Blueberry Banana Smoothie

Banana Berry Smoothie

I just had to share with you the mid-morning snack I have been enjoying lately.  It is a blueberry, banana smoothie with spinach thrown in for good health.  It is super easy to make, tastes wonderful, and is low in fat.  So many good qualities in a smoothie.  But that isn’t why I like it.  I just think it tastes good.  It is so slushy and creamy, it is like you are drinking a milkshake.  Although I prefer chocolate milkshakes, this smoothie is the perfect morning or afternoon snack when you don’t want the calories or fullness from a shake.  One thing I love about it is it doesn’t contain yogurt.  I love yogurt, but not in smoothies for some reason.  Not that I’m  picky or anything!  But when something is good for you and tastes great, there is no reason not to be picky.

Banana Berry Smoothie

Another great thing about this smoothie is it only contains four ingredients that I usually have on hand.  You need to plan ahead a tiny bit by freezing a banana and a bag of blueberries.  Make sure you peel the bananas first or it will be hard to get off after it is frozen. When my bananas are starting to get brown, I just peel them, put them in a baggie, and place them in the freezer to have on hand.  Then when you are ready for a smoothie,  just throw a banana and some blueberries in your blender along with some orange juice and a handful of spinach.

Banana Berry Smoothie

Blend all the ingredients up and pour it in a glass.  So simple.  I love how thick it is!

Banana Berry Smoothie

I think even kids would enjoy this because all you really taste is the banana and the orange juice and the blueberries give it a fun color.  The spinach is not even noticeable.  It just gives you lots of vitamins.  Every time I go to the eye doctor, she tells me to make sure to eat my greens as it is important for eye health.  This is a yummy way to get good eyesight!

Banana Berry Smoothie

You’ll have to give this a try and let me know what you think.  I’m not going to be giving up milkshakes anytime soon, but since I really can’t afford to eat them every day, this is a great substitution.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Banana Berry Smoothie

Blueberry, Banana Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 c orange juice
  • 1/2 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 handful spinach, approximately 1 cup
  1. Place all ingredients into a blender.
  2. Mix until well blended.
  3. Pour into a glass and serve immediately.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, slightly adapted from Barefeet in the Kitchen

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Drinks, Low Fat, Recipes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Blueberry Banana Smoothie

  1. Diana Rambles says:

    This looks really good!! Pinned & Yummed!

  2. This is so packed full of goodness I love it!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Suzanne! It really does seem like you must be healthier after drinking these. But they taste so good, too. I hope you’re having a good week!

  3. Yummy and very colorful! Good one Shari!

  4. Sometimes nothing will do like a smoothie – and adding a frozen banana is a good tip. (I almost always keep a frozen banana in the freezer because, as you know, it’s handy for a lot of things, e.g. if you suddenly find yourself craving freshly-baked banana bread. It happens!)

    I never add spinach to my smoothies, but I think I will now, based on your suggestion. Thanks!

    • Shari says:

      I like your idea of keeping frozen bananas on hand for banana bread, Ruth. It’s always good to be prepared for a banana bread craving!:) Sometimes I feel like I don’t get enough greens, so I really liked the idea of throwing spinach in there, especially since you don’t know it’s even there. Glad I could pass along the suggestion. I hope you have a great weekend!

  5. Ginny says:

    Thanks for the encouragement to try a non-yogurt smoothy. I’ll give it a go!

  6. Liz says:

    I am the yoghurt culprit. I add it to every smoothie I make until I started wondering, whether my smoothies tasted different or just tasted like yoghurt. Let me study this yoghurt free one and see how it works. I have some nicely ripe bananas on my table and a bag of blueberries in the fridge but am missing the orange and spinach. You know what? I shall try it on Thursday for breakfast. By then my bananas will be rather spotted but great for a smoothie. Thanks for sharing!!! Have a fantastic week!

    • Shari says:

      I like yoghurt, too, Liz. I have it almost everyday for lunch. I don’t know why I don’t like it in smoothies. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the smoothie. You’ll have to let me know if you missed the yoghurt. Thanks for your comment!

  7. rozpaige says:

    Everything about this smoothie is just as you said! Creamy, smoothie, healthy, YUMMY! Just what I need to add to my newest smoothie recipes! Thanks Shari! Hope you’re doing well; we’re freezing on this side of the country. Enjoy that warm sunshine!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Roz! I really haven’t been a smoothie person in the past, but have still been trying to lose that weight I put on over the holidays! It seems to take twice as long to get it off as to put it on. A never ending battle. This smoothie has come in handy when I’ve been really hungry. It seems to satisfy, but not put on added weight. I’m so sorry you’re freezing! My heart goes out to you. Probably smoothies don’t even sound good this time of year for you. I think hot chocolate or coffee would sound way better. I appreciate you stopping by!

  8. Lily Lau says:

    Love smoothies, tomorrow I’ll buy the ingredients for this one! Thank you Shari 🙂

  9. This looks perfect with all goodness in there… 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Chitra! It has really helped me feel not so hungry lately, and I feel good about getting such healthy ingredients into my body. I appreciate you stopping by!

  10. sarithakumbakkara says:

    Hi shari, This is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

