Classic Chocolate Pie with Homemade Whipped Cream

Classic Chocolate Pie

I was in line at the grocery store the other day, and it seemed like it was taking forever to get through it.  There was some kind of problem with the person ahead, and I was starting to feel impatient.  The person who was standing behind me started chatting and noticed that I had ice cream in my cart.  She said to me, “Well, at least it is nice and cool out so your ice cream won’t melt!”  I was just stunned at her comment.  Instead of being grouchy or complaining about our long wait, she commented about something positive to do with the situation.  I want to be more like that.  It definitely is not my immediate response to an annoyance or bad situation.  Most of the time I do feel thankful for the many blessings I have such as food to eat, clean water to drink, a roof over my head, and my husband’s job.  But, to feel thankful in the midst of hardship, or difficult circumstances, that is a whole other thing.  Not that standing in line is really a difficult circumstance.  But you know what I mean.  It seems like a much better way to go through life.  Instead of complaining about every little insignificant thing that bothers me throughout my day I want to recognize the small things I can be thankful for along the way.  I have a long way to go.   But I am grateful to that woman for showing me what it looks like.

Classic Chocolate Pie

On the other hand, this pie is not hard to be thankful for!  Each year the only thing I am asked to bring to our Thanksgiving get together at my aunt and uncle’s house are 2 chocolate pies and homemade whipped cream.  I am only happy to accommodate.  In the past I have usually made the cook and stir Jello chocolate pudding for the pies, which actually is very good.  For some reason this year, I decided to make the pudding from scratch.  This recipe gave me the pie of my dreams! And it was really easy.  I couldn’t have asked for it to turn out any better, at least as far as the filling goes.  I still want to work on my pie crust skills, but I have been too busy working on my bread making skills.  Maybe next year!  In the meantime, Marie Callender Frozen Pie Crusts are really good.

Classic Chocolate Pie

Whether you make your own pie crusts or buy them, you have got to try out this chocolate pudding recipe.  It is creamy, and chocolaty, almost velvety.  You can use either bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, but I recommend using a quality chocolate bar such as Ghiradelli.  And making homemade whipped cream.  Homemade whipped cream is to chocolate pie as water is to a fish or something like that. Maybe I should say as feathers are to a turkey.  It is totally worth the minimal amount of effort that it takes.  It really is simple and if your bowl and the paddle of your mixer are nice and cold, it comes together in less than 5 minutes.  This pie will make you even more thankful for the blessings in your life than you already are.  Because it is hard not to have a good attitude when you are eating chocolate and cream.  Maybe I should take one with me the next time I go to the grocery store!:)

Classic Chocolate Pie

Classic Chocolate Pie With Homemade Whipped Cream

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Pie:

  • 1 pie crust, baked and cooled (Marie Callender or Trader Joe’s brands taste very good)
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 c cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 c whole milk
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 6-1/2 ounces semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped finely (I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • whipped cream, for serving (see recipe below)
  1. Combine the sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a large saucepan.  Stir or whisk together.  Set aside.
  2. Finely chop the chocolate and set aside until needed.
  3. Measure out your butter and vanilla so it is ready and set aside.
  4. Pour in whole milk and egg yolks into the sugar/cornstarch mixture, and whisk together.
  5. Stir over medium heat until the mixture just barely comes to a boil and becomes thick, about 6-8 minutes, stirring constantly so the bottom doesn’t burn.  The second it starts to bubble and thicken, remove it from the heat.
  6. Immediately add the chocolate, vanilla, and butter, and stir until thoroughly combined.
  7. Pour the pudding into the cooled pie crust, and place into refrigerator to chill for at least 4 hours or overnight.  Make sure pie is cold before slicing.
  8. Cut into slices and serve with whipped cream.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

For the Whipped Cream:

  • 1 pint unsweetened heavy whipping cream
  • 1/8 to 1/4 c sugar (depending on how sweet you want it)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Make sure your mixing bowl and paddle attachment are cold.  If it is a warm day, place them in the freezer for a few minutes until chilled.  Don’t take the whipping cream out of the refrigerator until you are ready to use it so it will be nice and cold.
  2. Beat the whipping cream on the highest speed your mixer will go.  (You may need to wrap a towel around the top part of the bowl while doing this so your kitchen doesn’t get sprayed.)  After a couple of minutes, check the whipped cream to see if it is thickening.  You want to beat it until just before stiff peaks form. On a warm day this may take a little longer.  Do not overbeat.
  3. Stop the mixer and add sugar to taste and vanilla.  Continue beating until stiff peaks form and sugar is incorporated into the mixture.  Whipped cream is best when made the day you are serving, otherwise it tends to get watery.
  4. You can use a large star tip and piping bag to decorate the pie with the whipped cream and add sprinkles or chocolate covered coffee beans to garnish or just serve the whipped cream on the side for everyone to serve themselves. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Pie recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally by The Pioneer Woman

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Desserts, Pies, Recipes, Thanksgiving Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Classic Chocolate Pie with Homemade Whipped Cream

  1. Vicki says:

    Can’t wait to try it!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Martha! I was lucky it turned out. I haven’t decorated too many pies before. But it was so good I just had to share it. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  2. Great you made homemade filling instead of jell-o! Everyone will love it! Nice job on the star decorating too. Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I ended up liking it way better than store-bought box pudding. You don’t know what you’re missing until you try the next best thing, I guess. I really appreciate your kind comments!

  3. looks yumm. Your pudding must taste better than jell-o too! Yummy!

  4. Shari, this pie is just gorgeous! I can’t wait to try it!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Julie! I hope you do get to try it sometime. I don’t think you will be disappointed. I appreciate your kind comments and hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  5. Shari, I’m sad to say this is one recipe I am not tempted to try. I had an unfortunate incident with a chocolate pie when I was a kid and I have not touched them since. However, this looks like an amazing recipe. I like that it doesn’t call for boxed pudding mix.

    Hmm… maybe I’ll forego my Lifetime Ban of Chocolate Pie and give this a go…

    • Shari says:

      I’m so sorry, Ruth! It made me sad to read your comment as an unfortunate incident with chocolate pie sounds bad!:( I wonder if it was the same unfortunate incident my daughter had with olives when she was young. She cannot tolerate them to this day. Anyway, no problem with not wanting to make this. I hope it isn’t all chocolate you can’t eat. That would be awful! By the way, how did all of your pumpkin goodies turn out this year with your homemade pumpkin puree? What was your favorite thing you made?

  6. sabine says:

    Looks like a real treat!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Sabine! It was a treat for us as I usually don’t make pie during the year. I briefly checked out your blog, and am looking forward to going back to browse further. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment!

  7. dunjabounds says:

    When I make chocolate pudding from scratch and whipped cream, it never makes it into the pie, I ladle the hot chocolate pudding into a bowl and wait until its cooled a little bit so the whipped cream doesn’t melt right away and eat hot chocolate pudding with whipped cream – my absolute favorite! With that said, great idea for a Thanksgiving pie since I don’t like pumpkin pies and you are so right, homemade whipped cream is the way to go, what a difference to the canned stuff. You are working on your bread skills? Me too! Just baked 4 sourdough breads and are very happy with the results.

    • Shari says:

      You are a woman after my own heart, Dunja! I can hardly wait for the pudding to cool so I can eat it and with lots of whipped cream. And I don’t care for pumpkin pie either! I like pumpkin everything else, though. Your sourdough breads sound amazing! I have a long way to go with my bread making skills, but you have to start somewhere! Thanks so much for your comment!

  8. Nancy says:

    I too (for the first time) made a chocolate pie from scratch for Thanksgiving! It seems our recipes are quite similar…though yours look much, much better. 🙂 Love the piped whipped cream and toppings! My family only received a “plop” of whipped cream…

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! It was surprisingly easy, wasn’t it? At our actual get together, we just plopped our whipped cream, too. I didn’t think I would be able to get the pie across town with the piping on it and have it still look good by the time we got there. I should get some pie boxes or something. I really appreciate you stopping by and hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  9. Shari, this looks like a masterpiece, and, as I love chocolate, I am going to try it. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ana! If you love chocolate, I don’t think you will be disappointed with this pie recipe. I made it once with all semi-sweet chocolate and another time with half semi-sweet and half bittersweet. I liked both of them. It depends on how sweet you like your chocolate pudding. I hope you enjoy it if you try it. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  10. Pingback: The Weekly Whisk - 11/29/2014 | Hostess At Heart

Leave a Reply

