Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls With Honey Butter

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

I cannot even tell you how happy I’ve been the last few weeks after making these rolls a couple of times.  I have almost grabbed people in the streets and the grocery store to tell them I successfully made dinner rolls with yeast!  I have been tempted to yell across our yard at the black cat that hangs out in the bushes that my rolls turned out.  I have wanted to call my kids and bother them at work and at school to let them know their mother is now not afraid of yeast and it cannot bully her anymore.  Fortunately, I have refrained from doing all these things due to the fact that I think they might want to haul me off to wherever they put out of control food bloggers.  Instead my poor husband has had to suffer my non-stop ranting about how blissful I am and the 21 reasons I think this recipe worked and how many more yeast recipes I am going to try, and aren’t these so beautiful,  you just want to cry?  I think he may want to cry, but it is not because of these rolls!:)

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

If I can make these, I think anyone can.  I just want to encourage you to not be afraid, if you have been leery like I was, of making things that contain yeast.  Because of the amazing tips I got from Averie Cooks, whom I will forever be grateful to for opening up a whole new world to me, you can be successful too.  Just follow the instructions exactly.  I would say probably the 2 most important keys to success are using King Arthur Flour (I found it at Wal-Mart) because it has a higher protein content,

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

and Red Star Platinum Yeast (I bought mine at Albertsons).

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

Red Star Platinum is an instant yeast that you don’t have to proof (let sit in warm liquid for 10 minutes while it is activated) so you can just add it in with your dry ingredients.  This yeast also helps baked goods to rise faster and higher than other yeasts.  Perfect for beginners like me!

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

This recipe is wonderful because you are not dealing with massive amounts of flour. It is a great starting point if you are not experienced in bread making.  You can use your stand mixer to do the kneading (yay!), and have rolls on your table in 2-3 hours, of which most of that time is just waiting for the dough to rise.

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

Keep in mind these rolls are not sweet.  They have all the spices and color of pumpkin pie, but are not a dessert type roll.  That is where the honey butter comes in.  The combination of the pumpkin pie spices and the sweetness of the honey butter pair so perfectly.

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

They would look beautiful on a Thanksgiving table, and they freeze well so you could make them ahead of time.

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls

I love the color of these rolls.  I love the flavor of these rolls. I love the smell of these rolls while they are baking.   I love the honey butter that you put on these rolls.  I love that these rolls make you feel like it is fall even though it is still 91 degrees outside.  I love everything about them.  And I love you, too, for putting up with my gushing!:)  I hope you try them soon so you can have that same feeling of accomplishment.  It’s amazing how a small success in the kitchen can make you feel like you’re superwoman and that you can do anything.  I may even tackle pie crusts one of these days!

Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls With Honey Butter

  • Servings: 9 Rolls
  • Difficulty: moderate (only because it's important to follow instructions exactly)
  • Print

For the Dough:

  • 1/3 c milk
  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 c pumpkin puree
  • 2 1/4 c King Arthur All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 1/4 tsp. Red Star Platinum Instant Dry Yeast
  • 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg (I tried with only 1/2 tsp. and it wasn’t as good)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

For the Honey Butter:

  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted (to brush on top of rolls before baking)
  • 2 Tbsp. honey (to brush on top of rolls before baking)
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened (for serving at the table)
  • 1/2 c honey (for serving at the table)

For the Dough:

  1. Add the milk to a 2-cup microwave-safe measuring cup, or microwave-safe bowl.
  2. Add butter and heat on high power to melt butter, about 45 seconds.  Stir until butter has melted smoothly into the milk.
  3. Add the egg, pumpkin puree, and whisk to combine.
  4. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook or large mixing bowl for hand kneading, add the remaining dough ingredients, through salt.
  5. Return measuring cup to microwave and heat for about 15 seconds to warm mixture up. Stir. This will help to activate the yeast.
  6. Pour wet pumpkin-milk mixture over the dry ingredients.
  7. Turn mixer to low-speed, and knead for 5-8 minutes or until dough is smooth and has come together (it took mine 8 minutes).  This is not a sticky dough and if your dough is sticky, tacky, or gloppy, add additional flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, until dough is no longer sticky.  You probably won’t need to add any, because 2 1/4 cups is more than enough.  Don’t over-flour your dough because it creates rolls that are dense and heavy (my dough was a tiny bit sticky, but I didn’t add any more flour, and it came out great).
  8. Turn dough out into a mixing bowl that’s been lightly sprayed with cooking spray.  Flip dough over once so both sides are lightly greased, and cover bowl with plastic wrap.
  9. Place bowl in a warm, draft-free environment until dough has nearly doubled in size, about 45 to 60 minutes (I did 60).  Do not go by time elapsed on the clock.  Wait until dough has nearly doubled in size, and if it takes longer than an hour, that’s fine.  (My house was not that warm, so while the mixer was kneading, I turned my oven on 200 degrees to heat it up, then turned if off, and put the bowl in with the oven door open for the first 30 minutes.  Then I closed the door and turned the oven light on.  This seemed to work for me, but I would make sure your oven is not too hot if you use this method.)
  10. Punch dough down, and turn it out onto a nonstick surface.  I sprayed a plastic cutting board with cooking spray and didn’t even need to add flour.
  11. Spread dough out a little with your fingers to form a square.  With a long knife, cut into 9 pieces, like a tic-tac-toe grid.
  12. Form each piece into a ball with your hands by pulling the 4 corners together and pinching them.
  13. Place dough balls into a foil-lined and cooking sprayed 9-inch square pan (important).
  14. Cover pan with a sheet of foil, place pan in a warm, draft-free environment until dough has nearly doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.  In the last minutes of rising, preheat oven to 375 degrees (take rolls out first).
  15. Melt 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter in microwave for about 45 seconds on high power.  Add the 2 Tbsp. honey, and stir to combine.  Before baking, generously brush tops of dough balls with honey butter.
  16. Bake for 15-16 minutes, or until puffed, golden, domed, cooked through, and when tapped, the rolls should sound hollow.  Allow rolls to cool in pan until they’re cool enough to handle before serving.
  17. Meanwhile, combine the softened (not melted) 1/2 c butter and honey, and whisk or mix with mixer until fluffy and combined.  Serve with dinner rolls.
  18. Rolls will keep airtight at room temperature for up to 4 days.  Heat in microwave for 5 to 10 seconds as necessary to recreate the just-baked taste and to soften.  Finished (baked) rolls will keep airtight in the freezer for up to 6 months.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally created by Averie Cooks

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Christmas, Company, Fall Recipes, Recipes, Side Dishes, Thanksgiving Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Pumpkin Spice Dinner Rolls With Honey Butter

  1. Jess says:

    Holy crap, Shari! For a ‘beginner’ these rolls are pure perfection. Well done you 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Jess. Your comment made me smile!:) They were surprisingly easy to make, but I think that is because of the good instructions Averie gives. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by!

  2. apsara says:

    I can see why you’re so elated, Shari. These look perfect! I need to try more recipes with yeast too, this looks like a good place to start! “Out-of-control food bloggers”- ha, ha!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks a lot, Apsara! This recipe is a good place to start. I had to make them twice to make sure it wasn’t a fluke, but they turned out both times. I hope you enjoy them if you get a chance to try the recipe!

  3. Wow perfect rolls. .. love addition if pumpkin, that sounds luscious Shari. ..:) 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Chitra! I love the addition of pumpkin, too. You can’t really taste it, but it gives such a nice color to the rolls. The spices give them great flavor. I really appreciate you stopping by!

  4. Laura says:

    Yay, no more being afraid of yeast! Great job, they look fantastic! =)

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Laura! It really does open up a whole new world for me. I’m sure there will be failures, but it is a start. I appreciate your comment!

  5. Tracy says:

    Wow!! These look amazzinnnggg! I totally would have shouted from the rooftops! 😉

    • Shari says:

      Thanks a lot, Tracy! I am so glad you understand shouting from rooftops. Makes me feel not so crazy!:) Speaking of shouting from rooftops, that is what I would have done if I made feta cheese like you did. That is such an accomplishment! You must be so proud! I appreciate you stopping by to comment.

  6. Teresa says:

    Oh, my, Shari. You’re a woman after my heart! I want one or two! I love homemade rolls and these look sensational.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Teresa! I know you have a lot of homemade bread recipes on your site. I will have to go back and look at them since I am feeling braver about yeast these days. I really appreciate your comment. Thanks for taking time to stop by!

  7. foodessen says:

    They look just perfect and delicious! I’m so happy for you and I remember I felt the same way when I finally started baking with yeast. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks very much, Connie! I’m glad you understand the feeling. That’s what I love about being a food blogger. It is so nice to be connected with others who have the same passion about cooking. I really appreciate your comment!

  8. CakePants says:

    Wow, these sound incredible!! I’ve only very seldom baked things with yeast but I’m going to have to give these a try…the photos are making me drool!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy them if you try them. Honestly, they are not much harder than making cookies, except you have to wait in between steps. I appreciate you stopping by!

  9. nancyc says:

    Oh my…these sound so good! I love breads so these could be dangerous for me! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! They are dangerous for me, too! I’m so glad they freeze well. If things are tucked away in the freezer until needed, they don’t tempt me so much. I appreciate you stopping by and hope you have a great week!

  10. Barbara says:

    Wow! Great photos that show how good they must be. I’m printing it out right now.

    I felt the same way about some recent biscuits I made.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Barbara! I hope you get a chance to try them. They have such a great spicy flavor, which pairs perfectly with the honey butter. I’m glad I got to meet you through Blogging 201 and appreciate you stopping by!

  11. Liz says:

    Congratulations for making dinner rolls with yeast. I know exactly what you mean. I procrastinated for about a year before I finally planted my feet firmly on the ground and forced myself to bake with yeast. The moment I did it I got hooked and am now going through my second bottle of yeast. The only problem is I cannot eat store made rolls and flatbreads anymore. The homemade ones are way superior and tasty and fresh…..These rolls look perfect. I shall try them over the weekend, for breakfast. I don’t like sweet rolls either so these would be just perfect for me. Thanks for sharing and don’t worry, I rant all the time. Have a pleasant week!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Liz! I can see why you would not want store bought bread anymore. These rolls gave me courage to try a breadstick recipe, and they are in the oven right now. I need practice forming them, though. They kind of look like mini bar bells that you lift weights with!:) Maybe I better stick to rolls. I hope you like them if you try them. Thanks for your comment! You have a great week, too.

  12. There’s nothing like a dinner roll to set off any meal you’ve made. And these looks absolutely amazing. Thanks for sharing this

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! I agree, it has been great to have them in the refrigerator this week to pair with different meals. It is nice to meet you, and I appreciate you stopping by!

  13. Oh yes please these look delicious! Dinner rolls are the best part of any meal in my opinion 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Lillian! I have never really been a bread person – until now. I am finding out that homemade bread is a different thing entirely. I really appreciate you stopping by!

  14. You’ve sold me. I am a big chicken when it comes to breads with yeast, but I am really inspired by your post. I have a fresh pumpkin on my counter, waiting to be baked into a million treats, and I think these rolls should be on the list.

    Thanks for posting this! I will let you know how it goes… (Fingers crossed.)

    • Shari says:

      I hope you get to try them, Ruth! They are heavy on the nutmeg, so make sure you like nutmeg if you try them. I tried adding less nutmeg, but then they were too bland. Paired with the honey-butter though, it is just the perfect combination. I also found that after being in the refrigerator for a day, the spices mellowed a bit. Just wanted to be sure you knew what you were getting into. Let me know how it goes. By the way, I can’t remember if I put it in my post, but they freeze very well after they are baked. I would love to hear what other things you are going to make with your pumpkin, too! Thanks for your comment.

  15. I love your pictures! I can almost taste and smell them. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Ana! I really appreciate your comment as taking the pictures is very challenging for me. I like some more than others. I almost couldn’t take a bad picture of these rolls, though. They are just such a pretty color. I hope you are having a good week!

Leave a Reply

