5 Favorite Mexican Food Recipes

Shredded Beef Tacos

My family and I are so excited about Cinco de Mayo coming up this week.  I started going through my recipes to figure out what to fix.  If you will be celebrating Cinco de Mayo as well, I wanted to share some of my favorites in case you need some ideas.

Shredded Beef Tacos

If you have been following my blog for any length of  time, you might remember tacos are my favorite food group.  No list of my favorite Mexican food recipes would be complete if it didn’t include this one for Shredded Beef Tacos.  To me they taste just like the beef tacos you get at good Mexican food restaurants in Arizona.  The beef is shredded, tender, and so flavorful.

Everything But the Kitchen Sink Salsa

Of course you need salsa to go on the tacos, and Everything But the Kitchen Sink Salsa is a family favorite.  It is a little bit spicy, and chunky, and so tasty.  I could probably make this one in my sleep, I’ve made it so many times and will be making it again this week.

Shrimp Enchiladas

If you are looking for something a little more unusual than the traditional tacos and beans for Cinco de Mayo, I highly recommend this recipe for Shrimp Enchiladas with Poblano Chile Sauce.  There are so many flavors going on inside and outside the enchiladas, it is a fiesta in your mouth!  I am not a big shrimp fan, but I absolutely love these.

Chipotle Salsa

I always like to put out at least 2 different kinds of salsa when we have friends over as everyone has their favorites.  Chipotle Salsa happens to be my favorite.  I love the smoky flavor.

Pork Carnitas

Last but not least are these Pork Carnitas.  You will love the depth of flavor in these tacos.  It is a super easy recipe that is made in the crock pot, perfect for a busy day.  It is my go to recipe for carnitas.

I have so many more favorite Mexican food recipes, but didn’t want to overwhelm you.  If you need more ideas, check out the Mexican food category on the right.  Whether you eat out or make dinner at home, I wish you a happy and delicious Cinco de Mayo!

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cinco de Mayo, Main Dish, Mexican, Party Recipes, Recipes, Salsas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 5 Favorite Mexican Food Recipes

  1. There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant in our neighbourhood that is ALWAYS packed. Morning, lunch, evening – it is FULL. And it’s because it features recipes like these ones. Thanks for sharing these ideas in one post. The next time we’re craving Mexican food and the restaurant is lined up out the door, I can go to your website and declare, “Don’t worry – I’ve got this!”

    • Shari says:

      That is wonderful you have a great Mexican food restaurant nearby. I think Mexican food is one of the hardest to cook. I have been trying to figure out the recipes like the restaurants have, and it isn’t easy. I have made enchilada sauce 3 times, and am still not happy with the results. Eventually, I hope to have most kinds of Mexican food represented on here. In the meantime, I will just have to keep cooking and sampling! Such a difficult job to have!:) Thanks for your comment, Ruth!

  2. nancyc says:

    Everything looks so yummy! Thanks for the roundup!

  3. rozpaige says:

    I seriously want a platter that includes one of each! The salsas look absolutely fantastic! And yes, I still order a taco with any meal at a Mexican restaurant. One can never have too many tacos! Happy Cinco de Mayo, Shari . . . such a fun and delicious holiday!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Roz. I agree, you can never have too many tacos!:) We had a fun Cinco de Mayo with some of our family members that are here from out of town yesterday. Speaking of delicious, your strawberry cake that you put on IG today looks heavenly! I wish I had a piece right now. I hope you have a happy Mothers’Day on Sunday!

  4. Whisked Away says:

    Now my stomach is growling, you know Mexican food is my weakness!! These all look absolutely delicious.

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Jamie. It was making me hungry when I posted them! You will just have to eat Mexican food every day for awhile when you get back to the States to make up for being away from it!:) My brother-in-law and his wife are here from Hawaii right now, and they are eating it for almost every meal. I appreciate you stopping by!

      • Whisked Away says:

        You bet I will! How fun to have family visiting, hopefully you get a chance to visit them in Hawaii! We’re heading to Oahu next month, can’t wait!

      • Shari says:

        We have gotten to visit them a few years ago, and loved it. I hope you have a great time!

      • Whisked Away says:

        How fun to have a great excuse to visit Hawaii! We’re really looking forward to it, I’m sure we will have a great time, I mean, how can you not when it’s Hawaii 😉

  5. I absolutely love your salsa recipes. I could almost taste them through your vibrant photo’s. I could live on Mexican food 24-7 all year long.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment! I am the exact same way about Mexican food – 24/7 sounds good to me (with some ice cream in between).:) Do you have some good Mexican food restaurants where you live? I appreciate you stopping by, Seana!

      • Yes we do! We have a couple of fabulous restaurants that serve Oaxacan food, which I love! And a number of taco trucks as well. One restaurant in particular hoisted a taco truck up on their second level and you can order taco’s (within the restaurant) as “bar food”. It’s spectacular! 🙂

      • Shari says:

        How wonderful! That taco truck in the restaurant sounds so fun and unique.

  6. shwyny says:

    Hey hi! I have been following your blog for a while and I have nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award, here’s the link, https://cinnamonwoodrose.wordpress.com/2015/05/07/versatile-blogger-award-nomination/! Hope you participate! 🙂

  7. I could eat Mexican food probably more than any other cuisine. I just love it, and these recipes are yummy indeed!

Leave a Reply

