Perfect Memorial Weekend Dishes to Bring to a Bar-B-Q

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

Are you invited to a bar-b-q or pot-luck for Memorial Day weekend?  It seems like quite often when asked to attend one of these type of events, I am asked to bring a side dish or dessert.  Since I love cooking, that is fine by me.  I always want to bring something special I know everyone will like.  I would rather bring a dish I have made a number of times, and feel comfortable making and am pretty sure will turn out exactly how I want it to.  That’s where these recipes come in.  They are tried and true recipes that I have made time and time again and will continue to do so because they taste great!

Red, White, and Blueberry Salad with Poppyseed Dressing

This Red, White, and Blueberry Salad is probably my favorite summer salad to make.  Everyone loves the sweet Poppy-seed Dressing, and the colors are so festive, they are perfect for any patriotic holiday.

Old Fashioned Baked Beans

These are my favorite Baked Beans.  They are classic beans that you cook slowly and have lots of brown sugar in them that caramelizes and gets thick and gooey and delicious as you bake them.  Men really seem to love these beans.  It doesn’t hurt anything that they have bacon in them either!

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

I have made these Rocky Road Fudge Brownies a million times because they are so good.  Well, maybe not a million, but a lot! 🙂  I love to take them with us to our cabin in the summer.  It’s the homemade fudge frosting that makes these out of this world!

There you have it.  One of these recipes is what I would be bringing if you invited me to your pot-luck or backyard bar-b-q. I hope this gives you some ideas for what to take if you are attending a get-together and aren’t sure what to bring.  They are guaranteed to get rave reviews, and an empty bowl to bring home.  If you need more ideas, check out the Memorial Day section in the categories on the right.  Whether you are celebrating Memorial Day or just relaxing at home, I hope you have a wonderful weekend whatever you do!

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Bars, Cabin Recipes, Desserts, Memorial Day Recipes, Party Recipes, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Perfect Memorial Weekend Dishes to Bring to a Bar-B-Q

  1. nancyc says:

    All of these recipes look so good–that berry salad is so pretty!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks a lot, Nancy! I love this salad because it tastes so good and because of the colors. Appreciate your comment and hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Here’s what I wonder: I wonder when the smarty-pants folks at WordPress are going to invent a portal for blogs like yours, so a person can just reach into their computer screen and pull out, oh, some Rocky Road Fudge Brownies, for instance. Forget about self-driving cars and commercial space flights to the moon – our best minds should be working on this problem right now!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!

    • Shari says:

      I am in complete agreement with you, Ruth! My son is a programmer so I am going to get him going on this ASAP! I’m sure he would gladly set aside all his other menial little projects, to help me with this one. Actually, if the results are he could pull food out of the computer, I think he wouldn’t mind. 🙂 Thanks for starting my day with a smile! Hope you had a great weekend as well!

  3. Well, I would like to sample each of those recipes, especially the brownies! It’s been forever since I’ve baked any squares!! I’m going to be dreaming about those tonight!! xx

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Barbara! I really appreciate you stopping by. Those brownies are my favorites, too. The frosting on them is the best!

  4. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, my husband loves baked beans, thanks for the great recipe. Have a great week-end!

    • Shari says:

      You’re so welcome, Cheri! I hope you get a chance to try them for your husband. The picture is of the beans before being baked, after you bake them they get all thick and gooey and sweet. I saw on one of your posts you are getting ready to head to Oregon. Perfect timing as it is starting to heat up around here. I hope you have a wonderful summer, but will see you on your blog!

  5. atkokosplace says:

    That’s settled…I’m coming over next Memorial Day! Looks wonderful. I’m going to check out the Rocky Road Brownie first! 😉

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Koko! The brownie seems to be the winner of these 3 recipes according to the comments. I really love them, too. Anything with fudgy frosting on top has my vote!

  6. I’d love to be at any party where you bring the food Shari! I have to try the red white and blue salad! July 4th will be here soon!
    xo

    • Shari says:

      That is very sweet of you to say, Roz! I think you would love the salad. The dressing is so good paired with the berries. It would be perfect for the Fourth of July. It just seems like we go from one holiday to the next doesn’t it? 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

