Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

I have been making a lot of cookies lately.  There have been several times recently where it was necessary to eat dinner in the car on our way to an event so I packed a picnic of foods that were easy to eat while driving.  Cookies work out great as a dessert for mobile meals.  And since I was making chocolate chip cookies, you would think I would have used my favorite recipe of all time to make them.  If you thought that, you would be wrong.  I have a new favorite in the cookie department.  They are soft, chewy, chocolaty, and melt in your mouth.  The best part is they are easier to make than my other recipe and do not call for special ingredients.

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

These cookies are full of 2 kinds of chocolate – dark chocolate chips and semi-sweet chocolate chunks. They contain about twice as much chocolate as most chocolate chip cookies, and I loved the combination of the 2 kinds of chocolate.  They are super soft and yet keep their shape while cooking instead of going flat and ugly.  Chocolaty, soft, pretty, and easy to make – sounds like the perfect cookie to me.

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

Everyone I’ve made these for has given them a big thumbs up.  They are also great because you can refrigerate the dough for up to 5 days and when someone stops by in 10 minutes you can have warm, melty cookies straight out of the oven.  I love the look on people’s faces when you give them a warm homemade cookie.  It is like you just gave them a million dollars.

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

My husband is my biggest critic when it comes to chocolate chip cookies as they are one of his favorite things to eat as well. Our anniversary is coming up this month so the timing is great for finding this recipe.  It only took me 30 years to find the perfect one – cookie, not husband. Though I think he thought it would take me 30 years to decide on one  – husband not cookie.  I am very happy I found both – the perfect cookie and husband! 🙂

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

  • Servings: approximately 48
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 sticks (1 1/2) cups unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 Tbsp. plus 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 c all-purpose flour (King Arthur recommended)
  • 1 Tbsp. plus 1 tsp. cornstarch
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 c dark chocolate chips (Ghiradelli recommended)
  • 2 c semi-sweet chocolate chunks
  • parchment paper or silpats
  1. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter on low-speed until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes.
  2. Add the sugars and beat on medium-high speed until creamed and well combined, about 3 minutes.
  3. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the eggs and vanilla and beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Scrape down sides of bowl.
  4. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt.  Add to the sugar/butter/egg mixture.
  5. Mix together until just combined, about 1 minute.
  6. Add the chocolate chips and chunks, and beat for a few seconds on low-speed.
  7. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  8. Using a 2 Tbsp. cookie scoop, scoop out mounds of cookie dough and place on cookie sheets lined with parchment.  When done, I like to roll each mound into balls so they come out of the oven more round and smooth, but this is optional.
  9. Wrap cookie sheets with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours or up to 5 days.  Make sure to wrap them well so they don’t dry out.
  10. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
  11. Place dough mounds on lined baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart.  Keep rest of dough refrigerated in-between batches.
  12. Bake for 8-10 minutes (I did 10), making sure to not overbake.  Cookies will look underdone, but will firm up as they cool.
  13. Cool on cookie sheet for 10 minutes, and then transfer to wire rack to cool the rest of the way.
  14. Cookies can be frozen in an airtight container for up to a month or kept in the refrigerator for a week.  Allow to come to room temperature before serving.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, originally found on Averie Cooks

Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

 

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Cookies, Desserts, Father's Day Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies

  1. Saved!!! Thoise cookies look perfect. I think this will replace my favorite recipe of all time too!!!! Love chocolate chip cookies.

    • Shari says:

      I appreciate that Suzanne! Chocolate chip cookies are the best, aren’t they? I hope you get a chance to try this one. I think you will be happy with it. Thanks so much for your comment!

  2. Vicki says:

    Somehow these cookies have not made it to me to test to see if they are my favorite! I do have lots of favorites! Anything that is warm, soft & gooey and has chocolate qualifies so these will probably be just fine. Shari’s dad

    • Shari says:

      I will have to remedy this situation right away! 🙂 Your comment cracked me up this morning. I think these cookies will meet your criteria. I will see about getting you some ASAP! Thanks for starting my day with a smile.

  3. Oh my… Look at that chocolate chunk! Yummy! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      They were really yummy! The pictures don’t actually show how much chocolate chunks are in these cookies, but they are full of them. I think that is what makes these so good. Thanks so much for stopping by, Ana!

  4. Loretta says:

    Two kinds of chocolate?? All the better to eat you, ccc! They do look just great, and who can say no to a fresh batch like these? Great baking!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Loretta! I think that is what makes these cookies great, 2 kinds of chocolate and the fact that they are soft and hold their shape. You are right, they are really hard to say no to. There are still some in the refrigerator calling my name. I appreciate you taking the time to comment!

  5. THANK YOU for posting this recipe. I have a feeling it might be my new favourite, too. I never would have thought to combine two types of chocolate, and why not? That’s what chocolate is FOR.

    • Shari says:

      You’re so welcome, Ruth! It’s a great recipe. I loved how chocolaty they were. I’m happy to pass it along. I hope you enjoy them if you try it. Thanks so much for your comment. Oh by the way, I saw a movie the other day that was kind of good, and kind of not that good, but I couldn’t stop watching it. The guy in the movie was one of the worst villains I’ve ever seen, though. It was called Danger Signal. Did you happen to see it?

  6. A must appreciated recipe to have on hand for the summer! I rather make chocolate chip cookies at home for the kids…Thanks Shari:)

    • Shari says:

      You’re welcome, Peri! If your kids like chocolate chip cookies, I think they will love these. They are lucky to have a mother like you that makes cookies for them! I hope you all enjoy them. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  7. rozpaige says:

    There’s not one, but two Cookie Monsters, knocking at your door for these cookies Shari! COOKIES! COOKIES! YUM YUM! COOKIES from Shari’s kitchen! Love this recipe, Miss Future Mrs. Fields!!!!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Roz! You are so sweet. Jeff and I both love cookies, too. I am just so happy to have found a way to not have flat cookies anymore. That used to bug me so much. Two little teaspoons of cornstarch sure has made all the difference. Who would have thought? I wish I could give you some. Maybe someday when you come to Arizona! 🙂

  8. These look simply amazing Shari! I love cookies. My husbands first comment is “did you save me some dough”? I usually do. He’s just a big kid.

    • Shari says:

      That is so funny because my husband says the same thing. He would prefer I didn’t cook any of the dough so he could eat it all like that! I really wouldn’t mind that either. 🙂 Actually I like the dough and the cookies so I usually bake some and leave some dough. These really are the best cookies. I am so not happy with the pictures, but the cookies are great! Thanks for stopping by, Julie!

  9. I am always looking for a new cookie recipe! I will have to give yours a try…Thanks so much for sharing. Happy summer!

    • Shari says:

      You’re so welcome, Kloe! I hope you enjoy it. They were very chocolaty and soft. I hope you are doing well. It was so fun to see your name pop up here. You have a wonderful summer, too!

Leave a Reply

