Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix – A Quick and Delicious Food Gift For Friends and Neighbors

Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix

Each Christmas I like to do a homemade food gift for friends and neighbors.  Every year I pick something different to make. Last year I made Hot Chocolate on a Stick.  This year I wanted to try making the Chai Tea Mix that someone had given me.  Are you a fan of chai tea?  I didn’t think I was until I tasted this recipe for Vanilla Chai Tea Latte.  It is so creamy and full of vanilla flavor that it absolutely converted me.  It has all the spices of traditional chai tea, but is a little more subtle.  And the texture is similar to the creaminess of hot chocolate.  Add a little bit of whipped cream, and it is the perfect thing to warm you up on a cold winter’s night.

Vanilla Chai Tea Latte

If you need a last-minute gift for friends, neighbors, or co-workers, this would be perfect because it is so quick to make.  You just dump all the ingredients into a food processor and turn it on until the mixture is a fine, smooth powder.  At this point your kitchen will smell wonderful.  Then pour into a pretty glass or tin container, attach a label, and you are done.  I just love all of the chalk board labels out right now.  I found mine at Michael’s.

Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix

And have you seen the new chalk board pens?  It is basically liquid chalk that you write with like a pen.  They are very fun to use, they come out a little darker, and you can erase them just like regular chalk.

Chalk Ink Marker

How are you doing with your shopping?  That always seems to be the last thing I get done.  Not because I don’t like to shop, but because I can never decide what to get anyone.  My kids are older and 2 of the 3 don’t live at home anymore, so it has gotten even harder to know what they would like. A lot of times, because I am not a techie, I don’t even know what it is when they tell me.  Or where to get it.  When all else fails, I end up getting them clothes.  But for some reason, my excellent taste in fashion doesn’t seem to align with theirs!:)  Maybe that is why I like to do food gifts for friends and neighbors.  I know I always appreciate it when someone gives me something homemade.  I hope this helps you with any last-minute gifts you need or just a good mix to have on hand over the holidays when you have company.  I might even put some in my kids’ stockings.  It will go a long way towards cheering them up when they see the clothes I bought them!

Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix

Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix

  • Servings: 6 containers (3/4 cup mix in each)
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 c nonfat dry milk powder
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 c unsweetened instant tea (I used Lipton)
  • 3/4 c French Vanilla powdered nondairy creamer (I used Nestle Coffee-Mate brand which gave it that great vanilla flavor)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom (warning:  this is a little expensive, but you can get 12 gifts out of it plus have some left for recipes)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • whipped cream – optional for garnish
  1. In a food processor, or blender, combine all dry ingredients (it’s a good idea to pre-mix in a large mixing bowl with a spoon).  Cover and process until powdery.  Can be stored in an airtight container in a cool, dry place for up to six months.
  2. If using as gifts, pour 3/4 cup of the mix into a jar or tin.  Label with serving instructions below.

Serving Instructions:  Stir 3-4 Tbsp. into 3/4 cup of hot water.  Dollop with whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon if desired.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, found on Life is a Prayer.com

P.S. In case you need another idea here is a food gift that is quick and easy to make and everyone just loves to get:

Chocolate Peppermint Bark

Chocolate Peppermint Bark

For more inspiration, check out the Food Gift category.  I hope this helps make your holiday preparations easier!

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Drinks, Food Gifts, New Year's Recipes, Recipes, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vanilla Chai Tea Latte Mix – A Quick and Delicious Food Gift For Friends and Neighbors

  1. marthabernie says:

    I have been making latte mix with instant coffee and pudding mix for the last couple of years and people love it! I will try it with tea next time. Thanks for posting.

    • Shari says:

      Your recipe sounds delicious, Martha! Have you posted it on your site before? I would love to have it. Thanks so much for your comment! Merry Christmas!

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, I love chai tea, will have to try this, Happy Holidays!

  3. Sinead says:

    This sounds so lovely and I really like the way it’s presented – such a great gift idea!

  4. rozpaige says:

    I love instant drink mixes, ever since my mother made them for me to take off to college when I was (a lot) younger! Such a pretty presentation with the ribbon too, Shari! Wishing you a blessed Christmas season!
    xo
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Roz! What a great idea to do for a college student. I hadn’t thought of that. I hope you are enjoying the Christmas preparations as well. I am plugging away at my to do list, hoping it all comes together in these last few days. I appreciate you stopping by, especially during such a busy time!

  5. nancyc says:

    This really is a great gift idea!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! It was a lot of fun to do and so easy. I had another cup last night and can’t get over how creamy it is. I appreciate you stopping by, and hope you’re enjoying the season!

  6. I love this recipe. And think it makes a great gift.

  7. Lori says:

    I love chai tea! And what a great idea!

  8. Yum!! What a clever recipe/gift idea. Brilliant! Your jars are beautiful.

    Another great post to bookmark for future use…!

    Speaking of bookmarked posts, I gave your honey almond granola recipe to my mother who fell in love with it. She dislikes commercial granola because “it tastes like a cardboard box,” she says. But She loves the granola we made for her, and there’s no turning back for her now! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      That makes me so happy that your mom likes the granola recipe, Ruth! When I hear things like that I feel like I just got a million dollars. Thanks so much for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

