which one to try next.  This week these Caramel Apple Pie Cups kept calling my name, so I made them – twice!  They were so good, I had to share them with you.

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

These cups contain all the flavors of a caramel apple pie, but you can hold them in your hand, and you don’t have  to make a pie crust.  Instead of a crust, a very simple, but incredibly tasty blondie batter is used to hold the salted caramel, apples, and streusal.  The salted caramel is a simple combination of melted caramels and cream so you don’t have to know how to make caramel to enjoy this recipe.  It is an easy recipe, but there are a few steps and you  have to watch out for 1 thing.  Don’t let the caramel or brown sugar from the cooked apples touch the sides of the muffin tin.  I made a small dent in the middle of the batter so the apples and caramel would be contained more easily.  If you don’t, the caramel and brown sugar can turn hard and crunchy.  They still taste good, but are not the soft texture of an apple pie.

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

I just love these little caramel apple pie cups.  They are good with caramel sauce poured over the top of them, too.

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

To me, the ultimate way to serve them, though, is with vanilla bean ice cream.  The little cups are the perfect holder for the ice cream.  Actually, I think the ultimate way to serve anything is with vanilla bean ice cream so you may want to take that into consideration.  Whether you serve them with or without ice cream, if you like apple pie, you will love them.  They are a great way to get your streusal fix, way better than streusal covered chicken!:)

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

 

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Apples:

  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 c peeled, chopped apples
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg

For the Batter:

  • 1/2 c (1 stick) melted butter
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 c flour

For the Caramel Sauce:

  • 20 caramels (about 5.5 oz.), unwrapped (I used Werther’s)
  • 1 Tbsp. cream
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt

For the Crumble:

  • 2 Tbsp. butter, slightly softened
  • 6 Tbsp. flour
  • 4 Tbsp. brown sugar

Instructions:

For the Apples:

  1. In a small skillet, melt the 1 Tbsp. butter.
  2. Add the apples, 1 Tbsp. brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Cook for about 3 minutes or until apples are slightly tender.  They don’t have to be cooked all the way through, because they will continue cooking in the oven.
  3. Remove apples from heat and set aside.

For the Batter:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the melted butter and 1 c brown sugar together.
  2. Beat in the egg and vanilla.
  3. Add the flour and mix until combined.  Set aside.

For the Caramel:

  1. In a microwave safe bowl, place the caramels and cream and heat for 30 seconds.  Stir.  Continue heating at 10 second intervals and stirring until melted, about 50 seconds total.
  2. Stir in the salt and set aside.

For the Crumble:

  1. In a small bowl, mix the slightly softened butter, flour, and brown sugar with a pastry blender or by hand with a fork until mixture resembles coarse sand.  Set aside.

For Assembly:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray.  Do not use paper liners, because they will stick.
  3. Add about 2 Tbsp. batter to each muffin tin (I used my 2 Tbsp. cookie scoop).  Make a slight dent in the batter.
  4. Spoon about 4 pieces of apples into each dent without brown sugar liquid or apples touching the tin.
  5. Drizzle about 1 tsp. of caramel on top of apples, making sure to not let the caramel touch the edges of the tin.
  6. Sprinkle crumble evenly over the top of each.
  7. Bake for 15-16 minutes or until the tops are slightly golden.  Center will be slightly underdone.
  8. Let cups cool in the muffin tin.
  9. Once cool, use a knife to loosen the edges before removing.  Serve at room temperature or warm.  If not serving right away, they can easily be warmed by heating in the microwave for 30 seconds.  They are great with ice cream.
  10. Keep leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

Recipe on Cook AZ I Do, originally created by The Girl Who Ate Everything

Caramel Apple Pie Cups

Leaning Tower of Pies – ah!:)

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Apple Recipes, Desserts, Fall Recipes, Party Recipes, Pies, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Caramel Apple Pie Cups

  1. OMG! They are outstanding… the last picture made my mouth watering…

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, I’m a big fan of streusel too, these apple cups look delicious!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much Cheri! Glad to know there are others out there that like streusel as much as I do. I hope you get a chance to try these. They take a little time, but are worth the effort. I appreciate you dropping by!

  3. Yum- these look amazing! I love the Leaning Tower 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Jenna! I appreciate your comment on the leaning tower. It was kind of a last minute decision to include that picture. Thank you for stopping by!

  4. Nancy says:

    I think I can see why you made them twice…yummy! Gorgeous and tempting photos have led to my bookmarking and plans to bake them up…soon!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! I hope you enjoy them. There are several steps, but all are easy. They are totally worth the time they take to make. I appreciate your comment!

  5. Yum! I know about a million people who would love these, and they look pretty easy to make. What a perfect recipe for this time of year!

    Or any time of the year, now that I think about it.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! I know, I was thinking 4th of July would be good for these, too. They are easy, just a bit time consuming. Glad I could pass the recipe along! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Oh my gosh I am totally going make these! Your photographs are gorgeous. I’ll have to head out to the market tomorrow for some caramels. Perfect recipe. It’ll be on my mind until I make them. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I know what you mean about not being able to get a recipe out of your mind until you make it. This recipe was like that for me, and then after I made them, I still couldn’t get them out of my mind!:) I couldn’t find the regular caramels where I shopped, but the Werther’s caramels worked great. I hope you enjoy them!

  7. nancyc says:

    Yum–I know I would love these! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      I bet you would, too, Nancy! Everyone I’ve served these to has really enjoyed them. So glad I could pass the recipe along. I hope you have a great week!

  8. Pingback: Caramel Apple Pie Cups | homethoughtsfromabroad626

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for mentioning these in your post, Martha! I really appreciate it. Glad it is cooling down where you live. It kind of warmed back up here, but I am still baking away and pretending it is cool!:) Hope you have a great week!

  9. Teresa says:

    Wow, Shari, your stuff always looks amazing.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Teresa! That means a lot to me. So does yours! I am always drooling looking at your recipes. I appreciate you stopping by!

  10. Liz says:

    How can I ever resist caramel? this is one helluva apple pie cup. It looks more than delis

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Liz! I can’t resist caramel either. These have really been a big hit with everyone I’ve served them to. Evidently no one else can resist caramel either!:) I hope you’re having a good week!

  11. Toni Lua says:

    I need to try these. love apple pie but the kids don’t.

    • Shari says:

      Hi Toni! It’s so fun to see you on here. Maybe they would like these since it is a blondie base instead of pie crust, and there aren’t really too many apples in each one. On the other hand, if they don’t like them, more for you!:) They keep well in the freezer, too, and you can just take out whatever you need. Thanks so much for your comment!

  12. These look sensational Shari. Apple and caramel a wonderful combination. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

