Mother’s Day White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

Recently my brother-in-law and his wife visited us from Hawaii.  They graciously gifted us with 2 bags of macadamia nuts fresh from the islands.  They are so delicious, I cannot stop eating them.  But with 2 bags, I immediately thought of making White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies.  This also happens to be one of my mom’s favorite cookies so it seemed like the perfect dessert for Mother’s Day as well.

I used one of my favorite chocolate chunk cookie recipes and substituted the 2 kinds of chocolate with the nuts and white chocolate.  They turned out perfectly.  They are so soft and just melt in your mouth.

Best of all they are not flat, but rise quite high due to the size of the macadamia nuts. It’s important to make sure you like the taste of the white chocolate chips you have chosen as all white chocolate has a different taste. Be sure to follow the directions carefully as far as refrigerating the dough a couple of hours before baking and you will end up with one of the best cookies you’ve ever eaten.

I think I get my love of cooking from many of the female members of my family, but especially my mom.  We ate dinner together as a family every night, even though she worked during my high school years.  I remember seeing her get special dishes ready for a party or having the neighbors over for dinner.  She always had our relatives over for holidays as well as people she knew didn’t have anywhere to go that day.  Family was a priority to her, and she is still to this day happiest when surrounded by her children and grandchildren.  Every one of them knows that they are loved unconditionally by her.  She was and is a great example to me in how to love unselfishly.  I am grateful to call her my mom and look forward to sharing cookies and carrot cake with her tomorrow because we both have the same love language – food!  Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.  Thank you for all you do!!

Vicki Poor

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

  • Servings: approximately 32 cookies
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 c all-purpose flour (King Arthur preferred)
  • 4 tsp. cornstarch
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt or to taste
  • 2 c white chocolate chips
  • 2 c macadamia nuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the softened butter on low-speed until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes.
  3. Add the sugars and beat on medium-high speed until creamed and well combined, about 3 minutes.
  4. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, add the egg and vanilla, and beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  5. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt, and mix until just combined, about 1 minute.
  6. Add the white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts, and either fold in by hand or beat for a few seconds on low-speed.
  7. Using a 2-ounce cookie scoop (a scant 1/4 cup), scoop out mounds of cookie dough, and place on a large cookie sheet or plate.  Roll each mound into balls, place back on cookie sheet or plate, and cover with plastic wrap.
  8. Refrigerate 3 hours or up to 5 days.
  9. When ready to bake, line a baking sheet with parchment or a silpat.  Place cookie dough balls on the baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart.
  10. Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Cookies will still look underdone but will firm up as they cool.  For best results, don’t overbake.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, dough base originally created by Averie Cooks

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Company, Cookies, Desserts, Mother's Day, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mother’s Day White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

  1. Love those cookies Shari, Macadamia are wonderful and I don’t know why I don’t use them more often. Happy Mothers Day to you and your beautiful Mom!!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Suzanne! I haven’t used macadamia nuts very often either. I’m not a big white chocolate fan, but I love these cookies. I really appreciate your comment!

  2. CakePants says:

    I can’t even imagine how amazing fresh macadamia nuts must be. These cookies look perfect – so soft and chewy – and everything about these photos is just lovely 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much for your sweet comment. I was amazed at how good the nuts were. I haven’t eaten macadamia nuts all that often. We just ate the last of the cookies tonight, and enjoyed them just as much as the first ones we ate. I really appreciate you stopping by!

  3. Jess says:

    These cookies look like they have just the right amount of chewiness and moisture, Shari. Great job 🙂

    • Shari says:

      I appreciate that, Jess! They were just right for me, that’s for sure. I really like soft cookies. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  4. Teresa says:

    They sure look yummy, Shari.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Teresa! Cookies are one of my (many) weaknesses. 🙂 Even though I usually prefer chocolate chips, these were fantastic. By the way, I bought the stuff to make your Strawberry Banana Muffins tomorrow. I can’t wait to try them!

  5. apsara says:

    These look perfect for mother’s day. Beautifully presented!

  6. Am sure it tastes amazing.. cookies with macadamia

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Sadia! I don’t usually like nuts in cookies, but these are an exception. The white chocolate and nuts pair perfectly together. I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. nancyc says:

    Yum! Those look like wonderful cookies!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Nancy! They were so soft and melted in your mouth just the way our family likes them. I appreciate you taking time to comment!

  8. rozpaige says:

    I first wanted to stop by and wish you a Happy Mother’s Day . . . lo and behold, as always, you have another delicious recipe to share! Yes, that is certainly a very generous gift . . . those buttery nuts are so expensive state-side, and you just can’t stop eating them. I don’t know who created the first white choc-mac nut cookie, but they were geniuses! I’ve never made them at home and always on the hunt for those like yours that are mile-high! This is a keeper, Shari . . . shared on FB and Pinterest!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for the Mother’s Day wishes! We had a great day with my mom and dad, and my husband’s brother and his wife. My brother-in-law made us banana macadamia nut pancakes for breakfast. They were so good! We definitely ate our share of macadamia nuts this week and enjoyed every mouthful! I really appreciate you sharing the recipe for the cookies on FB and Pinterest, Roz, and hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day as well!

  9. rozpaige says:

    PS: And what a beautiful lady your mother is! I can just feel the joy in her smile!

  10. What a beautiful lady. Your brother and his wife were very generous with the macadamia nuts! These cookies look yummy!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Julie! They were very generous. We’ve eaten them all week and still have a lot left. I appreciate your sweet comment about my mom. I will pass that along to her.

  11. Diana Rambles says:

    These look fantastic! I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Diana! We had a great time with Patrick and his new wife, as well as my mom and dad. I hope you had a nice Mother’s Day as well!

  12. Simply damn delicious cookies!!!
    lovin macadamian all the way….

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Dedy! I had no idea how much I loved macadamia nuts until my brother-in-law brought us so many. These cookies are a great way to eat them. I really appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

