Soft and Chewy M and M Cookies

M and M Cookies

With the holidays approaching so quickly after Thanksgiving this year, I’m not sure how many different types of cookies I am going to get done in time for our Christmas celebration.  But there are a few kinds that just have to be made no matter what because of tradition.  Now the chorus of the song “Tradition” from Fiddler on the Roof  is playing in my head.  Good thing you can’t hear it as I wasn’t blessed with a good voice.  I really think we will all be able to sing in heaven, though, don’t you?:)  I hope so anyway.  In the meantime I will stick to singing in my head and in the car.  Although, these cookies made me want to sing the Hallelujah Chorus right out loud in front of everybody!  I have made M and M cookies for Christmas ever since the kids were babies.  However, most of the time, even though they tasted good, I was frustrated with how they looked, because they looked flat as a pancake.  In fact, pancakes are way more puffy than my cookies were.  I had tried everything to get my cookies to look right.  More oil, less oil, butter instead of oil, more flour, less flour, adding oatmeal, etc.  Nothing seemed to work.  Until now.  I discovered Averie Cooks blog, and reading her posts is just a gold mine of information about baking.  This is one of her recipes for M and M cookies, and they came out perfectly with the addition of an ingredient that I had never seen added to cookies before coming across her website.  That ingredient is cornstarch.  Just a tiny amount made all the difference in the world.

M and M Cookies

There are also a few other tips that  make a thick, chewy cookie just like the kind you find at Paradise Bakery.  Refrigerate your dough for at least 2 hours before baking the cookies.  I would also add to keep the dough refrigerated between batches.  It’s amazing how quickly the dough warms up when you have your oven on in the kitchen.  The other thing to help prevent the cookies from flattening out too much is to bake them on a silpat or parchment paper.  This is a double bonus because it makes clean up even easier.  This time of year, that is a wonderful thing.  And lastly, don’t overbake the cookies.  I cannot stress this enough if you want soft cookies.  Take them out when they are just barely set in the middle, before they look like they are done.  They will set up when they cool.  Just don’t move them from the cookie sheet for about 10 minutes.  They will fall apart in your hand, and then you will have to eat them.  On second thought, maybe you should move at least one or two cookies right away!:)

M and M Cookies

I hope you get a chance to try out these cookies.  If you are a fan of M and M’s, you will love them.  Now that the M and M cookies are done and in the freezer, Frosted Sugar Cookies are next.  What kinds of cookies or baked goods are traditional for holidays at your house?

M and M Cookies

M and M Cookies

  • Servings: 20-24
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3/4 c (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 c light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c all-purpose flour (I used King Arthur brand)
  • 2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1 1/2 c M and M’s candies
  1. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, and beat on medium-high speed until well-creamed, light and fluffy, about 5 minutes (or use a hand mixer and beat for at least 7 minutes).
  2. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, salt, and mix until just combined, about 1 minute.
  3. Add the M and M’s and fold in by hand.
  4. Using a medium 2-inch cookie scoop or by hand, form heaping mounds.  Place mounds on a large plate, flatten mounds slightly with your palm, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or up to 5 days, before baking.  Do not bake with warm dough because cookies will spread.
  5. When ready to bake,  preheat oven to 350 degrees and let cookies sit out for about 15 minutes.
  6. While oven is preheating, line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper (this is important so cookies don’t flatten out too much).
  7. Place just enough cookie mounds on a baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart,  returning unused cookie mounds to refrigerator until ready to bake next batch.
  8. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes (mine took 10 minutes).  Do Not Overbake!  Cookies will firm up as they cool. Leave on cookie sheet for 10 minutes before moving them.
  9.  Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature or refrigerator for up to 1 week, or in the freezer for up to 3 months.  Alternatively, unbaked cookie dough can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally created by Averie Cooks 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Cookies, Desserts, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Soft and Chewy M and M Cookies

  1. nancyc says:

    These cookies look so yummy! I’ll have to try that cornstarch tip–thanks for sharing!

  2. Jess says:

    These look great Shari 🙂

  3. rozpaige says:

    These cookies are so gorgeous and yummy! May I feature them on a cookie post that I am writing, along with a link back to this post? I’d be forever grateful, Shari! I must also make them while posting! The M & M’s are perfect! Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Roz! I would be honored to have you feature these cookies on your post. They are not my original recipe, though. Averie Cooks should definitely get the credit. I followed her recipe exactly. Great idea to make them while posting. I was sad I didn’t have any to eat while I wrote my post, but I had already stuck them in the freezer for Christmas Eve. I hope there is some left by then. So hard to resist!:) Cookies are one of my favorite things. I look forward to reading your cookie post. Thanks for your kind comments!

      • rozpaige says:

        Totally my pleasure Shari to feature your cookie recipe among the others! So festive and fun . . . and totally Christmas! Thank YOU for allowing me to share your creation!

  4. Shari, these did come out just the way I like them! Yum!

  5. It’s amazing how that smidgen of cornstarch changes the texture of cookies, isn’t it? I’ve found that the cookies even stay fresh longer (if they’re not goobled up immediately). These M &M cookies look great…and so festive! Thanks for sharing your trusty recipe, Shari.

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Nancy! It is amazing about the cornstarch. I didn’t realize it would help them to stay fresh longer as well. That’s good to know. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting during such a busy time!

  6. cheri says:

    These M and M cookies are just perfect for Christmas, great tips Shari, Happy Holidays!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Cheri! I hope you are enjoying getting ready for Christmas. Do you ever wish you were in Oregon at Christmas time? The weather has been so beautiful here lately, that its hard for me to imagine being anywhere else. Happy holidays to you as well! I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. Ok, that’s it. The next time you’re baking ANYTHING with chocolate, I insist you send me a care package. 😉

    These look really tasty! I am planning to make chocolate chip cookies today, but maybe I’ll switch to these festive-looking M&M Cookies instead…

    • Shari says:

      I would sure love to send you a care package if I could figure out how to get them there without crumbling into a million pieces, Ruth! Chocolate chip cookies sound wonderful. They are my very favorite cookie. Do you have things you bake every year for Christmas? I really like hearing about other people’s traditions. I hope you are enjoying all of the holiday preparations. Thanks for your comment!

  8. sarithakumbakkara says:

    I’m just a beginner in cakes and cookies. These cookies seem so delicious .Would love to try this recipe!

    • Shari says:

      I hope you do get a chance to try this recipe, Sari. It is a very simple recipe, but the results are outstanding. Just make sure to refrigerate the dough before you bake, and don’t overcook them. With baking it is important to measure ingredients exactly, too. You probably already know that, though. Thanks so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

