Classic Greek Salad With Lemon Vinaigrette

Classic Greek Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

There is an Italian restaurant that  I go to once in a while that has the best Greek Salad.  I think it is a great salad because they put a lot of feta cheese and Kalamata olives in it which are two of my favorite things.  But the biggest reason is because the dressing is so good.  I literally crave it sometimes.  I have actually eaten it by the spoonful to try to figure out what is in the dressing.  So the other day, when I wanted to put together a Greek salad at home, I decided to try to make it.  Happily, I think it tastes just like the dressing from the restaurant.  Now when I crave it, I don’t even have to leave my house!

This dressing is flavored with oregano and lemon juice and a small amount of honey.  It’s neither too tart nor too sweet.  It has just the right balance of both.  It contains vinegar to give it a depth of flavor.  I didn’t like it as well before I added this.  It also contains Dijon mustard, but don’t let that throw you.  Many vinaigrettes have Dijon in them as an emulsifier, and it doesn’t taste mustardy as long as you use the right proportions.  I don’t like mustard, and I couldn’t even tell it was there. This salad would go perfect with Lasagna Soup or Italian Sausage Lasagna Rolls.  The nice thing about these recipes is that so much of them can be done ahead of time if you are having company over the holidays.

When making a salad I like to start by adding in all the chopped ingredients to the lettuce, saving some of each for garnish.

Classic Greek Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

Then I pour on some dressing, and gently mix it all together.

Classic Greek Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

(Although with feta, I usually save it all for the garnish as it becomes kind of messy looking after tossing it with the salad).  After the salad is mixed thoroughly, I pour it into a bowl or plate.  Then I garnish the top with the leftover ingredients and pour a little more dressing on top so no matter which part of the salad you spoon onto your plate, you get all the ingredients and no dry pieces of lettuce.  The nice thing about vinaigrettes is that they are lighter than some of the creamier dressings and most people like them, especially if they are homemade.

Classic Greek Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

Many restaurants use artichokes and red or orange bell pepper to add even more colors and flavors to this salad.  But for me, this was perfect the way it was.  At home you get to customize your salad just the way you like it. Can you tell I like olives and feta?:) I hope you enjoy this salad as much as I do!

Classic Greek Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

Classic Greek Salad With Lemon Vinaigrette

  • Servings: 5-6
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Salad:

  • 1 (5 oz.) bag Romain lettuce
  • 1 (9.5 oz.) jar Kalamata olives
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and diced in 1/2 in chunks
  • 1-2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved or 2-3 regular tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 purple onion, peeled, quartered, and thinly sliced
  • 1 (6 oz.) container crumbled feta cheese

For the Lemon Vinaigrette:

  • 1/4 c canola oil
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 1/4 c fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano leaves
  • 1 to 1 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  1. To make the vinaigrette, place all ingredients in a mason jar or blender and shake or blend until mixed, making sure the honey doesn’t stick to the bottom of the container.
  2. Set aside in refrigerator until ready to assemble salad, just prior to eating.
  3. When ready to serve, pour lettuce into large bowl.  Place as many of each ingredient as desired on top of salad, except feta, reserving some of each for garnish.
  4. Pour a small amount of dressing on salad, stirring and adding more dressing until coated evenly, saving some for the top of the salad.
  5. Place reserved ingredients including feta on top of salad and arrange as desired.
  6. Pour additional dressing over reserved ingredients to taste.
  7. Serve immediately.
  8. Store any leftover vinaigrette in the refrigerator.

Original recipe from Shari Kelley of Cook AZ I Do

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Italian, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Classic Greek Salad With Lemon Vinaigrette

  1. This is one of my very favorite salads! Beautiful!

  2. Lori Ridenour says:

    What a beautiful salad! I can’t wait to try it!

  3. dunjabounds says:

    Beautiful pictures Shari! I so wanted to make a Greek salad this summer with all the fresh tomatoes out of the greenhouse but never got around it. Now I will have to make myself a Greek salad with my very last tomatoes and try your vinaigrette, it sounds so delicious.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Dunja! This salad would be perfect with homegrown tomatoes. I can’t believe you still have some left. I hope you enjoy the salad/dressing if you try it. Have a great day!

  4. I eat this salad almost every day – I just love it! Next time, I’m going to try your dressing. Love your pictures! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ana! I am glad to find a Greek salad friend!:) Do you eat this salad at home or at a restaurant? I hope you enjoy the dressing if you try it. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      • I eat it at home – I cook almost every day. I can’t wait to try the dressing. 🙂

      • Shari says:

        I love salad, too. I try to fix one to go with whatever we’re having for dinner on most days. My husband isn’t crazy about salad, but he’ll eat it because he wants to be healthy. On the other hand, I would be happy if all we had was salad!

  5. nancyc says:

    What a great-looking salad! And the Lemon Vinaigrette sounds so good!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Nancy! I just made it a couple days ago and am already craving it again. I don’t know what it is about that salad – maybe the saltiness of the olives and feta combined with the lemon and vinegar. Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you are having a good week!

  6. rozpaige says:

    I just love great Greek salads, and you’re right, the more goodies like feta cheese and olives on top, the better. I really appreciate it when restaurants include anchovies (cuz not all do that). Thank you for this tried and true recipe, since I tend to buy the bottled stuff in the store and they never taste anything like fresh vinaigrettes! Can’t wait to try this Shari!
    xo
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      I hope you enjoy it if you try it, Roz. I have never heard of putting anchovies on a Greek salad before. I have just started to use anchovies in my cooking, but am not sure I could eat a whole one by itself! It is amazing how much better it makes sauces taste, though! I was kind of afraid to try it at first, but once I did, I would never leave them out now. I sure have been loving the beautiful fall leaves you have been posting on Instagram. Thanks for sharing that with us who are a little fall leaf deprived!:) I appreciate you stopping by, and hope you have a great week!

  7. Teresa says:

    Oh, Shari, this salad looks wonderful. I wish I was eating it right now!

  8. Shari, I LOVE Greek salad. I never thought to add a bit of honey to the dressing – that sounds amazing! Sometimes I add a bit of chicken, if it’s a hot summer day (hot for US, I mean) and we want a light meal.

    Now that I’ve read your post, I realize I haven’t had this salad for almost a month! Time to make it again!

    • Shari says:

      I’m finding out a lot of people really like Greek salad. Maybe we should start a club!:) I did like the tiny bit of sweetness the honey gives this dressing. It isn’t too sweet, though. Adding chicken is a great idea! I will have to try that. Do you put anything else on your Greek salad that is different from the one I posted? I always like to hear about everyone else’s recipes. Thanks so much for your comment. I hope all is well with you!

  9. Liz says:

    This is truly a classic with all my favourite ingredients on one plate. By the way I’m watching Four weddings and there is a greek couple getting married and guess what they are eating? Your classic greek salad. What a coincidence! Have a lovely week!

    • Shari says:

      That really is a coincidence! Do you want to join our Greek salad club?:) Just kidding! It is amazing how many people really like this salad, though. I hope you have a good week as well, and thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

