Pork Chili Verde

Pork Chili Verde

It is Friday, and our family eats Mexican food on Fridays which I always look forward to. But this is a very special Friday.  It is the one year anniversary of Fiesta Friday over at The Novice Gardener.  Because of the fact that it is a huge anniversary celebration, I couldn’t just take any old Mexican food dish.  It had to be something special.  And that is exactly what this recipe is – total Mexican comfort food, perfect for a fiesta!

Pork Chili Verde

Pork Chili Verde is New Mexico’s version of Texas chile.  Whereas meat and red chiles are the star in Texas,  Pork Chili Verde uses green chiles.  There are many versions of this New Mexican stew, but the common ingredients are pork and green chiles.  This version contains tomatillos and Yukon Gold potatoes which add great flavor and color.  Tomatillos are such an interesting ingredient.  They have an inedible papery outer shell which gets removed.

Tomatillos

Inside you find something that looks like a little green tomato.  It is part of the tomato family, but the taste is completely different, and they are not interchangeable in a recipe.  I found tomatillos at my local Wal-Mart store, but if you don’t see them at your grocery store, check out a Latin specialty store.

You start out by making a salsa mixture that is put into a blender and pureed.  No wonder it tastes so good!

I would describe this chili as full of flavor and not very spicy, depending on the brand of diced green chiles you use, which makes it perfect to serve for a get-together since those who don’t like spicy food will enjoy it, too.  It takes a bit of time to make as most good recipes do, but it makes a large amount and freezes well.  And the nice thing is, you can use it in so many ways.  Eat it the same way you would a bowl of red chile with corn or flour tortillas for dipping, fold it up in a flour tortilla and eat as a burrito, or spread it over tortillas chips for nachos.  Any way you eat it, it is absolutely delicious!

Pork Chili Verde

I am so excited to be taking this special chili to Fiesta Friday.  Angie is just about one of the nicest people I’ve ever virtually met in the blogging world and everyone who attends her parties are just as sweet.  I’m so thankful to have met them and always look forward to seeing what dishes they bring.  Special appreciation goes out to Nancy from Feasting With Friends and Selma from Selma’s Table for co-hosting this event.  Please join me over at The Novice Gardener for some great food and wonderful people.  Everyone is invited!

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

Pork Chili Verde

  • Servings: 3-4 quarts
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

  • 3 c (or more) chicken broth, divided
  • 1 lb. tomatillos (for me this was 13), husked, rinsed, and cut into 1/2-inch wedges, divided
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced
  • 1 1/2 c (packed) fresh cilantro with tender stems
  • 8 garlic cloves, peeled
  • canola oil
  • 1 (4 to 4 1/2) lb. boneless pork shoulder (Boston butt), most of the fat trimmed off, cut into 1/1/2-inch cubes (important for the flavor that you have this size piece)
  • 1-2 onions, chopped (about 2 cups)
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin seeds
  • 1 can (7 oz.) diced, roasted green chiles
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 lb. Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled, cut into 3/4-inch cubes (about 4 small to medium potatoes)
  • cilantro for garnish (optional)
  • corn or flour tortillas (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste (I recommend at least 1-1 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/2-3/4 tsp. pepper)
  1. Puree 2 cups chicken broth, 1/4 of the tomatillos, green onions, cilantro with stems, and garlic in blender.  Set aside.
  2. Brush 2 heavy large pots or deep skillets with oil.  Heat over medium-high heat.  Place pork pieces in both pans in single layer.  Salt and pepper meat.
  3. Cook without moving until browned, approximately 4 minutes.  (Watch carefully so it doesn’t burn).  Turn meat and do the same thing on that side.  Using slotted spoon, transfer pork to bowl.
  4. Pour off all but 1 Tbsp. fat from 1 pot (add oil if needed).  Add onion to pot.  Saute until soft, about 5 minutes.
  5. Sprinkle cumin seeds over onion and cook until cumin is toasted, about 2 minutes.
  6. Reduce heat to medium.  Add remaining tomatillos and cook until tender and browned in spots, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes.
  7. Return pork and any juices to pot.  Add 2 cups reserved tomatillo mixture, 1 cup chicken broth, chiles, and oregano.  Cover and simmer over medium-low heat until pork is tender, about 2 hours.
  8. Add potatoes to pork.  Simmer until potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes.
  9. Stir in remaining tomatillo mixture.  Bring to a simmer.  Season with salt and pepper.
  10. Pour into bowls, garnish with cilantro if desired, and serve with hot corn or flour tortillas on the side for dipping. You can also place meat mixture in a flour tortilla and fold it into a burrito.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally found in Epicurious Magazine, February 2011

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Cinco de Mayo, Main Dish, Mexican, Soups, Weekend Meals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Pork Chili Verde

  1. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  2. Nancy says:

    I have had nothing but success with your pork recipes, Shari (Yes, that’s me referring back to you carnitas recipe a couple times a month!) and I’m sure this one will not disappoint. Your chili verde looks fabulous…such delicious flavors! I think I have to make a few changes to my weekend shopping list now, so I can get this on my menu real soon! Thanks for sharing your recipe at Fiesta Friday for the anniversary celebration…I plan on getting more than my share. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments, Nancy! That makes me very happy that you tried one of my recipes and enjoyed it. If you liked the carnitas recipe, I think you would probably like this one. It is so flavorful. Thanks for helping to host Fiesta Friday’s anniversary celebration!

  3. elamb says:

    That looks really good, and I’m a vegetarian! I think the flavours you have developed would be wonderful. I just wonder if I would get away with extra potatoes and mushrooms… Beautiful photos 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much for the nice compliments! I think extra potatoes and mushrooms sound wonderful. The potatoes were my favorite part of this. I really appreciate you taking the time to drop by!

  4. Jess says:

    I love the tradition of eating a specific food or cuisine on a specific day Shari- very cool. And so is this verde, I’ll have a bowl full please!

    Happy Fiesta Friday 😀

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Jess! I would be happy to serve you up a bowl. We do love our Mexican food here, and I always look forward to Fridays. Happy Fiesta Friday to you as well! Hope you have a great weekend!

  5. chefjulianna says:

    Mmmm! I don’t cook pork too often, but you have me craving this dish right now. Going to bookmark it for another special occasion! Lovely! 😀

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Julianna! I don’t cook pork all that often either, but seem to cook it more when I am trying to feed a crowd. I hope you enjoy this dish if you get a chance to try it. It does take a bit of time, but isn’t hard at all. I hope you have a great weekend!

  6. Ginny says:

    Oh boy! Love the recipe and all the photos Shari! I bet this New Mexico favorite would look and smell great all over the floor of my car.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ginny! Your comment made me laugh so hard. I’m sure this recipe, too, would look and smell great if spilled – especially the next day!:( I am sorry that happened, but so glad your floor mats came out spotless! I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. thebrookcook says:

    I came across this recipe when I was perusing chili recipes recently… my husband would eat chili on EVERY chilly day!!! You made it look and sound AMAZING!!! I’m going to have to try it for sure. Fabulous!!!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks a lot, Josette! I hope you get a chance to try it. We sure did enjoy it. There are so many chili recipes out there. I’m sure you could try a new one every week. I appreciate your comment!

  8. Great minds and all of that…..I made some pork chili verde yesterday, but it doesn’t have any taters in it. Your dish looks so delicious and is a great comfy meal.

    • Shari says:

      Yes, definitely great minds!:) We really were thinking along the same lines. I would like to try your recipe. It is complete comfort food for sure. I hope you have a great weekend, Julie!

  9. nancyc says:

    I am licking my lips looking at the photos of this chili! 🙂 I’ve had Chili Verde but have never made it myself–it looks so good!

  10. milkandbun says:

    That looks really hearty and so delish, Shari! Photos with greens are wonderful!

  11. I’ve never cooked with tomatillos – they look quite fascinating. I will have to look for them.

    As for this chili, it sounds AMAZING. So much flavour! I like how versatile it is, too.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! Tomatillos are interesting to cook with. I would be curious to know if you can find them where you live. They are more common here than they used to be. We have some wonderful Latin markets here now too, that we haven’t always had, which is nice. I appreciate your comment!

  12. rozpaige says:

    What a beautiful chili! I have heard and see tomatillos, but have not cooked with them yet, since I’m so weak at Mexican and Latin cuisine. Oh, but chili, now that’s another story! I just had a chili recipe roundup for recipes featuring turkey or chili and I’ve got a second round up for beef or pork chili recipes. May I add yours to the round up? Hope you’re doing well, Shari. Thank you for your kind comment about the passing of my furry friend.
    Hugs,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Hi Roz! Thank you so much for your comment. We are doing well. We’ve had a lot of company lately so am playing catch up with the things that need done around the house and blog activities. I really appreciate you wanting to add my chili to your round up. That means a lot to me. Of course you may use it. I look forward to seeing all of the chili recipes on your post. I hope you are doing well, and enjoying your weekend!

      • rozpaige says:

        Thanks Shari! I totally understand ‘playing catch up’ . . . I think I thoroughly dusted my bedroom for the first time in 3 months! Having a wonderful restful weekend . . . just what the doctor ordered! I’ll be creating the beef or pork chili round up soon. I had no idea how many people would send me chili recipes so I divided them up for two posts. Enjoy all of the excitement in Arizona today and tonight! We’re watching!

      • Shari says:

        Thanks, Roz! It is pretty exciting to have the Super Bowl here although we are still watching from our living room. I feel badly for the people who came from other states as we have had the strangest weather this weekend. It was actually foggy and rainy, 2 things we hardly ever have. Beautiful right now, though. Have fun watching!

  13. Kaila511 says:

    Shari,

    You have my mouth watering. This recipe is right up my alley, and I don’t even need to modify the ingredients. 🙂

    I loved learning about tomatillos too. And, I absolutely agree with all the things you said about Angie. She’s such a sweetie, and I can’t wait for all the future Fiesta Fridays as well.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Kaila! I am so glad you wouldn’t even have to modify the ingredients of this recipe. It’s a bit of work, but not too much, and totally worth it. I am happy I got to meet you at Fiesta Friday. It is such a fun party every week. I don’t post every week there, but I always try to at least go visit and see what everyone has brought. I hope to participate more in the future. I appreciate you stopping by and look forward to seeing you at Fiesta Friday again!

  14. Diana Rambles says:

    I’ve never used tomatillos before, although I’ve tasted them. This looks fantastic!!

  15. Hilda says:

    This recipe has so many good ideas in it it – not seen one at all like it. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    • Shari says:

      You’re so welcome, Hilda! There are many variations of Pork Chili Verde, but I love how much flavor this one has. Thanks so much for your comment!

  16. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, my husband and I had something very similar to this at a restaurant, so delicious!

    • Shari says:

      That’s the great thing about living in Arizona – good Mexican food! Also, this beautiful weather we’ve been having lately. Hope all is well with you, Cheri. Thanks for your comment!

  17. Pingback: The Best of Fiesta Friday Anniversary Part 2 | The Novice Gardener

  18. Hi, I stopped by from Fiesta Friday, I had to once I saw this post!

    I love Green Chili, and make a traditional Denver/Boulder Green Chili nine times out of ten! Every once in a while I venture into the world of GC with tomatillos, when/if I can find them in Minnesota (sometimes Aldi of all places!) and I think this looks like a fabulous recipe! I can’t wait to try it and your photographs are lovely! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by! It is fun to meet everyone at Fiesta Friday. I would like to try your green chili as well. It sounds like you have been making it for awhile. It is also great to meet someone from Minesota. I hope you are staying warm. I appreciate your kind compliments about the photographs. Have a wonderful week!

      • We’ve been lucky this winter, but I do wish I were one of the “snowbirds” that takes off to AZ for the winter! 🙂

        My GC is really comfort food – nothing fancy, just home-cooking! 🙂

      • Shari says:

        Sounds wonderful! Home-cooking is the best. I wish I could bottle up some of this weather we are having and send it to you!:)

  19. I am so glad to have found your blog and very excited to try this recipe it looks fantastic, I love chili verde and didn’t have a recipe for it. I have a pork shoulder I need to use this will be wonderful.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Suzanne! I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to try it. It is very flavorful and not too spicy. I am happy to have found your blog as well!

  20. petra08 says:

    I love tomatilos but they are so hard to get a hold of here in the UK. I got seeds this year so I hope to be able to get some of my own and will save your delicious recipe! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Hi Petra, That is a great idea to try to grow them. I recently read that you need at least 2 plants so they pollinate each other or something like that. Just wanted to pass that along. Best wishes for your gardening. Let me know how it goes. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

