Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

I think this might be the best breakfast I have ever eaten, and it didn’t even involve cookies or pie.  I just don’t know what is happening to me.  I never used to eat breakfast let alone like breakfast.  My poor mom tried for years to find something I would like.  I just wasn’t ever hungry first thing in the morning.  That’s because I was still trying to deal with the fact that I was awake.  Mornings and I were not on friendly terms.  Now I get up early every day because I want to have more time to get things done, and I actually enjoy it.  It is so weird.  And now I’m liking breakfast food?  Maybe it just took me a long time to grow up.  I don’t know,  but I am not complaining because it means a whole food group has opened up for me.  And it includes this amazing recipe.

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

I really don’t understand why this recipe is so good.  The ingredients are pretty basic.  But the end result is so much more than the sum of the ingredients.  I thought I was going to like it.  But I didn’t think I was going to go crazy over it.  I am pretty sure already that this is going to be in my top 10 recipes of the year.  It is not a difficult recipe, but it does take a bit of time as there are several steps.  It includes roasting some veggies,

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

rolling out puff pastry,

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

then chilling it.  This would be a great recipe for an Easter or Mother’s Day Brunch or overnight company.  I would recommend roasting the veggies and chilling the dough the day before.  That way, all that has to be done in the morning is spread the sour cream over the pastry,

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

and bake it with the eggs.

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

Don’t let the fact that you have to roll out puff pastry worry you either.  It is already rolled out into a square, and all you are doing is flattening it out a couple of inches more.  Just make sure you follow the recipe exactly.  Don’t be like me and forget to bake the puff pastry squares 10 minutes before you add the egg.  You will end up with mushy pastry.   Believe me, whatever you have to do to make this recipe is 100 percent worth it.

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

But don’t let me lead you to believe it is difficult, because it really isn’t.

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

I made these eggs because I just couldn’t get them out of my mind once I saw the picture of them.  Now I can’t get them out of my mind because I know how they taste.  I keep pondering when I should make them again.  I’m thinking as soon as possible and as often as possible.  We all know breakfast is the most important meal of the day.   I guess being a grown up has its advantages!

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 2 to 2 1/2 hours
  • Difficulty: moderate due to time
  • Print

  • 2 large red and/or orange bell peppers, cut into 1/2 inch strips
  • 2 purple onions, halved and cut into 1/2 inch wedges
  • fresh sprigs of thyme, leaves removed and saved
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. coriander
  • 6 Tbsp. olive oil
  • handful fresh parsley, chopped
  • handful cilantro, chopped
  • 1 sheet puff pasty, THAWED
  • 1 egg, beaten, for brushing the pastry
  • 4 Tbsp. sour cream
  • 4 large eggs
  • salt and freshly cracked pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix together the pepper, onions, thyme, and spices in a bowl.  Add the olive oil and toss well so that everything is coated with the oil and spices.
  3. Spread on a baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes, stirring and rearranging the veggies a few times so they don’t burn.
  4. While veggies are roasting, chop parsley and cilantro leaves.
  5. After you take the veggies out of the oven, sprinkle them with half the fresh herbs and set aside.
  6. Turn the oven up to 425 degrees.
  7. Roll out the pastry on a FLOURED (IMPORTANT!) piece of parchment paper with a piece of FLOURED parchment paper on top of pastry so the paper doesn’t stick to the dough.  Roll until it reaches a 12×12 inch square (if it’s not quite 12×12 don’t worry about it).  Cut off uneven edges.
  8. Cut into four 6 inch squares.
  9. Transfer each piece to a parchment or silpat lined baking sheet, spreading them out a little bit so they have room to bake and expand.
  10. Take a dull knife and score a little 1/4 inch frame around each square of pastry.  Don’t cut all the way through.
  11. Prick the inside of the squares all over with the tines of a fork.  Place pan of pastries in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  12. Remove the pastry from the refrigerator and spread the INSIDE of each square with 1 Tbsp. of sour cream.
  13. Brush the outside edges of the squares with the beaten egg.
  14. Top each square with some of the veggie mixture, spreading it out evenly, leaving the borders free, and the center of the square empty for the egg which will go in later.  DON’T PUT THE EGG IN YET.
  15. Bake for about 10 minutes until rising and just starting to brown.
  16. Remove pan from oven, and carefully crack an egg into the center of each pastry. You may not need to use all of the egg white if egg starts to overflow.  Put back into the oven for about 10 minutes until the egg is set.  Egg will be soft set and slightly runny at this point.
  17. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and remaining herbs.  Best if eaten immediately.
  18. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, adapted slightly from The View from Great Island blog, and originally found in the Jerusalem cookbook

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Company, Easter, Mother's Day, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Roasted Bell Pepper and Egg Breakfast Pastries

  1. sanseilife says:

    Presentation is great!

  2. Tracy says:

    Wow! This looks amazing!!!

  3. This is just gorgeous, and would be so delicious to make for company! Love it Shari!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Julie! I am having company in a couple weeks, and am excited to have a new dish to make her. I appreciate you stopping by!

  4. dariadelu says:

    Reblogged this on London Based Student and commented:
    This looks so simple and delicious. Perfect for a weekend breakfast =3

    • Shari says:

      Thank you for the reblog, Daria! It would be a great weekend breakfast. We even had it for dinner the other night. I appreciate your support!

  5. Shari those are just beautiful and delicious. What an amazing and creative idea.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Suzanne! I had never used puff pastry before, and found it to be delicious. Wish I was the one that created these, but I am happy to pass the recipe along to you. I appreciate your kind comment!

  6. God, they are so pretty! I’m not going to wait for any company or Mother’s Day; I have to have them this weekend. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Ana. I agree, you shouldn’t wait!:) I hope you enjoy them if you get a chance to try them. I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. sarithakumbakkara says:

    Wow! This is amazing stuff!!!

  8. deliciouscityliving says:

    This post really caught my eye. This pictures are bright and gorgeous! I felt the same way about breakfast as you and am just getting more into making something more than just an english muffin or bagel. I love a good savory breakfast and love roasted veggies so this is perfect for me!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Kerri! It was the colors that attracted me to this recipe, also. I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to try it. Thanks for stopping by. I will check out your blog.

  9. Nancy says:

    Who wouldn’t learn to love breakfast with this placed before them? Not only is this absolutely gorgeous, but the flavor is fabulous too!! I ❤ this, Shari! Will be making his soon!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Nancy! I hope you get a chance to try it. It really was fun to make and tasted wonderful. I appreciate your sweet comments!

  10. iamrorykelly says:

    Wow! These look incredible – amnaixing colours and I bet they tasted amazing?

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Rory! I loved the colors, too. There is something about colorful food. They really did taste incredible. We have eaten them 3 times so far and enjoyed them each time. I really appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  11. nancyc says:

    These are beautiful–and they look delicious, too!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Nancy! You can hardly go wrong with something this colorful. They were fun to make and eat. I appreciate your comment!

  12. rozpaige says:

    I’ve never seen anything like these before, Shari. I love runny egg yolks on bread for breakfast or brunch, so I can’t wait to try this recipe! Beautiful presentation too!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Roz! I had never used puff pastry before. I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it, and it was easy to work with (as long as you flour everything really good). Since you like runny egg yolks, I bet you would enjoy these. I appreciate you taking the time to comment even though you were busy traveling. Hope you had a great time!

  13. My husband and I can’t wait to try these, either. (I showed him the photos, and I think he’s ready to try these right now!)

    Thank you for adding notes to the recipe, e.g. noting when things are really important. I tend to be a bit cavalier about recipes, so I’ll behave when trying this one.

    Also, Happy Pi Day! Are you celebrating with pie? I am – Raspberry Plum Pie. Mmmm!

    • Shari says:

      I hope you like these as much as we did. I’m happy to pass along the things I learned. The first time I had no problems, but the second time I forgot the flour, and it was just a mess. Very sticky stuff, that puff pastry. Delicious though! I wish I had made a pie for pie day. Darn. Raspberry Plum – that sounds amazing! I wish you didn’t live so far away. I might have just happened to be in your neighborhood and dropped in if we did live closer!:)

  14. Amanda says:

    Wow Shari!! These just look positively mouthwatering! 😀 Thank you so much for sharing!

  15. Diana Rambles says:

    That is amazing and looks really hard to make!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Diana! It really wasn’t hard. There are a few steps involved, but each step is not difficult. It was totally worth the effort. I appreciate your comment!

Leave a Reply

