Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins That Just Happen to be Gluten-Free

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins Lest you think I’ve gone over to the dark healthy side and am no longer eating anything loaded with carbs and sugar, let me explain the reference to gluten-free in the title of this post.  Recently my sister and brother-in-law and niece came for a visit. My brother-in-law for the most part, tries to eat gluten-free.  He never complained once about anything I fixed, but as we were eating, I realized that so much of what I fixed were things he normally wouldn’t eat.  I determined then that I would become more educated on how to cook gluten-free, and at least have a few things I could turn to when presented with a situation where gluten-free cooking was important.

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

I immediately thought of the blog, Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen as Teresa has so many gluten-free options there.  I remembered seeing some muffins that I wanted to make, not because they were gluten-free, but because they looked so delicious.  They were everything I had hoped they would be. They are filled with fresh strawberries and banana, and topped with an amazing streusel as well as drizzled with a vanilla glaze.

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

When you first bite into them you get a pop of tartness from the strawberries, then the yummy banana flavor reminiscent of banana bread with a hint of brown sugar and a crunchy sweet finish from the pecans and vanilla glaze.  There is so much going on, you won’t even notice they are gluten-free.

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

In talking with a friend of mine who has cooked and baked gluten-free for a long time, I found out the issue with using alternative wheat flour ingredients, is that baked goods tend to come out crumbly and dry.  I think the fact that you add banana to the muffin mixture, fresh strawberries, plus a glaze all help to make these muffins more moist.

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

Another nice thing about this recipe is that it uses a baking mix that already has the correct ratio of alternative flours.  It is called Pamela’s Artisan Flour Blend.  I found it at Sprouts, but heard Fry’s carries it as well. Gluten Free mixes are so much more readily available than they used to be.  Also, they have come a long way with gluten-free baking mixes to ensure a great tasting end product.

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

I learned so much this week about baking gluten-free and am excited to find out it is not as scary or difficult as I thought it would be.  In fact, I know I will be making these muffins again and again whether I need to cook gluten-free or not.  They are just great muffins overall.  I could eat the streusel alone as an afternoon snack!  If you need a gluten-free recipe for muffins or just want a yummy strawberry banana muffin loaded with crunchy streusel, I highly recommend these for your next breakfast or afternoon treat!

Gluten Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

Gluten-Free Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins

  • Servings: 14
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Streusel:

  • 1/3 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/4 c unsalted butter, melted
  • 2/3 c Pamela’s Artisan Flour Blend (Gluten-Free)
  • 1/2 c chopped pecans

For the Muffins:

  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 5.3-oz. container Chobani Strawberry Banana Greek yogurt, stirred
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 c Pamela’s Gluten Free Artisan Flour Blend
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 Tbsp. heavy whipping cream
  • 2 c fresh, diced strawberries (approximately 1 quart)
  • 1 large banana, mashed with a fork

For the Glaze:

  • 1 c confectioners’ sugar
  • 3-4 Tbsp. heavy cream (milk not recommended)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (use clear vanilla if you want to keep the glaze white)

For the Streusel:

  1. In a small mixing bowl, stir together all the streusel ingredients.  Set aside.

For the Muffins:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners, spray muffin pans with gluten-free cooking spray, or grease and flour tins with gluten-free flour.
  3. Dice strawberries, mash bananas with a fork, and set aside.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer with paddle attachment, combine butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs, yogurt, vanilla, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and whipping cream.  Mix on medium-low until well combined.
  5. Stir in flour, mashed banana, and strawberries gently with a wooden spoon until ingredients are just moistened.  Don’t overmix.
  6. Spoon the muffin batter into prepared muffin tins all the way up to the top.
  7. Crumble the streusel topping over each muffin and press the topping down gently into the muffins.
  8. Bake for 5 minutes at 425 degrees.
  9. While muffins are still in the oven, adjust oven temperature to 350 degrees.  Bake for 11 to 12 more minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Be careful not to overbake for moist muffins.
  10. Cool in tins 10 minutes.
  11. Transfer muffins to rack to cool completely.  While muffins cool, make the glaze.

For the Glaze:

  1. Sift powdered sugar to remove any lumps.
  2. Whisk all of the ingredients together in a medium bowl.
  3. Place wire rack with muffins on a baking sheet.
  4. Place glaze mixture in a zip lock bag or piping bag and cut off tip.  Drizzle glaze over cooled muffins.
  5. Muffins can be placed in air tight container and stored in refrigerator up to one week, or frozen for one month.  If frozen, thaw approximately 4 hours before serving.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally found on Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breads and Rolls, Breakfast, Company, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins That Just Happen to be Gluten-Free

  1. These look delicious! What a coincidence. I just made strawberry streusel bars today! I just came in from photographing them, checked my email, and found your post. Great minds think alike, eh? Mine are definitely not gluten free though.

    • Shari says:

      Yes, I’m sure it must be great minds and all, Sandra! 🙂 The strawberries are so good right now where we live. I will have to check out your streusel bars. They sound great! Thanks for sharing about your similar post – so fun!

  2. Lori Ridenour says:

    Yummy Yummy! I ‘m so excited to try these Shari! Thanks for thinking of my hubby! I already know he will love them….me too! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      It was such a nice surprise to check my e-mail one more time before I go to bed and see yours, Lori! I hope you guys enjoy the muffins if you try them. I’m just sorry I didn’t have them when you were here a couple months ago. Maybe by the next time, I will have lots more gluten-free recipes to try out on you! 🙂 Thanks a lot for your comment. I hope you have a great week!

  3. Whisked Away says:

    Well look at that beauty! Looks absolutely scrumptious! We love muffins around here, totally pinning this to make when we get back to the states and strawberries are in season!

  4. CakePants says:

    Wow, what beautiful muffins – and that streusel topping looks irresistible!! Also, I’m very much enjoying that you began your post with the word “lest.” It’s becoming such an archaism, but I’m hoping it sticks around!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! That streusel is what got me to make these in the first place, and is what is going to keep me making them over and over again. You made me chuckle this morning when I read your comment about the word “lest”. I never thought about it being an older type word, but I’ll see what I can do to make sure it sticks around! 🙂

  5. Teresa says:

    Oh, Shari, I’m so glad they turned out well for you and your family. Your pictures look GLORIOUS!! No kidding. I have found that you can use Pamela’s artisan blend or even baking and pancake mix just about one for one in a recipe (sometimes I add about 1/3 cup more flour) and really, you can’t hardly taste the difference. I use it for cookies, cobblers, sweet breads, biscuits or cornbread, too. My niece makes her Carrot Cake with Better Batter (another gluten free blend) and it turns out heavenly. You’re right. Gluten free flours have come a LONG way in the past two to three years. I cook with them all the time. FYI if you’re wanting to make gluten free pasta for your brother-in-law sometime, DeBoles makes some really good ones. Stay away from corn pastas, but brown rice ones are great. (Cook about 3 minutes at a rapid boil, turn off heat, and allow pasta to sit in the hot stock pot in hot water for about 15 minutes. Pasta will be perfect!) 🙂 Love your posts, in case I’ve never told you before. Your photography is beautiful.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so very much for your kind words, Teresa! I am so glad to have found this recipe. I took them to a brunch and everyone really seemed to enjoy them. You have the best muffin recipes on your blog, plus so many wonderful recipes of every type. I really appreciate your tips for gluten-free baking and pasta, too. I will definitely look for DeBoles next time I’m at the store. That’s what I love about blogging, and reading other people’s blogs – I learn so much about cooking every day. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving such a helpful comment!

  6. I’ve never made strawberry-banana anything, let alone smoothies. These look really tasty!

    Thanks for posting this. I’ll look like a hero to my gluten-free friends. 😉

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! It really is a great combination of flavors. I’m happy to assist with the hero thing, but think you probably don’t need any help! 🙂 I’m still waiting for you to start a food blog!

  7. I love muffins. Especially ones with strudel and since we don’t call them cupcakes, I can eat them for breakfast and since they have fruit in them they are good for me…winner!

    • Shari says:

      You are so funny, Julie! 🙂 I agree, they must be good for you as you get 2 different kinds of fruit in every muffin. And there is no frosting so we certainly can’t call these dessert. Not to mention they are gluten-free. They must be healthy. They must be healthy. Just keep saying it…. 🙂

  8. Lovely muffins! looks so soft and tasty!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Neela! I really enjoyed them a lot. So many flavors going on and that sweet crunch of the streusel just sends them over the top. I really appreciate you stopping by and will have to check out your blog!

  9. These sounds so good! We have really cut down on our gluten intake and it’s pretty interesting in doing so we have realized how much gluten we are consuming on a regular basis. I’m so happy to see your muffin recipe! Love the strawberries in them.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I know, I have been realizing the same thing about how much gluten we consume. I do think it is important to eat whole grains, though, if you can. There are so many nutrients in them that we need. It is difficult to find the balance, isn’t it? I appreciate your comment!

  10. nancyc says:

    Yum–I love everything about these muffins! 🙂

  11. Your muffins look a-ma-zing! Oh, and the pictures are awesome. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Strawberry Banana Streusel Muffins That Just Happen to be Gluten-Free | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  13. My husband just made his traditional banana muffins this weekend, and I’ve often made blueberry muffins, but I have YET to make strawberry muffins (my bad!). Can I use frozen strawberries Shari? I freeze fresh strawberries when they are in season and went a little bit nuts this year! I love the drizzle on top and how you photographed them! I’m not a gluten free person either, but if these are healthier that’s all the better reason to enjoy these! Thanks Shari!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Roz! It was the first time I had made strawberry muffins, too. I haven’t tried using frozen strawberries, but I don’t see why not. I use frozen blueberries, and frozen raspberries in muffins all the time. The only thing is I chopped the strawberries up so they were smaller. I think whole they would be too big in the muffins. But you might be able to chop the strawberries when they were just partially thawed. What a great idea to freeze strawberries when they are in season. I am going to start doing that, too. Thanks for the idea and for your comment!

Leave a Reply

